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Alaska Statute  
Chapter 05.15 GAMES OF CHANCE AND CONTESTS OF SKILL  
 
 
Downloaded 03/09/2015 from http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/folio.asp   
 
NOTICE:  
The contents of this document were downloaded from online infobases that are unofficial 
versions of statutes, regulations, and other documents and may contain errors or omissions. The 
information is provided as a convenience to the public. The State of Alaska, Alaska State 
Legislature, and Legislative Affairs Agency make no warranty, express or implied, of the 
accuracy of the information presented here. Use of the information is the sole responsibility of 
the user. For the official version of the Alaska Statutes, please refer to the printed version of the 
Alaska Statutes. For the official version of the Alaska Administrative Code or other document, 
please refer to the printed version of the Code or other document. 
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Alaska Statute  
Chapter 05.15 GAMES OF CHANCE AND CONTESTS OF SKILL  
 
Article 01. ADMINISTRATION 
 
Sec. 05.15.010. Department of Revenue to administer chapter.  
The Department of Revenue shall administer this chapter. 
 
Sec. 05.15.020. Annual permit and fees.  
 
(a) A municipality or qualified organization may conduct an activity permitted 
under this chapter if the municipality or qualified organization 
 
(1) applies for a permit, pays the appropriate permit fee, and receives an annual 
permit issued by the department; and 
 
(2) designates a member in charge and at least one alternate member in charge 
under AS 05.15.112 who have passed the examination required by AS 05.15.112. 
 
(b) An additional fee of one percent of the net proceeds received during the 
preceding year from the activities authorized under the permit shall be paid to the 
department annually by the municipality or qualified organization authorized to 
conduct activities under this chapter, if the gross receipts for the activities were 
$20,000 or more. 
 
(c) The annual permit fee under (a) of this section is 
 
(1) $20 for an applicant that did not hold a permit during the preceding year; 
 
(2) $20 for an applicant that had gross receipts of less than $20,000 from activities 
conducted under this chapter during the preceding year; 
 
(3) $50 for an applicant that had gross receipts of $20,000 or more but not 
exceeding $100,000 from activities conducted under this chapter during the 
preceding year; or 
 
(4) $100 for an applicant that had gross receipts exceeding $100,000 from 
activities conducted under this chapter during the preceding year. 
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Sec. 05.15.025. Money deposited in general fund. [Repealed, Sec. 28 ch 90 SLA 
1991]. Repealed or Renumbered 
 
Sec. 05.15.030. Required notices by applicant, permittee, or licensee.  
 
(a) At the time of filing an application for a permit or license under this chapter, 
the applicant shall notify the city or borough nearest to the location of the proposed 
activity of the application. A local government unit may protest the conduct of the 
activity in its jurisdiction by resolution stating the reasons for the protest filed with 
the department; protests are limited to the lack of qualifications prescribed by this 
chapter. This resolution is only a recommendation by the local government that 
may be considered by the department in determining whether to issue or refuse to 
issue a permit or license. 
 
(b) [Repealed, Sec. 5 ch 105 SLA 1995].  
 
(c) If a permittee or licensee changes the location of an activity in the jurisdiction 
for which a permit has been issued, the permittee shall notify the department and 
the local government within 10 days after moving to the new location. 
 
Sec. 05.15.040. Issuance, effect, and term of permit.  
After the fee is paid, a permit issued, and during the effective period of the permit, 
the municipality or qualified organization may conduct the activity specified in the 
permit. A municipality that has been issued a permit under this chapter may not 
conduct any activity authorized by the permit outside of the geographic boundaries 
of the municipality. If a permit is revoked, the permittee is not eligible for another 
permit until the expiration of one year from the date of revocation. A permit 
expires at the end of the period for which it is issued. A permit is not transferable. 
 
Sec. 05.15.050. Surrender of permit upon suspension or revocation.  
When a permit is suspended or revoked, the permittee shall surrender the permit to 
the department on or before the effective date of the suspension or revocation. A 
permit is not valid beyond the effective date of the suspension or revocation, 
whether surrendered or not. 
 
Sec. 05.15.060. Regulations.  
 
(a) The department shall adopt regulations under AS 44.62 (Administrative 
Procedure Act) necessary to carry out this chapter covering, but not limited to, 
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(1) the issuance, renewal, and revocation of permits, licenses, and vendor 
registrations; 
 
(2) a method of ascertaining net proceeds, the determination of items of expense 
that may be incurred or paid, and the limitation of the amount of the items of 
expense to prevent the proceeds from the activity permitted from being diverted to 
noncharitable, noneducational, nonreligious, or profit-making organizations, 
individuals, or groups; 
 
(3) the immediate revocation of permits, licenses, and vendor registrations 
authorized under this chapter if this chapter or regulations adopted under it are 
violated; 
 
(4) the requiring of detailed, sworn, financial reports of operations from permittees 
and licensees including detailed statements of receipts and payments; 
 
(5) the investigation of permittees, licensees, registered vendors, and their 
employees, including the fingerprinting of those permittees, licensees, registered 
vendors, and employees whom the department considers it advisable to fingerprint; 
 
(6) the method and manner of conducting authorized activities and awarding of 
prizes or awards, and the equipment that may be used; 
 
(7) the number of activities that may be held, operated, or conducted under a 
permit during a specified period; however, the department may not allow more 
than 14 bingo sessions a month and 35 bingo games a session to be conducted 
under a permit; the holders of a multiple-beneficiary permit under AS 05.15.100(d) 
may hold, operate, or conduct the number of sessions and games a month equal to 
the number allowed an individual permittee per month multiplied by the number of 
holders of the multiple-beneficiary permit; 
 
(8) a method of accounting for receipts and disbursements by operators, including 
the keeping of records and requirements for the deposit of all receipts in a bank; 
 
(9) the disposition of funds in possession of a permittee, a person, municipality, or 
qualified organization that possesses an operator's license, or a registered vendor at 
the time a permit, a license, or a vendor registration is surrendered, revoked, or 
invalidated; 
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(10) restrictions on the participation by employees of the Department of Fish and 
Game in salmon classics, king salmon classics, and big bull moose derbies, and by 
employees of Douglas Island Pink and Chum in king salmon classics; 
 
(11) other matters the department considers necessary to carry out this chapter or 
protect the best interest of the public. 
 
(b) Regulations adopted by the department under this section relating to charitable 
gaming activity involving pull-tabs shall, to the extent permitted by this chapter, be 
consistent with the standards on pull-tabs of the North American Gaming 
Regulators Association, as amended from time to time. 
 
Sec. 05.15.070. Examination of books and records.  
The department may examine or have examined the books and records of a 
permittee, an operator, a registered vendor, or a person licensed to manufacture or 
to distribute pull-tab games in the state. The department may issue subpoenas for 
the attendance of witnesses and the production of books, records, and other 
documents. 
 
Sec. 05.15.080. Reports and fees required of municipalities and qualified 
organizations.  
 
(a) A municipality or a qualified organization issued a permit under this chapter 
shall file a report with the department by the 45th day following each calendar 
quarter in which the permittee had gross receipts of $50,000 or more from 
activities authorized under this chapter. The report must include the type of activity 
conducted, the date and location of the activity, the amount of gross receipts, the 
amount of authorized expenses, the value of prizes awarded, the amount of net 
proceeds, and other information the department may require. However, if the only 
activity conducted by a municipality or qualified organization during a calendar 
quarter is a raffle or lottery or a Calcutta pool, then the municipality or qualified 
organization is not required to file a report under this subsection until the raffle or 
lottery or a Calcutta pool is completed. 
 
(b) A municipality or a qualified organization issued a permit under this chapter 
shall file an annual report with the department by March 15 of the year following 
the year in which activities were conducted, accompanied by the payment of the 
additional fee, as may be required under AS 05.15.020(b). The report must list the 
types of activities conducted, and, for each activity, the total amount of gross 
receipts, the total amount of authorized expenses, the total value of prizes awarded, 
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and the total amount of net proceeds. 
 
(c) A permittee that conducts a Calcutta pool shall file a report for each pool 
conducted on a form prescribed by the department that lists 
 
(1) the date of the pool and the event; 
 
(2) the amount of wagers; 
 
(3) the amount of prizes distributed to the winners of the pool; 
 
(4) the amount and nature of each expense; 
 
(5) the amount remaining after the payment of the prizes and expenses; 
 
(6) any other information that the department requests or requires. 
 
Sec. 05.15.083. Reports to department by operators.  
 
(a) An operator shall file a report with the department by the last business day of 
the month following each calendar quarter in which an activity was conducted. The 
report must include, for each authorizing permittee on whose behalf an activity was 
conducted during the quarter, the date and location of each activity, the type of 
activity conducted, the amount of gross receipts, the amount of authorized 
expenses, the value of prizes awarded, the amount of net proceeds paid, and other 
information the department may require; a completed Internal Revenue Service 
Form 941; and a copy of the operator's employer contributions and wage reports 
submitted to the Department of Labor and Workforce Development for the quarter. 
However, if the only activity conducted by an operator during the calendar quarter 
is a raffle or lottery, then the operator is not required to file a report under this 
subsection until the raffle or lottery is completed. 
 
(b) An operator shall file an annual report with the department no later than 
February 28 of the year following the year in which activities were conducted. The 
report must include, for each authorizing permittee on whose behalf an activity was 
conducted, the types of activities conducted, the total amount of gross receipts, the 
total amount of authorized expenses, the total value of prizes awarded, and the total 
amount of net proceeds paid to each authorizing permittee. The annual report must 
also include a completed Internal Revenue Service Form W-2 for each person 
employed by the operator during the preceding year. 
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Sec. 05.15.087. Operator's reports to permittee and payment of net proceeds.  
 
(a) An operator shall file a monthly report with each authorizing permittee for 
which the operator has conducted an activity during the preceding month. The 
report must include a daily summary of activity conducted under the permit issued 
to the authorizing permittee and an accounting of gross receipts, expenses, and net 
proceeds for the month. A check in the amount of the net proceeds due to the 
authorizing permittee for the month must accompany the report. The operator shall 
file the report by the 15th day after the end of the month covered by the report. 
 
(b) An operator shall file a quarterly report with each authorizing permittee for 
which the operator has conducted an activity during the preceding calendar quarter. 
The report must contain quarterly summaries and year-to-date totals of the 
information provided under (a) of this section. The operator shall file the report by 
the last day of the month following the end of the calendar quarter. 
 
(c) An operator shall file an annual report with each authorizing permittee for 
which the operator has conducted an activity during the preceding calendar year. 
The report must contain an annual summary of the information provided under (a) 
of this section. The operator shall file this report by February 28 of the year 
following the year in which the activities were conducted. 
 
(d) An operator shall provide original invoice documents and deposit slips upon 
the request of an authorizing permittee for whom the operator has conducted 
activities. 
 
Sec. 05.15.090. Agency reports.  
Before April 15 of each year, the department shall prepare a detailed report 
containing a summary of all reports required of permittees and operators. The 
attorney general and the commissioner of public safety shall, within 10 days after 
the convening of the legislature each year, jointly prepare a detailed report 
outlining the effect, if any, of the operation of this chapter on the legal and law 
enforcement activities of the state and notify the legislature that the report is 
available. 
 
Sec. 05.15.095. General provisions relating to the filing of applications and 
reports and payment of fees.  
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(a) The applications and reports to the department required by this chapter shall be 
signed under penalty of unsworn falsification in the second degree by the 
following person, as applicable: 
 
(1) the member in charge for the qualified organization; 
 
(2) a person authorized to sign on behalf of the municipality; 
 
(3) the operator or the operator's agent; 
 
(4) the licensed pull-tab distributor or the distributor's agent; or 
 
(5) the licensed pull-tab manufacturer or the manufacturer's agent. 
 
(b) A permittee or operator may not conduct an activity under this chapter during a 
period in which a report or fee is delinquent. 
 
(c) A delinquent fee bears interest at the rate set by AS 43.05.225. 
 
(d) A permittee or licensee under this chapter shall pay a penalty of one percent of 
the unpaid balance, as determined by the department, of a fee due under this 
chapter for each 30-day period or part of a 30-day period that the fee is delinquent. 
The department may waive the penalty if the failure to pay the fee on time is due to 
a reasonable cause, as defined by regulation adopted by the department. The 
amount of the penalty may not exceed 25 percent of the unpaid fee. 
 
Sec. 05.15.097. Notice to the alcoholic beverage control board.  
If, after notice and hearing, the department determines that a person has violated a 
provision of this chapter related to gambling and the person is a licensee or 
permittee under AS 04, the department shall provide notice of the violation to the 
Alcoholic Beverage Control Board. 
 
Article 02. LICENSES, PERMITS, AND REGISTRATIONS  
 
Sec. 05.15.100. Issuance of permits and licenses.  
 
(a) The department may issue a permit to a municipality or qualified organization. 
The permit gives the municipality or qualified organization the privilege of 
conducting bingo, raffles and lotteries, pull-tab games, ice classics, race classics, 
rain classics, goose classics, mercury classics, deep freeze classics, canned salmon 
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classics, salmon classics, king salmon classics, dog mushers' contests, snow 
classics, snow machine classics, fish derbies, animal classics, crane classics, 
cabbage classics, Calcutta pools, big bull moose derbies, and contests of skill. 
 
(b) [Repealed, Sec. 5 ch 105 SLA 1995].  
 
(c) The department may issue an operator's license to a natural person to conduct 
an activity permitted under this chapter, other than a Calcutta pool, on behalf of a 
municipality or a qualified organization. The department may also issue an 
operator's license to a municipality or a qualified organization to conduct an 
activity, other than a Calcutta pool, on behalf of another municipality or qualified 
organization. 
 
(d) The department may issue a multiple-beneficiary permit to two to six 
municipalities or qualified organizations or to a combination of two to six 
municipalities and qualified organizations that apply jointly for the permit. The 
permit gives the permit holders the privilege of jointly conducting the activities 
specified in (a) of this section. 
 
Sec. 05.15.105. Persons prohibited from involvement.  
 
(a) If a person has been convicted of a violation of a law of this state that is, or a 
law or ordinance of another jurisdiction that would be if it had been committed in 
this state, a felony, or a violation of a law or ordinance of this state or another 
jurisdiction that is a crime involving theft or dishonesty or a violation of gambling 
laws 
 
(1) the department may not issue a license to the person; 
 
(2) the department may not issue a license to, or register as a vendor, an applicant 
who employs the person in a managerial or supervisory capacity or uses the person 
as a fund raiser or consultant; 
 
(3) the department may not issue a permit for an activity if the person is 
responsible for the operation of the activity; 
 
(4) the person may not be employed in a managerial or supervisory capacity by a 
licensee or vendor or used as a fund raiser or consultant by a licensee or vendor; 
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(5) the person may not participate in charitable gaming as a permittee, licensee, or 
vendor. 
 
(b) The department shall adopt regulations that provide that a disqualification of a 
person under (a) of this section based upon a conviction of that person for a 
violation 
 
(1) of a law of this state that is, or a law or ordinance of another jurisdiction that 
would be if it was committed in this state, a class B felony other than extortion, a 
class C felony, or an unclassified felony described outside of AS 11, and that is not 
a crime of dishonesty or theft or a violation of gambling laws, terminates 10 years 
after the person's conviction; 
 
(2) of a law or ordinance of this state or another jurisdiction that is a crime 
involving theft or dishonesty or a violation of gambling laws, and that is not, or 
would not be if it was committed in this state, an unclassified felony described in 
AS 11, a class A felony, or extortion, terminates 10 years after the person's 
conviction, if the department determines that the 
 
(A) person is of good character, honesty, and integrity; and 
 
(B) person's involvement in charitable gaming is not against the public interest. 
 
Sec. 05.15.110. Authorized activities a privilege.  
The activities specified in AS 05.15.100 may be permitted as a privilege and do not 
confer a right upon any person to conduct the activities. 
 
Sec. 05.15.112. Member in charge.  
 
(a) Each municipality or qualified organization that applies for a permit under this 
chapter shall designate a member in charge and at least one alternate member in 
charge. The member in charge and alternate members in charge designated must 
have passed a test formulated by the department on the contents of this chapter and 
the regulations adopted under this chapter. The department shall administer the test 
at least four times a year. Municipalities and qualified organizations that hold a 
multiple-beneficiary permit shall jointly designate one member in charge and at 
least one alternate member in charge. 
 
(b) The member in charge is responsible for preparation, maintenance, and 
transmittal of all records and reports required of the permittee, and, if the permittee 
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has entered into a contract with an operator under AS 05.15.115, for monitoring 
the operator's performance under and compliance with that contract. The alternate 
members in charge are responsible for the duties of the member in charge in the 
absence of the member in charge. The member in charge and the alternate 
members in charge shall be members of the qualified organization or the board of 
directors of the qualified organization or employees of the municipality. In the case 
of a multiple-beneficiary permit, the member in charge and the alternate members 
in charge shall be members of one of the qualified organizations or the board of 
directors of one of the qualified organizations or employees of one of the 
municipalities. 
 
(c) The member in charge shall monitor the operator's performance under and 
compliance with contracts for the conduct of activities on behalf of the authorizing 
permittee. 
 
(d) The municipality or qualified organization, or the holders of a multiple-
beneficiary permit, shall designate alternate members in charge who are 
responsible for the duties of the member in charge in the absence of the member in 
charge. 
 
(e) If a permittee's designated member in charge or sole alternate member in charge 
resigns or is no longer able to serve as member in charge or alternate member in 
charge, the permittee has six months to replace the member in charge or alternate 
member in charge with a person who meets the requirements of this section, and to 
notify the department of the replacement. If after six months the permittee has not 
replaced the member in charge or alternate member in charge with a person who 
meets the requirements of this section, or has not notified the department of the 
replacement, the permittee's permit is suspended until the requirements of this 
subsection are met. 
 
Sec. 05.15.115. Contracts between permittees and operators.  
 
(a) A municipality or qualified organization holding a permit to conduct an activity 
under this chapter may enter into a contract with an operator licensed under this 
chapter to conduct on behalf of the municipality or qualified organization those 
activities permitted under the authority of the permit. 
 
(b) The contract between an authorizing permittee and an operator must include the 
amount and form of compensation to be paid to the operator, the term of the 
contract, the activities to be conducted by the operator on behalf of the permittee, 
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the location where the activities are to be conducted, the name and address of the 
member in charge, and other provisions the department may require. 
 
(c) A permittee may not contract with more than one operator at a time to conduct 
the same type of activity. For the purposes of this subsection, bingo games, raffles, 
lotteries, pull-tab games, ice classics, race classics, rain classics, goose classics, 
mercury classics, deep freeze classics, canned salmon classics, salmon classics, 
king salmon classics, dog mushers' contests, snow classics, snow machine classics, 
fish derbies, animal classics, crane classics, cabbage classics, big bull moose 
derbies, and contests of skill are each a different type of activity. 
 
(d) A permittee shall submit by certified mail to the department for approval a 
copy of each contract with an operator with whom the permittee contracts to 
conduct activities subject to this chapter. The contract must meet the requirements 
of this section. The department shall approve or disapprove the contract. If the 
contract is disapproved, reasons for the disapproval shall be provided in writing to 
the permittee. Activities may not be conducted under the contract before the 
contract is approved. Subsequent amendments to an approved contract do not take 
effect until the amendments are approved by the department. 
 
Sec. 05.15.120. Eligibility for permit.  
An applicant shall be a municipality or qualified organization to be eligible for a 
permit. 
 
Sec. 05.15.122. Operator's license.  
 
(a) A person, municipality, or qualified organization may not conduct an activity 
subject to this chapter on behalf of a municipality or qualified organization unless 
the person, municipality, or qualified organization has received an operator's 
license issued by the department. 
 
(b) The department may issue an operator's license to a natural person, 
municipality, or qualified organization that 
 
(1) applies on the form provided by the department; 
 
(2) pays the annual fee of $500; 
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(3) discloses the identity of persons employed by the applicant in a managerial or 
supervisory capacity; 
 
(4) submits proof of liability insurance satisfactory to the department; 
 
(5) posts a bond or security satisfactory to the department in the amount of $25,000 
for each permit under which the operator operates up to a maximum of $100,000; 
and 
 
(6) if a natural person, has passed a test formulated by the department on the 
contents of this chapter and the regulations adopted under this chapter and 
administered by the department at least four times a year; or, if a municipality or 
qualified organization, has designated a municipal employee or member of the 
organization who has passed this test. 
 
(c) [Repealed, Sec. 37 ch 70 SLA 1993].  
 
(d) [Repealed, Sec. 37 ch 70 SLA 1993].  
 
Sec. 05.15.124. Municipal regulation of operators or vendors.  
A municipality may by ordinance prohibit an operator or a vendor from conducting 
activities under this chapter within the municipality. 
 
Sec. 05.15.128. Revocation of operator's license.  
 
(a) The department shall revoke the license of an operator who does not 
 
(1) report an adjusted gross income of at least 15 percent of gross income annually 
based on the total operation of the operator; or 
 
(2) pay to each authorizing permittee annually at least 30 percent of the adjusted 
gross income, as determined under (1) of this subsection, from a pull-tab activity or 
at least 10 percent of the adjusted gross income, as determined under (1) of this 
subsection, from a gaming activity other than pull-tabs, received from activities 
conducted on behalf of the authorizing permittee. 
 
(b) A person, municipality, or qualified organization whose operator's license has 
been revoked under this section may appeal the revocation if the person, 
municipality, or qualified organization submits to and pays for a complete audit of 
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the operator's financial records by the department. The results of the audit are 
conclusive. 
 
Sec. 05.15.130. Department may impose additional requirements.  
The department may supplement the definitions of qualified organizations and 
activities by regulations adopted under this chapter adding to the definitions 
additional requirements that the department considers necessary for the best 
interests of the public or for the proper administration of this chapter. 
 
Sec. 05.15.140. Proof necessary to qualify for permit.  
 
(a) The department may not issue or renew a permit except upon satisfactory proof 
that the applicant is a municipality or qualified organization, the activity may be 
permitted under this chapter, and the issuance of a permit is not detrimental to the 
best interests of the public. Upon request of the department, the applicant shall 
prove conclusively each of these requirements before a permit may be issued or 
renewed. 
 
(b) In an application for a permit, a municipality or qualified organization shall 
disclose the name and address of each person responsible for the operation of the 
activity and whether any person named 
 
(1) has been convicted of a violation of a law of this state that is, or a law or 
ordinance of another state that would be if committed in this state, an unclassified 
felony described in AS 11, a Class A felony, extortion, or a violation of a law or 
ordinance of this state or another jurisdiction that is a crime involving theft or 
dishonesty or a violation of gambling laws; or 
 
(2) has a prohibited financial interest, as defined in regulations adopted by the 
department, in the operation of the activity. 
 
(c) [Repealed, Sec. 37 ch 70 SLA 1993].  
 
(d) Application forms for permits must contain a notice that a false statement in the 
application is punishable by law. 
 
Sec. 05.15.145. Multiple-beneficiary permits.  
 
(a) Two to six municipalities or qualified organizations, or a combination of two to 
six municipalities and qualified organizations, may jointly apply for a multiple-
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beneficiary permit under AS 05.15.100(d). The commissioner may not issue or 
renew a permit except upon satisfactory proof that each joint applicant is a 
municipality or qualified organization, the activity may be permitted under this 
chapter, and the issuance of a permit is not detrimental to the best interests of the 
public. Upon request of the commissioner, the joint applicants shall prove 
conclusively each of these requirements before a permit may be issued or renewed. 
 
(b) The provisions of AS 05.15.140(b) - (d) apply to multiple-beneficiary permits 
and applications for them. 
 
(c) A municipality or qualified organization that is among the holders of a 
multiple-beneficiary permit may withdraw from the permit by giving written notice 
of intent to withdraw to the department and to the other holders of the permit. The 
effective date of the withdrawal is 30 days after the department receives written 
notice of intent. A municipality or qualified organization that withdraws from a 
multiple-beneficiary permit may apply for a permit under AS 05.15.100(a), but its 
share of the prizes awarded under the multiple-beneficiary permit and the prizes it 
awards under its own permit are subject to the maximums established in AS 
05.15.180(g). 
 
(d) The holders of a multiple-beneficiary permit shall jointly file reports with the 
department that comply with the reporting requirements imposed on operators 
under AS 05.15.083. 
 
Sec. 05.15.150. Limitation on use of proceeds.  
 
(a) The authority to conduct the activity authorized by this chapter is contingent 
upon the dedication of the net proceeds of the charitable gaming activity to the 
awarding of prizes to contestants or participants and to political, educational, civic, 
public, charitable, patriotic, or religious uses in the state. In this subsection, 
"political, educational, civic, public, charitable, patriotic, or religious uses" means 
uses benefiting persons either by bringing them under the influence of education or 
religion or relieving them from disease, suffering, or constraint, or by assisting 
them in establishing themselves in life, or by providing for the promotion of the 
welfare and well-being of the membership of the organization within their own 
community, or through aiding candidates for public office or groups that support 
candidates for public office, or by erecting or maintaining public buildings or 
works, or lessening the burden on government, but does not include 
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(1) the direct or indirect payment of any portion of the net proceeds of a bingo or 
pull-tab game to a lobbyist registered under AS 24.45; 
 
(2) the erection, acquisition, improvement, maintenance, or repair of real, personal, 
or mixed property unless it is used exclusively for one or more of the permitted 
uses; or 
 
(3) the direct or indirect payment of any portion of the net proceeds of a charitable 
gaming activity, except the proceeds of a raffle and lottery, 
 
(A) to aid candidates for public office or groups that support or oppose candidates 
for public office; 
 
(B) to a political party or to an organization affiliated with a political party; or 
 
(C) to a group, as that term is defined in AS 15.13.400, or a political group, as that 
term is defined in AS 15.80, that seeks to influence the outcome of an election. 
 
(b) The net proceeds derived from the activity must be devoted within one year to 
one or more of the uses stated in (a) of this section. A municipality or qualified 
organization desiring to hold the net proceeds for a period longer than one year 
must apply to the department for special permission and upon good cause shown 
the department may grant the request. 
 
Sec. 05.15.160. Authorized expenses.  
 
(a) The only expenses that may be incurred or paid in connection with the 
operation of an activity under a permit issued under this chapter are bona fide 
expenses reasonably necessary for 
 
(1) goods, wares, and merchandise necessary for the operation of the activity; 
 
(2) personal services involved with the operation of the activity, including those 
performed by 
 
(A) an employee of the permittee; or 
 
(B) an operator hired by the permittee to conduct the activity if the compensation is 
not related to the receipts from the activity. 
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(b) Municipalities, qualified organizations, and operators may pay their employees 
a reasonable amount in wages or other compensation for personal services 
rendered by their employees while the employees are engaged in activities subject 
to this chapter. A reasonable amount of compensation is an amount approximating 
the amount ordinarily paid by similar businesses for similar work performed under 
similar circumstances. 
 
(c) The total amount of authorized expenses that may be incurred under (a) of this 
section in connection with a pull-tab activity may not exceed 70 percent of the 
adjusted gross income from that pull-tab activity. 
 
(d) The total amount of authorized expenses that may be incurred under (a) of this 
section in connection with any gaming activity other than pull-tabs or Calcutta 
pools may not exceed 90 percent of the adjusted gross income from that gaming 
activity. 
 
(e) The total amount of expenses that may be incurred and prizes that may be 
awarded under (a) of this section in connection with a Calcutta pool may not 
exceed 50 percent of the pool of wagers. 
 
Sec. 05.15.165. Operators.  
 
(a) An operator shall pay net proceeds to the authorizing permittee by check. 
 
(b) If the department finds that an operator has incurred expenses that are not 
authorized under AS 05.15.160, the department shall order the operator to refund 
to the authorizing permittee the amount of the unauthorized expenses. The operator 
shall pay the authorizing permittee interest on the amount ordered to be paid at the 
rate of 1.5 percent a month for each month or fraction of a month between the date 
of the activity and the date the refund is made. 
 
(c) The operator shall post in a public place on the premises where the activities are 
conducted the operator's license and a copy of the permit of each authorizing 
permittee with whom the operator has a contract to conduct activities at the 
location. 
 
(d) An operator shall obtain liability insurance covering each location where the 
licensee conducts an activity subject to this chapter. The operator shall provide 
upon request proof of insurance for each location to the department. The operator 
and the insurer shall inform the department of changes in the coverage of the 
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insurance or of cancellation of the insurance. Cancellation of the insurance 
immediately suspends the rights of the operator to conduct activities under this 
chapter at the location covered by the insurance until subsequent insurance is 
obtained. 
 
(e) An operator shall have its financial records reviewed annually by a certified 
public accountant. The operator shall submit the results of the review to the 
department by February 28 of the year following the year for which the review is 
conducted. 
 
(f) An operator may not 
 
(1) charge losses resulting from bad checks or uncollectable debts against the net 
proceeds due to the authorizing permittee; 
 
(2) extend credit to players; 
 
(3) employ house players; 
 
(4) allow the operator's employees to play a game conducted by the operator at the 
location where the employee works for the operator. 
 
Sec. 05.15.167. Operator's bond.  
 
(a) The bond or security filed under AS 05.15.122(b) must be made payable to the 
department and must be conditioned upon payment of the amounts due to the 
department and payment of net proceeds due to the authorizing permittee. If the 
operator fails to make the required payments, the operator forfeits the bond or 
security to the department. 
 
(b) The amount forfeited under (a) of this section shall be first used to satisfy 
delinquent fees, interest, and penalties due the department under this chapter. If the 
bond or security is not exhausted by payment of delinquent fees, interest, and 
penalties, the department may use the remaining amount to pay net proceeds due 
an authorizing permittee. The total amount available for payment of net proceeds 
shall be prorated among the permittees to whom proceeds are due from that 
operator. 
 
(c) The operator and the surety shall inform the department if the bond is cancelled 
or the security is impaired. 
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Sec. 05.15.170. Suspension or revocation of permit, license, or vendor 
registration.  
 
(a) The department may suspend, for a period of up to one year, or revoke a permit, 
license, or vendor registration, after giving notice to and an opportunity to be heard 
by the permittee or licensee if the permittee, licensee, or vendor 
 
(1) violates or fails to comply with a requirement of this chapter or of a regulation 
adopted under this chapter; 
 
(2) breaches a contractual agreement with a permittee, licensee, or registered 
vendor; 
 
(3) becomes disqualified to participate in charitable gaming as provided in AS 
05.15.105; for the purposes of this paragraph, a permittee, licensee, or vendor that 
is not a natural person is considered convicted if an owner or manager of the 
permittee, licensee, or vendor is convicted; 
 
(4) knowingly submits false information to the department or, in the case of a 
registered vendor, to a permittee when the vendor knows that the false information 
will be submitted to the department as part of an application for registration; or 
 
(5) gives or acts upon any inside information on the status of the prizes awarded or 
to be awarded in a pull-tab game. 
 
(b) If the department revokes a license or vendor registration under this section, it 
may prohibit the licensee or vendor from reapplying for a license or vendor 
registration for a period of not more than five years. If the department revokes a 
permit under this section, it may prohibit the permittee from reapplying for a 
permit for a period of not more than one year. 
 
Sec. 05.15.180. Limitations on authorized activity.  
 
(a) This chapter does not authorize the use of playing cards, dice, roulette wheels, 
coin-operated instruments or machines, or other objects or instruments used, 
designed, or intended primarily for gaming or gambling, or any other method or 
implement not expressly authorized by the department. 
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(b) With the exception of raffles, lotteries, bingo games, pull-tab games, race 
classics, rain classics, goose classics, mercury classics, deep freeze classics, dog 
mushers' contests, snow classics, snow machine classics, canned salmon classics, 
salmon classics, animal classics, crane classics, cabbage classics, Calcutta pools, 
big bull moose derbies, and king salmon classics, a permit may not be issued for an 
activity under this chapter unless it existed in the state in substantially the same 
form and was conducted in substantially the same manner before January 1, 1959. 
A permit may not be issued for a snow machine classic under this chapter unless it 
has been in existence for at least five years before the permit is issued. A permit 
may not be issued for an animal classic under this chapter unless it was in 
existence before November 1, 2002. 
 
(c) [Repealed, Sec. 5 ch 105 SLA 1995].  
 
(d) The total value of door prizes offered or awarded under authority of a permit 
issued to a municipality or qualified organization under this chapter or under 
authority of a multiple-beneficiary permit may not exceed $20,000 a month or 
$240,000 a year. 
 
(e) The total value of all door prizes offered or awarded at a single facility or bingo 
hall or parlor by an operator on behalf of authorizing permittees may not exceed 
$20,000 a month or $240,000 a year. 
 
(f) A person under the age of 19 years may not play a bingo game. 
 
(g) A municipality or a qualified organization may award a maximum of 
$2,000,000 in prizes each year in activities authorized under this chapter; however, 
if a municipality or a qualified organization contracts with an operator to conduct 
on its behalf activities authorized under this chapter, the municipality or qualified 
organization may award a maximum of $500,000 in prizes each year. A 
municipality or a qualified organization that conducts a contest of skill and awards 
more than $1,000,000 in prizes to the participants in that contest of skill may 
exclude $1,000,000 in prizes awarded to those participants from the $2,000,000 
maximum allowed in this subsection. The holders of a multiple-beneficiary permit 
under AS 05.15.100(d) may award a maximum in prizes each year of $2,000,000 
times the number of holders of the permit for activities authorized under this 
chapter. In this subsection, "activities authorized under this chapter" means all 
activities subject to this chapter other than bingo. 
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(h) Only one Calcutta pool permit may be issued for each event and is limited to 
the permittee conducting the event or a permittee authorized by the person 
conducting the event if the person is not eligible to be a permittee. A Calcutta pool 
may not be conducted for elementary, secondary, or post-secondary school 
sporting events or for youth organization events. A person may not wager on a 
Calcutta pool unless the person is at least 18 years of age. A permittee may not 
accept a wager on a contestant or entrant in a Calcutta pool unless the contestant or 
entrant is or are 18 years of age or older. A person may not place a wager on a 
contestant or entrant in a Calcutta pool unless the contestant or entrant is or are 18 
years of age or older. A Calcutta pool may not be conducted unless the rules for the 
pool are publicly posted and available to all participants in the pool. 
 
Sec. 05.15.181. Pull-tab manufacturers.  
 
(a) A person may not manufacture pull-tabs in the state, and may not sell or 
distribute a pull-tab that the person has manufactured outside of the state to persons 
in the state, unless the person has received a pull-tab manufacturer's license issued 
by the department. 
 
(b) The department may issue a pull-tab manufacturer's license to a person who 
pays an annual fee of $2,500. 
 
(c) Each series of pull-tabs manufactured in the state must be sealed and have a 
serial number label issued by the National Association of Fundraising Ticket 
Manufacturers or other serial number label approved by the department. 
 
(d) A pull-tab manufacturer may distribute pull-tabs only to a licensed pull-tab 
distributor unless the pull-tab manufacturer is also a licensed pull-tab distributor. 
 
(e) Each pull-tab manufacturer shall report to the department by the last business 
day of the month on each series of pull-tabs distributed during the preceding 
month, including the serial number of each series distributed and the name of the 
distributor to whom the series was distributed. 
 
Sec. 05.15.183. Pull-tab distributors.  
 
(a) A person may not distribute pull-tab games unless the person has received a 
pull-tab distributor's license issued by the department. 
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(b) The department may issue a pull-tab distributor's license to a person who pays 
an annual fee of $1,000. 
 
(c) Pull-tabs may be distributed only from a location in the state. A person may not 
distribute pull-tabs directly to another person in the state from a location outside of 
this state. 
 
(d) A pull-tab distributor shall report to the department by the last business day of 
each month on each pull-tab series distributed in the preceding month. The report 
must include the name of the permittee to whom each series of pull-tabs is 
distributed and the serial number of each series. 
 
(e) A distributor may not 
 
(1) take an order for the purchase of a pull-tab series from a vendor; 
 
(2) sell a pull-tab series to a vendor; or 
 
(3) deliver a pull-tab series to a vendor. 
 
Sec. 05.15.184. Pull-tab tax.  
A pull-tab distributor shall collect a tax of three percent of an amount equal to the 
gross receipts less prizes awarded on each series of pull-tabs distributed. The pull-
tab distributor shall pay to the department the tax collected in the preceding month 
at the time that the report under AS 05.15.183(d) is filed with the department. 
 
Sec. 05.15.185. Distribution of pull-tab games.  
Each series of pull-tabs distributed in the state must be sealed and have a serial 
number label issued by the National Association of Fundraising Ticket 
Manufacturers or other serial number label approved by the department and may 
be distributed only to 
 
(1) a municipality or a qualified organization that has obtained a permit issued 
under this chapter; 
 
(2) an operator on behalf of an authorizing permittee; or 
 
(3) a distributor licensed under this chapter. 
 
Sec. 05.15.187. Operation of pull-tab games.  
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(a) A municipality or qualified organization may operate pull-tab games. Pull-tabs 
shall be obtained from a licensed distributor. 
 
(b) A pull-tab series may not be sold at more than one location during the same 
day. 
 
(c) Pull-tabs from different series may not be mixed or combined, unless 10 
percent or less of a series remains unsold, in which case the remaining pull-tabs 
may be combined with a different series having an identical price and prize 
structure. 
 
(d) A pull-tab series may not be withdrawn from sale until all pull-tabs in the series 
are sold, except that a pull-tab series may be withdrawn from sale if a 
manufacturing defect exists in the series and the department is notified of the 
defect and of the withdrawal from sale within a period established by regulation by 
the department. 
 
(e) Pull-tabs may not be sold to a person under the age of 21 years. A person under 
the age of 21 years may not purchase a pull-tab. 
 
(f) Each permittee that had gross receipts exceeding $100,000 during the preceding 
year from activities conducted under this chapter or that is required to report under 
AS 05.15.080(a), that conducts a pull-tab game shall maintain records for two 
years of each prize of $50 or more, the first day and last day that each series was 
distributed, the serial number of each series, and the distributor from whom each 
series was purchased. In this section "permittee" includes municipalities and 
qualified organizations that jointly hold a multiple-beneficiary permit. 
 
(g) Notwithstanding other provisions of this chapter, a pull-tab game that confers 
an additional right upon all or some of the purchasers of a pull-tab series to 
participate in a lottery for additional prizes may not be conducted in the state 
unless a surety bond in the amount of $250,000 conditioned upon payment of all 
prizes and awards when due is submitted to the department by the operator or 
authorizing permittee and approved by the attorney general. 
 
(h) An owner, manager, or employee of a person holding a permit or license under 
this chapter, or registered under this chapter as a vendor, may not purchase a pull-
tab from a pull-tab series manufactured, distributed, or sold by the permittee, 
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licensee, or registered vendor. 
 
(i) A permittee, operator, or registered vendor may not turn over a prize of $50 or 
more to a person with a pull-tab card entitling the person to that prize unless the 
person signs a receipt for the prize and returns the receipt to the permittee, 
operator, or vendor. The receipt must be in a form approved by the department. 
 
Sec. 05.15.188. Pull-tab sales by vendors on behalf of permittees; vendor 
registration.  
 
(a) A permittee may contract with a vendor to sell pull-tabs on behalf of the 
permittee if the permittee first registers the vendor with the department by applying 
for registration on a form prescribed by the department and by submitting the 
registration fee of $50 for each location at which the vendor will sell pull-tabs. 
 
(b) Upon approval of the vendor registration, the department shall issue an 
endorsement to the permittee's permit that authorizes the conduct of pull-tab sales 
at that vendor location. 
 
(c) The endorsement issued under (b) of this section is an extension of the 
permittee's privilege under AS 05.15.100 to conduct pull-tab sales in this state. A 
vendor may not sell a pull-tab series until a copy of the permit containing the 
endorsement for the new vendor location has been posted by the permittee in the 
registered vendor establishment. The endorsed permit must be clearly visible to the 
gaming public. 
 
(d) A separate endorsement shall be issued for each vendor location. The permittee 
shall inform the department when a vendor with whom the permittee is contracting 
changes the physical location at which pull-tabs are sold, and shall return to the 
department all copies of a permit endorsed to a vendor that is no longer selling 
pull-tabs on behalf of the permittee. Failure to inform the department of a change 
in vendor location, or to return the endorsed copies of a permit to the department 
after a vendor change, may constitute grounds for the suspension or revocation of a 
permittee's permit. 
 
(e) At the time that a permittee annually renews its permit, it shall also renew the 
registration of all locations where a vendor is selling pull-tabs on the permittee's 
behalf and shall pay a registration fee of $50 for each vendor location. 
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(f) A permittee that uses a vendor to sell pull-tabs on its behalf shall enter into a 
written contract with that vendor. The department may inspect this contract. If the 
contract contains provisions that violate this chapter or the regulations adopted 
under it, the department may declare the contract void, and may suspend or revoke 
the registration of the vendor and the permit of the permittee. 
 
(g) A person, other than a permittee's member-in-charge, may not directly supply a 
pull-tab series to a registered vendor for sale by that vendor on behalf of the 
permittee. 
 
(h) If a permittee contracts with a vendor under (a) of this section, the contract 
must provide that the permittee shall receive no less than 70 percent of the ideal 
net. 
 
(i) An amount equal to the ideal net less the compensation owed to the vendor shall 
be paid by the vendor to the member-in-charge upon delivery of a pull-tab series to 
the vendor for sale. The amount required to be paid by the vendor shall be paid by 
check and the check may not be drawn in a manner that the payee is not identified. 
 
(j) An operator may not contract with or use a vendor to sell pull-tabs. 
 
(k) A permittee may not contract with more than five vendors under this section. 
 
Sec. 05.15.190. - 05.15.198. [Renumbered as AS 05.15.600 - 05.15.625]. Repealed 
or Renumbered 
 
Sec. 05.15.200. - 05.15.210. [Renumbered as AS 05.15.680 - 05.15.690]. Repealed 
or Renumbered 
 
Article 03. MISCELLANEOUS PROVISIONS  
 
Sec. 05.15.600. Cancellation of permits based on unlawful provision.  
If any provision of this chapter, or regulation adopted under this chapter, is 
determined to be unlawful, then all permits issued in connection with the licensed 
activity to which the unlawful provision or regulation related are cancelled. 
 
Sec. 05.15.610. Order prohibiting action in violation of chapter.  
 
(a) If the commissioner determines that a person has engaged in an act or practice 
in violation of this chapter or a regulation adopted under this chapter, the 
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commissioner may, after giving reasonable notice to the person and an opportunity 
for the person to be heard, issue an order prohibiting the violation by the person. 
The order remains in effect until the person has submitted evidence acceptable to 
the commissioner showing that the violation has been corrected. 
 
(b) If the public interest requires, the commissioner may issue an emergency order 
prohibiting an act or practice in violation of this chapter or a regulation adopted 
under this chapter without notice to or an opportunity to be heard by the person 
affected by the order. The commissioner shall immediately serve the person with a 
copy of the emergency order. An emergency order expires 60 days after the date it 
is issued if the person affected by the order requests a hearing within 15 days of 
receipt of the order. If the person does not request a hearing within 15 days of 
receipt of the emergency order, the order becomes permanent. Following a hearing, 
the commissioner may rescind, modify, or make permanent the emergency order. 
 
(c) A party aggrieved by an order under this section may appeal to the superior 
court. 
 
Sec. 05.15.620. Local prohibition of charitable gaming.  
 
(a) The following question, appearing alone, may be placed before the voters of a 
municipality or an established village in accordance with AS 05.15.625: "Shall 
charitable gaming in ....... (name of municipality or village) be prohibited? (yes or 
no)". 
 
(b) The following question, appearing alone, may be placed before the voters of a 
municipality or an established village in accordance with AS 05.15.625: "Shall 
pull-tab sales in ....... (name of municipality or village) be prohibited? (yes or no)." 
 
(c) If a majority of the voters vote "yes" on the question set out in (a) or (b) of this 
section, the department shall be notified immediately after certification of the 
results of the election and thereafter the department may not issue a license, permit, 
or vendor registration authorizing charitable gaming or pull-tab sales, as 
appropriate, within the boundaries of a municipality and in unincorporated areas 
within five miles of the boundaries of the municipality or within the perimeter of 
an established village. As necessary to implement the results of an election under 
(a) or (b) of this section, existing licenses, permits, and vendor registrations for 
charitable gaming or pull-tab sales within the boundaries of a municipality and in 
unincorporated areas within five miles of the boundaries of the municipality or 
within the perimeter of an established village are void 90 days after the results of 
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the election are certified. A license or vendor registration that will expire during 
the 90 days after the results of a local option election under this section are 
certified is void as of the expiration date. 
 
Sec. 05.15.625. Procedure for local option elections.  
 
(a) The local governing body of a municipality, whenever a number of registered 
voters equal to at least 10 percent of the number of votes cast at the last regular 
municipal election petition the local governing body to do so, shall place upon a 
separate ballot at the next regular election or at a special election the question set 
out in AS 05.15.620 that is the subject of the petition. The local governing body 
shall conduct the election in accordance with the election ordinance of the 
municipality. 
 
(b) The lieutenant governor, whenever 10 percent of the registered voters residing 
within an established village petition the lieutenant governor to do so, shall place 
upon a separate ballot at a special election the question set out in AS 05.15.620 that 
is the subject of the petition. The lieutenant governor shall conduct the election in 
the manner prescribed by AS 15 (Alaska Election Code). 
 
(c) Notwithstanding any other provisions of law, an election under (a) or (b) of this 
section to remove a restriction on charitable gaming imposed under AS 05.15.620 
may not be conducted more than once every 12 months. 
 
(d) AS 29.26.110 - 29.26.160 apply to a petition under (a) of this section in a 
general law municipality except the 
 
(1) number of required signatures is determined under (a) of this section rather than 
under AS 29.26.130; 
 
(2) application filed under AS 29.26.110 must contain the question set out under 
AS 05.15.620 rather than containing an ordinance or resolution; 
 
(3) petition must contain the question set out under AS 05.15.620 rather than 
material required under AS 29.26.120(a)(1) and (2). 
 
Sec. 05.15.640. Restrictions on use of broadcasting.  
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(a) A person may not use broadcasting to promote or conduct a charitable gaming 
activity under this chapter except that a person may use 
 
(1) broadcasting to promote a fish derby, a dog mushers' contest, a type of classic 
defined in AS 05.15.690, or a raffle and lottery; or 
 
(2) the Internet or an Internet communication to promote a charitable gaming 
activity under this chapter. 
 
(b) Notwithstanding (a) of this section, the department may authorize a 
noncommercial broadcasting station or network of stations to broadcast the 
conducting of an activity under this chapter on the station or network under a 
permit held by the station or network. The department may not authorize a station 
to broadcast the conducting of an activity for more than 12 hours in a calendar 
year. In this subsection, "noncommercial broadcasting station" means a radio or 
television station that is licensed by the Federal Communications Commission to a 
governmental entity or to an entity that is exempt from federal taxation under 26 
U.S.C. 501(c)(3) (Internal Revenue Code). 
 
(c) In this section, 
 
(1) "broadcasting" includes television and radio transmission by 2,500 megahertz, 
microwave video and audio programming, slow-scan television programming, and 
programming by way of satellite, cable, teletype, or facsimile transmission and 
distribution methods; 
 
(2) "Internet" means the combination of computer systems or networks that make 
up the international network for interactive communications services, including 
remote logins, file transfer, electronic mail, and newsgroups; 
 
(3) "Internet communication" means an announcement or advertisement 
disseminated through the Internet. 
 
Article 04. GENERAL PROVISIONS  
 
Sec. 05.15.680. Penalties.  
 
(a) A person who knowingly violates or aids or solicits a person to violate this 
chapter is guilty of a violation for the first offense and a class B misdemeanor for 
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the second and each subsequent offense. 
 
(b) A person who, with the intent to mislead a public servant in the performance of 
the public servant's duty, submits a false statement in an application for a permit, 
license, or vendor registration under this chapter is guilty of unsworn falsification 
in the second degree. 
 
Sec. 05.15.690. Definitions. In this chapter, 
 
(1) "adjusted gross income" means gross income less prizes awarded and state, 
federal, and municipal taxes paid or owed on the income; 
 
(2) "animal classic" means a game of chance in which prizes are awarded for the 
correct guess 
 
(A) of which numbered or colored hole on a wheel a rat, hamster, gerbil, or other 
rodent enters as the wheel is slowly rotated; 
 
(B) concerning an activity involving chicken manure and a numbered or lettered 
grid; 
 
(3) "authorizing permittee" means a municipality or qualified organization that 
authorizes an operator to conduct an activity subject to this chapter on its behalf; 
 
(4) "big bull moose derby" means a contest in which prizes are awarded based on 
the size or spread of moose antlers; 
 
(5) "bingo" means a game of chance of, and restricted to, the selling of rights to 
participate, and the awarding of prizes, in the specific kind of game of chance 
sometimes known as bingo or lotto, played with cards bearing numbers or other 
designations, five or more in one line, the holder covering numbers when objects 
similarly numbered are drawn from a receptacle, and the game being won by the 
person who first covers a previously designated arrangement of numbers on the 
card; 
 
(6) "cabbage classic" means a game of chance where a prize of money is awarded 
for the closest guess of the weight of the winning cabbage at the Giant Cabbage 
Weigh-Off at the Alaska State Fair in Palmer operated and administered by the 
Palmer Rotary Club; 
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(7) "Calcutta pool" means a game of chance where a prize of money is awarded 
from a pool of wagers on a contest of skill limited to amateur and professional 
sporting events, other than horse racing, in the state in which those who wager bid 
at auction for the exclusive right to purchase or wager upon a particular contestant 
or entrant in the event; 
 
(8) "canned salmon classic" means a game of chance where a prize of money is 
awarded to the closest guess of the total number of cases of canned salmon that 
will be packed at the Petersburg salmon canneries during a certain period of time 
and is limited to the canned salmon classic operated and administered by the 
Petersburg Chamber of Commerce, Inc.; 
 
(9) "charitable organization" means an organization, not for pecuniary profit, 
that is operated for the relief of poverty, distress, or other condition of public 
concern in the state; 
 
(10) "civic or service organization" means any branch or lodge or chapter of a 
national or state organization that is a civic or service organization, not for 
pecuniary profit, and authorized by its written constitution, charter, or articles of 
incorporation, or bylaws to engage in a fraternal, civic, or service purpose in the 
state; 
 
(11) "contest of skill" means a contest or game in which prizes are awarded for 
the demonstration of human skills in marksmanship, races, and other athletic 
events; 
 
(12) "crane classic" means a game of chance in which a prize of money is 
awarded for the closest guess of the time of arrival of the first sandhill crane to a 
particular place; 
 
(13) "deep freeze classic" means a game of chance where a prize of money is 
awarded to the closest guess of the date, time, and temperature of the lowest 
temperature recorded at a specific location in the Delta Junction area on the coldest 
day during December through February, inclusive, and is limited to the deep freeze 
classic operated and administered by the Delta Chamber of Commerce; 
 
(14) "department" means the Department of Revenue; 
 
(15) "distribute" means sell, distribute, furnish, or supply; 
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(16) "dog mushers' association" means a civic, service, or charitable organization 
in the state, not for pecuniary profit, formed exclusively to promote interest in the 
breeding and training of dog teams for work or recreational and racing purposes, 
but does not include an organization formed or operated for gaming or gambling 
purposes; 
 
(17) "dog mushers' contest" means a 
 
(A) contest in which prizes are awarded for the correct guess of the racing time of 
a dog team or of team position in the race, including prizes to the race contestants; 
or 
 
(B) a game of chance, conducted by a dog mushers' association, in which a prize of 
money is awarded for the closest guess or guesses of at least three elements of 
uncertainty about a sled dog race that cannot be determined before the 
commencement of the race; of the three elements of uncertainty, one element must 
be identified as the primary determinant of success, with the other two elements 
being used as secondary and tertiary determinants if there are multiple correct 
guesses of the primary determinant; 
 
(18) "educational organization" means a civic, service, or charitable organization 
in the state, not for pecuniary profit, whose primary purpose is educational in 
nature and designed to develop the capabilities of individuals by instruction; 
 
(19) "established village" means an unincorporated community that is in 
 
(A) the unorganized borough and that has 25 or more permanent residents; or 
 
(B) an organized borough, has 25 or more permanent residents; and 
 
(i) is on a road system and is located more than 50 miles outside the boundary 
limits of a unified municipality; or 
 
(ii) is not on a road system and is located more than 15 miles outside the boundary 
limits of a unified municipality; 
 
(20) "fish derby" means a contest in which prizes are awarded for catching fish; 
 
(21) "fraternal organization" means a civic, service, or charitable organization in 
the state, except a college and high school fraternity, not for pecuniary profit, that 
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is a branch or lodge or chapter, of a national or state organization and exists for the 
common business, brotherhood, or other interest of its members; 
 
(22) "fund raiser or consultant" means a person who provides advice or technical 
assistance in support of or concerning the conduct of gaming activities under this 
chapter, whether the person is or is not an employee of a licensee; 
 
(23) "goose classic" means a game of chance where a prize of money is awarded 
for the closest guess of the time of the arrival of the first goose in spring to 
Creamer's Field in Fairbanks or to the Kenai River flats near Kenai and is limited 
to the goose classics operated and administered 
 
(A) jointly or by either the Fairbanks Montessori Association or the Friends of 
Creamer's Field; and 
 
(B) by the Kenai Chamber of Commerce; 
 
(24) "governing body" has the meaning given in AS 29.71.800; 
 
(25) "gross receipts" means receipts from the sale of shares, tickets, or rights 
connected with participation in any activity permitted under this chapter or the 
right to participate, including admission, fee or charge, sale of equipment or 
supplies, and all other miscellaneous receipts; 
 
(26) "ice classic" means a game of chance where a prize of money is awarded for 
the closest guess of the time the ice moves in a body of water or watercourse in the 
state and is limited to the Nenana and Chena ice pools in the same manner as they 
were conducted in 1959 and previous years, a Kuskokwim Ice Classic to be 
operated and administered by Bethel Community Services Foundation, Inc., a 
Kenai River Ice Classic to be operated and administered by the Kenai and Soldotna 
Rotary Clubs jointly or by either the Kenai Rotary Club or the Soldotna Rotary 
Club, a Yukon River Ice Classic to be operated and administered by the City of 
Fort Yukon, an Alaska-Soviet Ice Classic to be operated and administered jointly 
by CAMAI, Inc., and the City of Diomede, a Big Lake Ice Classic to be operated 
and administered by the Houston Junior-Senior High School Booster Club and the 
Big Lake Chamber of Commerce jointly or by either the Houston Junior-Senior 
High School Booster Club or the Big Lake Chamber of Commerce, a McGrath Ice 
Classic to be operated and administered by the Kuskokwim Public Broadcasting 
Company, and the Snow Town Ice Classic to be operated and administered by the 
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Advocates for Victims of Violence, Inc.; 
 
(27) "ideal net" means an amount equal to the total amount of receipts that would 
be received if every individual pull-tab ticket in a series were sold at face value, 
less the prizes to be awarded for that series; 
 
(28) "king salmon classic" means a game of chance where a prize of money is 
awarded for the closest guess of the time of the arrival of the first king salmon of 
the year at a designated spot on the fish ladder in the Douglas Island Pink and 
Chum hatchery at Salmon Creek in Juneau and is limited to the king salmon classic 
operated and administered by the Greater Juneau Chamber of Commerce; 
 
(29) "labor organization" means an organization, not for pecuniary profit, 
constituted wholly or partly to bargain collectively or deal with employers, 
including the state and its political subdivisions, concerning grievances, terms, or 
conditions of employment or other mutual aid or protection in connection with 
employees; 
 
(30) "managerial or supervisory capacity" means that the employee 
 
(A) is responsible for gaming receipts; 
 
(B) has the authority to hire employees or to dismiss or otherwise discipline them; 
 
(C) prepares financial reports required under this chapter; 
 
(D) is responsible for keeping the accounts for activities under this chapter; 
 
(E) is responsible for conducting activities under this chapter, including the 
arranging for locations at which those activities will occur; or 
 
(F) is a fund raiser or a consultant; 
 
(31) "mercury classic" means a game of chance where a prize of money is 
awarded for the closest guess of the time the temperature reaches a certain degree 
and is limited to the 
 
(A) Homer Mercury Classic operated and administered by the Boys and Girls Club 
of the Kenai Peninsula; and 
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(B) mercury classic operated and administered by the Greater Fairbanks Chamber 
of Commerce or jointly, in the discretion of the Greater Fairbanks Chamber of 
Commerce, by the Greater Fairbanks Chamber of Commerce and the Fairbanks 
Convention and Visitors' Bureau; 
 
(32) "net proceeds" means the gross receipts from an authorized activity less the 
fee described in AS 05.15.020(b), the expenses authorized by AS 05.15.160, and 
the prizes awarded at the activity; 
 
(33) "numbers wheel" means any electronic, mechanical, or other device with 
numbers or other figures that are selected randomly and used in a game of chance 
in which the outcome is determined by the number or figure selected by the device; 
not including games in which a hamster or other animal is placed in an enclosure 
with several numbered exit holes and the winner is determined by which hole the 
hamster or other animal exits, or slot machines or other devices that operate by 
insertion of a coin or other object that may entitle the person operating the machine 
to receive a prize by strict dependence on the element of chance; 
 
(34) "operator" means a natural person who, or a municipality or qualified 
organization that, has obtained a license to conduct an activity subject to this 
chapter on behalf of a permittee; 
 
(35) "permittee" means a municipality or a qualified organization that holds a 
valid permit under AS 05.15.100; 
 
(36) "police or fire department and company" means a civic, service, or 
charitable organization in the state, not for pecuniary profit, consisting of members 
of a police department or fire company established by the state or a political 
subdivision of the state; 
 
(37) "political organization" means an organization or club organized under or 
formally affiliated with a political party as defined in AS 15.80.010; 
 
(38) "pull-tab game" means a game of chance where a card, the face of which is 
covered to conceal a number, symbol, or set of symbols, is purchased by the 
participant and where a prize is awarded for a card containing certain numbers or 
symbols designated in advance and at random; 
 
(39) "qualified organization" means a bona fide civic or service organization or a 
bona fide religious, charitable, fraternal, veterans, labor, political, or educational 
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organization, police or fire department and company, dog mushers' association, 
outboard motor association, or fishing derby or nonprofit trade association in the 
state, that operates without profits to its members and that has been in existence 
continually for a period of three years immediately before applying for the license 
or permit; the organization may be a firm, corporation, company, association, or 
partnership; in this paragraph, "fishing derby association" means a civic, service, or 
charitable organization in the state, not for pecuniary profit, whose primary 
purpose is to promote interest in fishing for recreational purposes, but does not 
include an organization formed or operated for gaming or gambling purposes; 
 
(40) "race classic" means a game of chance where prizes are awarded for the 
closest guess or guesses of the official winning times of a human race or races, and 
is limited to the Mt. Marathon Race Classic operated and administered by the 
Seward Chamber of Commerce Convention and Visitors' Bureau; 
 
(41) "raffle and lottery" means the selling of rights to participate and the 
awarding of prizes in a game of chance conducted by the drawing for prizes by lot; 
 
(42) "rain classic" means a game of chance in that a prize is awarded for the 
closest guess of the amount of precipitation that is recorded at a certain location 
during a certain length of time; 
 
(43) "religious organization" means an organization, church, body of 
communicants, or group, not for pecuniary profit, gathered in common 
membership for mutual support and edification in piety, worship, and religious 
observances, or a society, not for pecuniary profit, of individuals united for 
religious purposes at a definite place and that is recognized as a religious 
organization under the federal income tax laws and the selective service law; 
 
(44) "salmon classic" means a game of chance, to be operated and administered by 
the 
 
(A) United Fishermen of Alaska, in which a prize of money is awarded for the 
closest guess of the total number of salmon harvested commercially statewide, as 
determined by the Department of Fish and Game, during a certain period of time; 
 
(B) Seward Chamber of Commerce Convention and Visitors' Bureau, in which 
prizes are awarded for the closest guess or guesses of the weight of the fish 
officially designated winner of the Seward Silver Salmon Derby Classic; 
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(C) Sterling Area Senior Citizens, Inc., in which a prize of money is awarded for 
the closest guess of the total number of sockeye salmon crossing the counter 
operated by the Alaska Department of Fish and Game on the Kenai River as of a 
certain day and time; or 
 
(D) Bristol Bay Native Corporation Education Foundation, in which a prize of 
money is awarded for the closest guess of the total number of salmon harvested 
commercially in the five Bristol Bay commercial fishing districts between June 1 
and September 30, as determined by the Department of Fish and Game; 
 
(45) "series" means a unit of pull-tabs with the same serial number; 
 
(46) "snow classic" means a game of chance in which a prize of money is awarded 
to the closest guess of the total snow accumulation on the ground at a specific 
location on Mount Alyeska on a specific date and time and is limited to the 
Alyeska Snow Classic operated and administered by Four Valleys Community 
School, Inc.; 
 
(47) "snow machine classic" means a  
 
(A) contest in which prizes are awarded for the correct guess of the racing time of 
a snow machine or of the snow machine's position in the race, including prizes to 
the race contestants; or  
 
(B) game of chance where a prize of money is awarded for the closest guess or 
guesses of at least three elements of uncertainty about a snow machine race that 
cannot be determined before the commencement of the race; in this paragraph, 
"race" includes a race solely among snow machines or a race among teams 
consisting of a combination of a person involved in a contest of skill and a snow 
machine; 
 
(48) "vendor" means a business whose primary activity is not regulated by this 
chapter but that 
 
(A) is engaged in the sale of pull-tabs on behalf of a permittee; 
 
(B) holds a business license under AS 43.70; and 
 
(C) is an establishment holding a 
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(i) beverage dispensary license under AS 04.11.090 that has not been designated 
by the Alcoholic Beverage Control Board under AS 04.16.049(a)(2) - (3), has not 
been exempted by the Department of Labor and Workforce Development under AS 
04.16.049(c) and AS 23.10.355, and if the establishment is a hotel, motel, resort, or 
similar business that caters to the traveling public as a substantial part of its 
business, does not allow the sale of pull-tabs in a dining room, banquet room, guest 
room, or other public areas other than a room in which there is regularly 
maintained a fixed counter or service bar at which alcoholic beverages are sold or 
served to members of the public for consumption; 
 
(ii) package store license under AS 04.11.150; 
 
(49) "veterans organization" means a civic, service, or charitable organization in 
the state, or a branch or lodge or chapter of a national or state organization in the 
state, not for pecuniary profit, the membership of which consists of individuals 
who were members of the armed services or forces of the United States or persons 
who served in the Alaska Territorial Guard. 
 
Sec. 05.15.695. Short title.  
This chapter may be cited as the Alaska Gaming Reform Act. 
 
Sec. 05.15.995. [Renumbered as AS 05.15.695].  
Repealed or Renumbered 
 
NOTICE:  
The contents of this document were downloaded from online infobases that are 
unofficial versions of statutes, regulations, and other documents and may contain 
errors or omissions. The information is provided as a convenience to the public. 
The State of Alaska, Alaska State Legislature, and Legislative Affairs Agency 
make no warranty, express or implied, of the accuracy of the information presented 
here. Use of the information is the sole responsibility of the user. For the official 
version of the Alaska Statutes, please refer to the printed version of the Alaska 
Statutes. For the official version of the Alaska Administrative Code or other 
document, please refer to the printed version of the Code or other document. 
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Alaska Administrative Code  
Title 15 Chapter 160 Authorized Games of Chance and Skill 

 

Downloaded 03/09/2015 from http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/folio.asp   

 

NOTICE: 
The contents of this document were downloaded from online infobases that are 
unofficial versions of statutes, regulations, and other documents and may contain 
errors or omissions. The information is provided as a convenience to the public. 
The State of Alaska, Alaska State Legislature, and Legislative Affairs Agency 
make no warranty, express or implied, of the accuracy of the information presented 
here. Use of the information is the sole responsibility of the user. For the official 
version of the Alaska Statutes, please refer to the printed version of the Alaska 
Statutes. For the official version of the Alaska Administrative Code or other 
document, please refer to the printed version of the Code or other document. 
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Chapter 160 
Authorized Games of Chance and Skill 

Article 1 
Permits and Licenses 

 
15 AAC 160.010. Permit required  
 
(a) A municipality or qualified organization that seeks to conduct an activity 
permitted under AS 05.15 shall apply to the department for a permit.  
 
(b) If a suborganization of a parent qualified organization seeks to conduct an 
activity permitted under AS 05.15, the suborganization shall apply to the 
department for its own permit. The suborganization itself must meet the 
requirements of AS 05.15 and this chapter in order to receive a permit; the 
suborganization cannot rely solely on the issuance of a permit to the parent 
qualified organization.  
 
15 AAC 160.020. Permit application  
 
(a) An applicant for a new permit shall submit to the department  
 
(1) a completed original application on a form prescribed by the department;  
 
(2) the annual permit fee required under AS 05.15.020;  
 
(3) if incorporated, a certified copy of the applicant's articles of incorporation;  
 
(4) if a partnership, a copy of the applicant's partnership agreement;  
 
(5) a copy of the applicant's bylaws and copies of the applicant's national and state 
charters, if any; bylaws and charters must contain a dissolution clause that provides 
for the disposition of net proceeds from charitable gaming conducted under this 
chapter to a permittee, other than a multiple-beneficiary permittee;  
 
(6) a certification, to be provided on the application form, that the applicant has at 
least 25 members who are state residents under AS 01.10.055, and a list of at least 
25 names of current members who are certified to be members and state residents, 
including the names of the member in charge and each alternate member in charge; 
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if more than 25 current members are certified to be members and state residents, a 
partial list may be provided if it gives at least 25 names, including the member in 
charge and each alternate member in charge;  
 
(7) if exempt from federal income tax under 26 U.S.C. 501(c), as amended through 
October 24, 1992, an Internal Revenue Service certificate or letter of tax 
exemption; and  
 
(8) documents demonstrating that the applicant has been in existence continually 
for a period of at least three years immediately before the date of application.  
 
(b) An applicant for a renewed permit shall submit to the department  
 
(1) a completed original application on a renewal form prescribed by the 
department;  
 
(2) the annual permit fee required under AS 05.15.020;  
 
(3) if incorporated, a certified copy of the changes to the applicant's articles of 
incorporation since the permit was last issued;  
 
(4) if a partnership, a copy of any changes to the applicant's partnership agreement 
since the permit was last issued;  
 
(5) copies of any changes to the applicant's bylaws, and national and state charters, 
since the permit was last issued;  
 
(6) a certification that the applicant has at least 25 members in this state; and  
 
(7) if exempt from federal income tax under 26 U.S.C. 501(c), as amended through 
October 24, 1992, an Internal Revenue Service certificate or letter of tax 
exemption, if not already submitted to the department under (a) of this section.  
 
(c) An applicant for a permit that is a municipality, school, or university is exempt 
from the requirement to submit the information under (a)(6) or (b)(6) of this 
section.  
 
(d) An applicant for a permit shall retain a copy of an application submitted under 
(a)(1) or (b)(1) of this section for three years after the date that the application is 
submitted to the department.  
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(e) An applicant for a permit, that is not a municipality, shall accomplish the notice 
required under AS 05.15.030(a) by submitting one copy of the application 
submitted under (a)(1) or (b)(1) of this section to the city or borough nearest to 
each location in which the applicant seeks to conduct an activity permitted under 
AS 05.15. If the applicant proposes activity in an area served by both a city and a 
borough, the applicant may choose which of the two will receive notice of the 
application.  
 
15 AAC 160.030. Operator's license application  
 
(a) An applicant for an operator's license shall submit to the department  
 
(1) a completed original application on a form prescribed by the department, 
containing only accurate and complete information; and  
 
(2) proof of liability insurance satisfactory to the department in the amounts 
specified in 15 AAC 160.210 for each location in which the applicant seeks to 
conduct an activity permitted under AS 05.15.  
 
(b) The department may accept lienable property located in the state as a security 
posted under AS 05.15.122(b)(5) if  
 
(1) the applicant is unable to post another form of bond or security satisfactory to 
the department;  
 
(2) repealed 11/10/96;  
 
(3) the applicant's equity in the property  
 
(A) is at least two times the amount specified in AS 05.15.122(b)(5), as shown in a 
current, written valuation appraisal from a certified real estate appraiser authorized 
under AS 08.87, certifying that the property satisfies the conditions of this 
subparagraph; in this subparagraph, "valuation appraisal" has the meaning; given 
in AS 08.87.900; and  
 
(B) and at all times remains at least two times the amounts specified in AS 
05.15.122(b)(5); and  
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(4) for renewal applications filed on or after June 22, 2008, the applicant obtains a 
current, written valuation appraisal every five years from a certified real estate 
appraiser authorized under AS 08.87, certifying that the property satisfies the 
conditions of (3) of this subsection; however, the department may require an 
annual valuation appraisal if the department has reason to believe that the property 
no longer has the value attributed to it by the most recent appraisal on file with the 
department;  
 
in this paragraph, "valuation appraisal" has the meaning given in AS 08.87.900.  
 
(c) As used in AS 05.15 and this chapter, a bond or security is "satisfactory to the 
department" if the bond or security  
 
(1) meets the requirements of AS 05.15.167(a);  
 
(2) will be in effect for two years after the date the operator's license expires; and  
 
(3) if a certificate of deposit, is in the name of the state in trust for the applicant 
and is accompanied by a completed assignment of negotiable instrument form 
prescribed by the department.  
 
(d) An applicant for an operator's license shall retain a copy of the application for 
three years after the date that the application is submitted to the department.  
 
(e) An applicant for an operator's license, that is not a municipality, shall 
accomplish the notice required under AS 05.15.030(a) by submitting one copy of 
the application described under AS 05.15.122(b) to the city or borough nearest to 
each location in which the applicant seeks to conduct an activity permitted under 
AS 05.15. If the applicant proposes activity in an area served by both a city and a 
borough, the applicant may choose which of the two will receive notice of the 
application.  
 
(f) If an applicant is a natural person and seeks reinstatement of an operator's 
license that has been revoked, the applicant must retake the test required by AS 
05.15.122(b). If an applicant is a municipality or qualified organization and seeks 
reinstatement of an operator's license that has been revoked, the applicant must 
designate a municipal employee or member of the organization to retake the test 
required by AS 05.15.122(b), if the designated individual has taken the test before, 
or to take the test, if the designated individual has not taken the test before.  
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(g) A natural person applying for an operator's license, or an individual designated 
under AS 05.15.122(b) by a municipality or qualified organization, must be at least 
21 years of age.  
 
15 AAC 160.040. Pull-tab manufacturer's license application  
An applicant for a pull-tab manufacturer's license under AS 05.15.181 shall submit 
to the department  
(1) a completed original application on a form provided by the department; and  
(2) the fee required under AS 05.15.181(b).  
 
15 AAC 160.050. Pull-tab distributor's license application  
 
(a) An applicant for a pull-tab distributor's license under AS 05.15.183 shall submit 
to the department  
 
(1) a completed original application on a form prescribed by the department; and  
 
(2) the fee required under AS 05.15.183(b). (b) For a new application filed on or 
after June 22, 2008, an applicant for a distributor license must be at least 21 years 
of age.  
 
15 AAC 160.060. Monte Carlo activity permit Repealed.  
 
15 AAC 160.070. Application amendments  
 
(a) If information provided in an original or amended application for a permit, 
registration, or license changes, the applicant, permittee or licensee shall submit to 
the department an amended application that indicates the changed information, and 
request reissuance of the permit, registration, or license, as applicable.  
 
(b) Until the department issues the new permit, registration, or license, the 
permittee or licensee may conduct only those activities allowed under the existing 
permit, registration, or license.  
 
(c) Upon receipt of a reissued permit, registration, or license, the permittee, 
registered vendor, or licensee shall immediately destroy the existing permit, 
registration, or license, or return it to the department.  
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(d) Amended applications under (a) of this section must be filed with the 
department within 10 days after the change and on a form provided by the 
department.  
 
(e) An applicant for a permit or license that amends its application under (a) of this 
section shall immediately provide each notice required under AS 05.15.030.  
 
15 AAC 160.075. Addresses  
 
(a) A permittee, registered vendor, or licensee shall maintain a current mailing 
address on file with the department at all times. The current mailing address on file 
for a permittee, registered vendor, or licensee is the address of the permittee, 
registered vendor, or licensee for official communications, notifications, and 
service of legal process.  
 
(b) A permittee, operator, or distributor shall maintain a current physical address 
on file with the department at all times for each location at which  
 
(1) bingo or pull-tab activities are conducted; or  
 
(2) gaming records are maintained.  
 
15 AAC 160.080. Supplemental information  
If the information submitted on the application required under this chapter is 
incomplete, inconsistent, or leads the department to reasonably believe that a 
violation of AS 05.15 or this chapter has occurred or will occur, if the permit or 
license is issued, the department will, in its discretion, require the applicant to 
submit additional information to complete the investigation or to evaluate the 
application.  
 
15 AAC 160.090. Departmental consideration of local government unit protest  
The department will consider a protest by a local government unit under AS 
05.15.030(a) if the protest is filed with the department within 15 calendar days 
from the date the department receives the application.  
 
15 AAC 160.100. Fingerprints  
 
(a) If in the course of an investigation under AS 05.15 and this chapter the 
department determines that fingerprints are necessary to further the investigation, 
the department will, in its discretion, request a clear set of fingerprints from a 
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member in charge or an alternate member in charge of a permittee, a licensee, a 
registered vendor, or their employees. A person shall submit the fingerprints on a 
form approved by the department within ten days of the request.  
 
(b) The department will, in its discretion, submit fingerprints obtained under (a) of 
this section to the identification division of the Federal Bureau of Investigation and 
to the Department of Public Safety.  
 
15 AAC 160.110. Issuance, renewal, or denial of permit or license  
 
(a) Upon approval of an application and other materials required for a permit or 
license under AS 05.15 and this chapter, the department will issue the permit or 
license. If the applicant does not meet the requirements for a permit or license 
under AS 05.15 and this chapter, the department will deny the permit or license in 
a written notice to the applicant. The department may deny a permit or license for 
the same grounds for which it could be revoked or suspended under AS 05.15 or 
this chapter.  
 
(b) An applicant for a permit or license under AS 05.15 may not conduct an 
activity permitted under AS 05.15 until the permit or license has been issued by the 
department and is posted at the location of the activity in a manner that is clearly 
visible to the public.  
 
(c) A permit or license under AS 05.15 is valid for the calendar year for which it is 
issued unless it is suspended or revoked by the department.  
 
(d) Repealed 9/3/2005.  
 
(e) Repealed 11/10/96.  
 
(f) If a permittee's or an operator's renewal application, annual filing fees, and 
completed tests required under AS 05.15.112 and 05.15.122 are received by the 
division before December 15 of the year before the calendar year for which the 
permit or license is sought, and the renewal application is complete in all 
substantial respects, the department will issue to the permittee or operator a 
temporary permit or license effective January 1 through February 15 of the new 
permit or license year, unless the department has found the same grounds for 
which the permit or license could be revoked or suspended under AS 05.15 or this 
chapter. A temporary multiple-beneficiary permit will apply only to those member 
permittees that were members before the filing of the renewal application. The 
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issuance of a temporary permit or license does not preclude the department from 
denying renewal or taking any other action relative to the suspension or revocation 
of a permit or license as may be authorized by statute or regulation.  
 
(g) Repealed 9/3/2005.  
 
(h) If a permit or license application, other than an application for renewal, is 
denied, the applicant may request an informal conference within 30 days after the 
mailing of the notice of denial. The applicant may request an informal conference 
by filing a brief statement why the person is aggrieved by the denial. After receipt 
of a request for informal conference, the department will apply the procedures of 
15 AAC 05.020, to the extent consistent with this chapter. If the applicant files a 
request for informal conference, and if the informal conference decision upholds 
the denial, an aggrieved applicant may request a formal hearing under 15 AAC 
160.910.  
 
15 AAC 160.120. Transfer of license prohibited  
A license issued under AS 05.15 is not transferable.  
 
15 AAC 160.140. Surrender of license upon suspension or revocation  
If the department suspends or revokes a license, the licensee shall immediately 
surrender the license to the department upon notification of the suspension or 
revocation. A license is not valid beyond the effective date of the suspension or 
revocation, whether surrendered or not to the department, except if under appeal 
with the department.  
 
15 AAC 160.150. Notification of change in name or legal status. Repealed.  
 
15 AAC 160.160. No prorating of fees  
The department will not prorate a permit fee or license fee or license fee paid under 
AS 05.15.  
 
15 AAC 160.170. Refund of fees  
The department will refund a permit or license fee paid under AS 05.15 if  
 
(1) the applicant notifies the department in writing within 10 calendar days from 
receipt of the application by the department that the application is being 
withdrawn; and  
 
(2) at the time of notification, the department has not issued the permit or license.  
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15 AAC 160.180. Deadline for permit or license renewal application Repealed.  

 
Article 2 

Operators 
15 AAC 160.190. Operator's license required  
 
(a) A person, municipality, or qualified organization that conducts gaming for a 
permittee must hold an operator's license under AS 05.15.122, except as provided 
in (b) of this section.  
 
(b) A person is not required to hold an operator's license to  
 
(1) work in gaming as an employee of a licensed operator or registered vendor;  
 
(2) work in gaming as an employee or a volunteer for a permittee, if the person 
does not work as a manager of gaming for more than one gaming entity in a 
calendar year, whether a permittee or multiple-beneficiary permittee;  
 
(3) sell pull-tabs as a registered vendor with an endorsement issued under AS 
05.15.188(b); or  
 
(4) sell raffle, classics, dog mushers contest, or fish derby tickets on behalf of a 
permittee, if the person does not promote, pay expenses for, or otherwise conduct 
the raffle.  
 
(c) A person is an employee of a permittee, operator, or registered vendor if  
 
(1) the person's compensation is subject to income tax withholding by the 
permittee, operator, or registered vendor under federal law;  
 
(2) the wages, indirect compensation, or gifts received by the person from the 
permittee, operator, or registered vendor are not directly related to the gross 
receipts or profitability of a specific gaming activity; and  
 
(3) the person has no financial interest in any property sold, leased, or rented to the 
permittee, operator, or registered vendor for use in conducting gaming activity.  
 
15 AAC 160.200. Change of operator bond or security  
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If the department determines that the licensee's bond or security posted no longer 
meets the requirements of AS 05.15.122, AS 05.15.167, and this chapter, the 
department will require a licensee to change the form of bond or security posted to 
meet those requirements.  
 
15 AAC 160.210. Minimum insurance coverage for operators 
(a) For purposes of AS 05.15.122(b)(4), an operator's liability insurance is 
satisfactory to the department if it is in the amount of $100,000 per person and 
$300,000 per occurrence for each location where the operator conducts an activity 
permitted under AS 05.15.  
(b) An operator shall immediately notify the department in writing if the operator's 
insurance expires or is discontinued for any reason.  
 
15 AAC 160.220. Contracts with permittees  
 
(a) In addition to complying with AS 05.15.115, a contract between an operator 
and an authorizing permittee must include  
 
(1) a termination clause that allows the permittee or operator to terminate the 
contract upon 30 days notice in writing;  
 
(2) to the extent known at the time the contract is executed, a detailed listing of the 
rental costs for (A) facilities by location; and (B) equipment by location;  
 
(3) the amount of the operator fee;  
 
(4) the name and address of the primary member in charge and alternate member in 
charge; and  
 
(5) the length of time the primary member in charge and the alternate member in 
charge have been,  
 
(A) if a qualified organization, a member of the organization or the board of 
directors; or  
 
(B) if a municipality, an employee of the municipality.  
 
(b) A permittee or an operator shall submit a signed copy of the contract to the 
department at least 15 days before the planned commencement of gaming activities 
under AS 05.15 and this chapter.  
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(c) If a permittee or an operator terminates a contract, the permittee and the 
operator shall each immediately notify the department in writing of the effective 
date of the termination of the contract. Upon approval by the department, if a 
permittee terminates a contract with an operator for non-use of the permit, and 
shows that the operator did not conduct activity under AS 05.15 for the permittee 
in the current calendar year, the permittee's prize limits under AS 05.15.180(g) and 
15 AAC 160.600(a) are not reduced.  
 
(d) Approval of a contract by the department under AS 05.15.115 constitutes 
approval as to the form required under AS 05.15.115 and this section only.  
 
(e) Repealed 1/1/2003.  
 
(f) An operator may not contract with a multiple-beneficiary permittee.  
 
15 AAC 160.230. Operator rental and wage costs  
An operator shall separately account for the cost of rental of premises and the cost 
of the wages of the operator's employees in reports filed under AS 05.15.083 or 
05.15.087.  
 
15 AAC 160.240. Operator's daily summary of activity  
An operator's daily summary of activity required under AS 05.15.087(a) must 
include a daily accounting of the  
 
(1) amount of gross receipts, the value of prizes awarded, and the expenses at each 
location for each gaming activity conducted during the day on behalf of the 
permittee;  
 
(2) gross receipts and the value of prizes awarded for each pull-tab series 
conducted during the day;  
 
(3) date that each pull-tab series conducted during the day was first put into play; 
and  
 
(4) serial number of each pull-tab series withdrawn from sale during the day.  
 
15 AAC 160.250. Operator's monthly report to permittee  
An operator's monthly report required under AS 05.15.087(a) must include a 
monthly accounting of the  
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(1) amount of gross receipts;  
 
(2) value of prizes awarded;  
 
(3) total expenses;  
 
(4) expenses allowable under AS 05.15.160(a)(2)(B); and  
 
(5) net proceeds at each location for each gaming activity conducted during the 
month on behalf of the authorizing permittee.  
 
15 AAC 160.260. Operator expenses Repealed.  
 
15 AAC 160.270. Operator payment to permittee  
 
(a) An operator shall pay annually to an authorizing permittee at least  
 
(1) 30 percent of the adjusted gross income, as determined under AS 
05.15.128(a)(1), from pull-tab activity conducted on behalf of the authorizing 
permittee; and  
 
(2) 10 percent of the adjusted gross income, as determined under AS 
05.15.128(a)(1), from a gaming activity other than pull-tab activity conducted on 
behalf of the authorizing permittee.  
 
(b) In determining the amount of the payments required under (a) of this section, 
net income or losses from one gaming activity conducted by an operator on behalf 
of a permittee may not be combined with a net income or losses from another 
gaming activity.  
 
(c) In determining gross income, adjusted gross income, or net proceeds under AS 
05.15 and this chapter, losses from bad checks, uncollectible debts, or employee 
theft or fraud may not be charged by the operator to activities conducted under AS 
05.15 and this chapter to calculate payment due a permittee.  
 
15 AAC 160.290. Operator reports to the department  
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(a) The quarterly report required under AS 05.15.083(a) must be on a form 
provided by the department and the report must include, for each authorizing 
permittee on whose behalf gaming activity was conducted during the quarter,  
 
(1) the amount of gross receipts for each gaming activity;  
 
(2) the value of prizes awarded for each gaming activity;  
 
(3) the total value of prizes including donations;  
 
(4) the amount of municipal, state, and federal taxes paid; 
 
(5) the adjusted gross income;  
 
(6) the expenses under AS 05.15.160(a);  
 
(7) the total net proceeds;  
 
(8) other information required by AS 05.15.083(a); and  
 
(9) additional information that the department determines to be necessary to 
determine the amount of proceeds due the permittee.  
 
(b) The annual report required under AS 05.15.083(b) must be on a form provided 
by the department. The report must include, for each authorizing permittee on 
whose behalf gaming activity was conducted during the year,  
 
(1) the amount of gross receipts for each gaming activity;  
 
(2) the value of prizes awarded for each gaming activity; 
 
(3) the expenses under AS 05.15.160(a);  
 
(4) the amount of net proceeds for each gaming activity;  
 
(5) other information required by AS 05.15.083(b); and 
 
(6) additional information that the department determines to be necessary to 
determine the amount of proceeds due the permittee.  
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15 AAC 160.300. Ownership of gaming items  
 
(a) If an operator purchases a gaming item and charges it as an expense to an 
authorizing permittee, the gaming item becomes the property of the permittee at 
the time of purchase.  
 
(b) If an operator ceases conducting gaming activity on behalf of an authorizing 
permittee, the operator shall immediately return all gaming items owned by the 
permittee to the permittee.  
 
(c) As used in this section, "gaming item" includes pull-tabs, equipment, supplies, 
and other items purchased in connection with gaming activity.  
 
15 AAC 160.310. Review of financial records  
 
(a) The review of an operator's financial records required under AS 05.15.165(e) 
must be performed by a certified public accountant licensed under AS 08.04. 
Multiple-beneficiary permittees authorized under AS 05.15.145 are subject to the 
same reporting requirements as operators under this section.  
 
(b) An operator or a multiple-beneficiary permittee shall have prepared financial 
statements that present financial position, results of operations and cash flows of 
the gaming operations, and notes to the financial statements in accordance with 
generally accepted accounting principles.  
 
(c) In addition to the financial statements required by (b) of this section, 
information required in (d) and (e) of this section shall be presented in either the 
notes to the financial statements or as supplementary information as appropriate. In 
formation presented as supplementary information shall be subjected to the inquiry 
and analytical procedures applied in the review of the basic financial statements.  
 
(d) Notes to the financial statements in (c) of this section must include the 
following disclosures: 
 
(1) method of calculating adjusted gross income;  
 
(2) inventory method concerning bingo and pull-tab supplies and opened and 
unopened series of pull-tabs.  
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(e) Supplementary information in (c) of this section must include the following 
material:  
 
(1) explanation of differences, if any, in methods of financial reporting and reports 
prepared for this state and the permittees, and reconciliation of any differences in 
the statement of operations and annual report required under AS 05.15.083(b);  
 
(2) itemized schedule by the permittee showing gross receipts, prizes, taxes, 
adjusted gross income, payments of net proceeds, and authorized expenses 
excluding operator fees;  
 
(3) itemized schedule of authorized game related expenses, if not itemized 
separately in the statement of operations, or in the schedule under (2) of this 
subsection.  
 
15 AAC 160.320. Demand upon bond or security  
Except if under appeal with the department, the department will make demand on a 
bond or security if an operator refuses to pay an amount due to the department, 
including taxes, fees, penalties, and interest, or if after demand by an authorizing 
permittee, an operator refuses to pay otherwise undisputed net proceeds due to the 
authorizing permittee, the department will make demand on the bond or security 
posted by the operator under AS 05.15.122(b)(5).  
 
15 AAC 160.330. Release of bond or security 
 
(a) If the department determines that the requirements of (b) of this section have 
been met and two years have passed since the final day the operator conducted 
gaming activity on behalf of an authorized permittee, the department will release 
the remainder of a bond or security posted under AS 05.15.122(b)(5) in the 
following situations:  
 
(1) the operator's license expired or was denied, suspended, or revoked;  
 
(2) the operator has requested in writing to the department to release the bond or 
security.  
 
(b) Before the department releases a bond or security under (a) of this section, the 
department must first determine that  
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(1) the operator has filed all reports due under AS 05.15.083, 05.15.087, and 
05.15.165(e) and has paid all amounts due the state under AS 05.15; and  
 
(2) repealed 11/10/96;  
 
(3) a claim has not been filed in a court by a permittee against the bond.  
 
(c) The department will, in its discretion, waive the two-year requirement in (a) of 
this section if each authorizing permittee covered by the bond or security certifies 
in writing that the permittee is not 
 
(1) due any net proceeds from the operator; and  
 
(2) aware of any violations of AS 05.15 or this chapter by the operator that have 
not previously been reported to the department.  

 
Article 3 
Vendors 

15 AAC 160.340. Vendor contracts  
 
(a) If a permittee enters into a contract described under AS 05.15.188, the 
permittee shall submit a copy of the contract to the department for inspection as 
allowed under AS 05.15.188(f).  
 
(b) In addition to the requirements under AS 05.15.188, a contract between a 
permittee and a vendor must contain  
 
(1) the beverage dispensary license number or package store license number of the 
vendor;  
 
(2) a means for determining the amount of compensation to be paid to the vendor 
under AS 05.15.188(i);  
 
(3) a plan for disposing of the pull-tab series if the permittee or the vendor is 
prohibited from selling pull-tabs; and (4) a method for handling receipts for prizes 
required under AS 05.15.187(i).  
 
15 AAC 160.350. Registered vendor compensation  
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(a) A permittee may not pay, and a registered vendor may not accept permittee 
payment of, any expense incurred by the registered vendor that would cause the 
permittee to receive, in violation of AS 05.15.188, less than 70 percent of the ideal 
net of a pull-tab game sold to the vendor. A permittee may not engage in a sales 
transaction under AS 05.15 or this chapter with a person, whether licensed or not, 
who sells or provides gaming supplies or equipment to a third party, if the same 
sale made directly to the third party would result in a prohibited conflict of interest 
under AS 05.15 or this chapter.  
 
(b) A registered vendor may not participate in a purchase inducement program 
prohibited by 15 AAC 160.942 or accept, as a gift, as a loan, or for rent at less than 
fair market value, a pull-tab point-of-sale system or pull-tab dispensing device 
from a third party, or from a distributor who supplies pull-tab games for a 
permittee for which the registered vendor sells pull-tab games. A registered vendor 
may not purchase, rent, or otherwise receive a pull-tab point-of-sale system or pull-
tab dispensing device from a permittee even if the registered vendor provides fair 
market value for the system or device.  
 
(c) A permittee may sell pull-tabs in premises that otherwise qualify as a vendor 
location, without the business in that premises becoming a registered vendor, and 
without the permittee receiving the payment required under AS 05.15.188(i) for 
any pull-tab series that the permittee sells, if  
 
(1) the business is not paid or provided compensation other than lease payments;  
 
(2) the lease is executed in accordance with 15 AAC 160.935(c);  
 
(3) lease payments do not exceed the amount calculated under 15 AAC 
160.935(c)(2);  
 
(4) the sale of pull-tabs is conducted in a space separate and distinct from any area 
where alcoholic beverages are stored or dispensed;  
 
(5) the sale of pull-tabs is conducted by employees or volunteers of the permittee; 
and  
 
(6) the department has issued a permit for that location.  
 
15 AAC 160.360. Vendor sales areas  
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A vendor may sell pull-tabs only in an area of an establishment that excludes a 
person under the age of 21 years unless the person is accompanied by a parent, 
guardian, or spouse who has attained the age of 21 years.  

 
Article 4 

Multiple-Beneficiary Permits and Self-Directed Permits 
15 AAC 160.361. Multiple-beneficiary permits  
 
(a) A municipality or qualified organization must obtain a permit under AS 
05.15.020 before applying to become a member of a multiple-beneficiary 
permittee.  
 
(b) A multiple-beneficiary permittee with fewer than six members may add an 
additional member by filing an amended application with the department, if the 
addition of the new member does not result in the multiple-beneficiary permit 
cumulatively having more than six members in a calendar year.  
 
(c) An application for a multiple-beneficiary permit must include a copy of the 
joint venture agreement among the members, including the percentage of 
participation in gross receipts for each member.  
 
(d) A multiple-beneficiary permittee shall allocate taxes, prizes, and expenses in 
the proportion that it allocates gross receipts among its members, but no member 
may be allocated a sales tax liability for sales that were not subject to a sales tax.  
 
(e) A multiple-beneficiary permittee may allocate gross receipts, taxes, prizes or 
expenses to a new member only from the date that the department approves the 
addition of the new member.  
 
(f) A multiple-beneficiary permittee may not allocate to an individual member 
permittee more than the annual prize limit for a municipality or qualified 
organization under AS 05.15.180(g) or 15 AAC 160.600(a).  
 
(g) A multiple-beneficiary permittee shall pay net proceeds to its member 
permittees on a quarterly basis no later than the end of the month following the end 
of each calendar quarter.  
 
(h) A multiple-beneficiary permittee may not spend or otherwise dedicate net 
proceeds except to distribute the net proceeds to its member permittees.  
 

Page 58 of 187  Go to Index 
 

http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/aac.asp%2315.160%20article4


(i) A multiple-beneficiary permittee or its member permittees may not sublease 
gaming facilities to another multiple-beneficiary permittee or its member 
permittees at a price higher than that paid by the multiple-beneficiary permittee.  
 
(j) The results of an action taken against a multiple-beneficiary permittee shall 
apply to the individual permits of those members of the multiple-beneficiary 
permittee who were members at the time of the violation that was the subject of the 
action.  
 
(k) The department shall notify the primary member in charge of a multiple-
beneficiary permittee regarding a violation by one of its member permittees of AS 
05.15 or this chapter.  
 
(l) Individual members of the multiple-beneficiary permittee shall jointly file the 
annual certified public accountant review required by 15 AAC 160.310(a).  
 
(m) Each member of a multiple-beneficiary permittee must be actively involved in 
the gaming activities conducted by the multiple-beneficiary permittee, including 
management oversight, policy setting, and authorization of expenditures.  
 
(n) A multiple-beneficiary permittee may not contract with an operator.  
 
15 AAC 160.363. Contributions, loans, and gifts  
 
(a) For use in gaming, an entity that conducts gaming under a self-directed permit 
may  
 
(1) make a capital contribution from a non-gaming source; and  
 
(2) secure a loan or accept a gift that is not from a gaming source or from a person 
or entity that is not prohibited from participating in gaming under AS 05.15.105.  
 
(b) A member of a multiple-beneficiary permittee may make a capital contribution 
or loan from a non-gaming source to the multiple-beneficiary permittee.  
 
(c) A multiple-beneficiary permittee may  
 
(1) accept a capital contribution of non-gaming funds from a member;  
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(2) secure a loan or accept a gift that is not from a gaming source or from a person 
or entity that is not prohibited from participating in gaming under AS 05.15.105.  
 
(d) A multiple-beneficiary permittee must notify the department within 10 days 
after the receipt of a capital contribution from a non-gaming source. The notice 
must include the name of the contributor, the amount of the contribution, and the 
date of the contribution.  
 
(e) Except for a loan from a financial institution or a similar entity engaged in the 
business of making loans, a loan in any amount  
 
(1) must be set out in a written loan agreement provided to the department; and  
 
(2) may not provide for interest in excess of five percentage points above the 
annual rate charged member banks for advances by the 12th Federal Reserve 
District on the day that the loan commitment is made.  
 
(f) A permittee or multiple-beneficiary permittee shall notify the department within 
10 days of the receipt of a gift, other than a donated prize with a value less than 
$1,000, for use in gaming. The notice must include the name of the donor, a 
description of the gift, the amount or fair market value of the gift, and a statement 
signed and dated by the donor that the gift is irrevocable.  
 
(g) The use of proceeds from a contribution, loan, or gift to purchase assets or to 
pay for gaming expenses does not change the accounting required by this chapter 
for gross receipts and expenses of gaming activities. The use of a contribution, gift, 
or loan to make the requirement for dedication of net proceeds has no effect in the 
determination of whether the limitation of AS 05.15.160 on expenses or the 
limitation of AS 05.15 and this chapter on prizes has been exceeded.  
 
15 AAC 160.365. Manager of gaming  
 
(a) A multiple-beneficiary permittee, and a permittee that engages in pull-tab sales 
or bingo under a self-directed permit, must designate the person who is its manager 
of gaming as defined in 15 AAC 160.995, and must notify the department within 
10 days of a designation of a new manager of gaming.  
 
(b) Unless the presumption is rebutted by other evidence, an employee of a 
multiple-beneficiary permittee or a permittee is presumed to be a manager of 
gaming if the employee is exempt from AS 23.10.050 - 23.10.150 (Alaska Wage 
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and Hour Act) under AS 23.10.055(9) for reasons other than being a salesman. A 
multiple-beneficiary permittee's or a permittee's designation of a person as its 
manager of gaming does not prevent the department from finding a different 
person to be the actual manager of gaming for the permittee.  
 
(c) In determining who the manager of gaming is, the department will consider the 
totality of the circumstances, including the person's compensation from all gaming 
sources, and whether the person is an employee, makes policy, reports to the board 
of directors, reports to or interacts with the department, acts in a managerial or 
supervisory capacity, or supervises or evaluates employees who act in a managerial 
or supervisory capacity.  

 
Article 5 

Pull-Tab Games 
15 AAC 160.370. Pull-tab manufacture  
 
(a) Subject to AS 05.15, a pull-tab manufactured, sold, or distributed in the state 
must comply with the  
 
(1) Standards on Pull-Tabs of the North American Gaming Regulators Association, 
as amended as of October 20, 1998 and adopted by reference; and  
 
(2) Pull-Tab Record-Keeping and Reporting Standards of the North American 
Gaming Regulators Association, dated May 11, 1994 and adopted by reference.  
 
(b) Except as provided under (a) of this section, a pull-tab manufactured, sold, or 
distributed in the state must  
 
(1) be manufactured so that it is impossible to identify whether it is a winning or 
losing pull-tab until it has been played by a player as intended:  
 
(2) be manufactured using at least a two-ply paper stock construction so that the 
pull-tab is opaque;  
 
(3) have an individual serial number and the name of the manufacturer 
conspicuously printed on the face or cover of the pull-tab; and  
 
(4) display to the player how to open the pull-tab to determine the winning 
symbols or numbers.  
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(c) Each pull-tab within a pull-tab series must  
 
(1) be of the same length, width, and thickness, not varying by more than 3/64 of 
an inch in any dimension; and  
 
(2) be color coded if an individual serial number is repeated.  
 
(d) A licensed pull-tab manufacturer shall establish its own method of game 
protection that allows the manufacturer and the department to determine, after the 
pull-tab has been played, the difference between an authentic winning pull-tab and 
a non-winning, altered, or forged pull-tab. The manufacturer shall submit to the 
department a letter explaining the method of game protection used and shall inform 
the department of any changes in its method of game protection.  
 
15 AAC 160.380. Pull-tab series assembly, packaging, and flare cards  
 
(a) A licensed pull-tab manufacturer shall assemble and package a pull-tab series 
so that a winning pull-tab or the approximate location of a winning pull-tab cannot 
be determined before the pull-tab has been played by a player.  
 
(b) A winning pull-tab must be distributed randomly among all other pull-tabs in 
its series.  
 
(c) A pull-tab series must be packaged and clearly marked on the outside with the 
name of the licensed pull-tab manufacturer, the pull-tab serial number, and the 
name of the pull-tab game.  
 
(d) If a pull-tab series is packaged in more than one container, the entire series of 
individual pull-tabs must be thoroughly mixed and distributed evenly among the 
containers so that a winning pull-tab, the approximate location of a winning pull-
tab, or a concentration of winning pull-tabs cannot be determined before the pull-
tab has been played by a player.  
 
(e) With each pull-tab series, and except as provided in  
 
(f) of this section, a pull-tab manufacturer shall include a flare card containing  
 
(1) the name or registered trademark of the manufacturer;  
 
(2) the name of the pull-tab series;  
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(3) the serial number of the pull-tab series;  
 
(4) the number of pull-tabs in the series;  
 
(5) the prize structure, including the number of winning pull-tabs in the series for 
each prize;  
 
(6) the winning symbols or numbers for each prize in the series; and  
 
(7) the price per pull-tab.  
 
(f) A pull-tab manufacturer may have a seal card serve as a flare card in a pull-tab 
series, if the seal card meets the requirements of (e) of this section, 15 AAC 
160.400, and 15 AAC 160.410 for a flare card.  
 
15 AAC 160.390. Failure to comply  
The department will refuse to allow a pull-tab series to be manufactured, sold, or 
distributed in the state if the series does not comply with AS 05.15 or this chapter, 
including the standards on pull-tabs of the North American Gaming Regulators 
Association, as amended from time to time.  
 
15 AAC 160.400. State identification stamps  
 
(a) The department will issue to a licensed pull-tab manufacturer a set of state 
identification stamps, imprinted with the same unique state identification number, 
to be used for identifying and tracking the sale and distribution of a series of pull-
tabs.  
 
(b) If a pull-tab series is available to the public for play, the accompanying flare 
card containing the state identification stamp must be displayed so that the flare 
card and state identification stamp are clearly visible to the gaming public. The 
flare card and state identification stamp must be displayed at all times while the 
pull-tab series is available to the public for play and must be removed when the 
series has been played out or removed from play for any reason.  
 
15 AAC 160.410. Manufacturer distribution  
 
(a) A licensed pull-tab manufacturer may distribute only those pull-tabs in this 
state that the manufacturer designed, constructed, assembled, and packaged.  
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(b) A licensed pull-tab manufacturer may not distribute a pull-tab series in this 
state to a licensed pull-tab distributor unless the manufacturer has  
 
(1) affixed a state identification stamp on the face of the flare card accompanying 
the series of pull-tabs;  
 
(2) included with the pull-tab series the remaining state identification labels from 
the set for use by the permittee, distributor, or operator, in accordance with other 
provisions of this chapter; and  
 
(3) recorded the state identification number as required under this chapter.  
 
(c) Repealed 6/22/2008.  
 
(d) A licensed pull-tab manufacturer shall affix a packing slip outside of a 
shipment of pull-tabs to be shipped in this state. The packing slip must contain  
 
(1) the name of the licensed pull-tab manufacturer;  
 
(2) the pull-tab serial number;  
 
(3) the date of packaging of the series;  
 
(4) the name or identification of the person who packaged the shipment; and  
 
(5) the state identification number.  
 
15 AAC 160.420. Distributor distribution  
 
(a) A pull-tab series distributed in this state by a licensed pull-tab distributor must 
be accompanied by a written invoice. The invoice must include the  
 
(1) name and form number of the series;  
 
(2) pull-tab serial number;  
 
(3) state identification stamp number;  
 
(4) distribution date;  
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(5) name and permit number or license number of the permittee, operator, or 
distributor who purchased the series;  
 
(6) amount charged for the series;  
 
(7) face amount of any coins or currency included with the series; and  
 
(8) amount of pull-tab tax required under AS 05.15.184, except when an invoice is 
from one distributor to another distributor.  
 
(b) A distributor may not distribute a pull-tab series unless the distributor has 
included with the pull-tab series the state identification stamps.  
 
(c) A distributor must track the pull-tab games distributed and account for all pull-
tab games purchased, sold, and in inventory. The inventory data maintained by the 
distributor must include the manufacturer's serial number, state identification 
stamp number, description, and form number. The distributor must explain any 
discrepancy or unaccounted pull-tab games.  
 
15 AAC 160.430. Manufacturer's monthly report  
The monthly report required under AS 05.15.181(e) must be submitted on a form 
provided by the department. The monthly report must include the following 
information for each pull-tab series distributed in this state by the licensed pull-tab 
manufacturer since the last required monthly report:  
 
(1) the name and form number of the series;  
 
(2) the pull-tab serial number;  
 
(3) the state identification number; 
 
(4) the name of the licensed pull-tab distributor to whom the series was distributed.  
 
15 AAC 160.440. Distributor's monthly report  
 
(a) The monthly report required under AS 05.15.183(d) must be submitted on a 
form provided by the department. The monthly report must include the following 
information for each pull-tab series distributed by the licensed pull-tab distributor 
since the last required monthly report:  
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(1) the name and form number of the series;  
 
(2) the pull-tab serial number;  
 
(3) the state identification number;  
 
(4) the distribution date;  
 
(5) the name of the manufacturer;  
 
(6) the price per pull-tab;  
 
(7) the pull-tab count;  
 
(8) the expected gross pay out of prizes;  
 
(9) the ideal net;  
 
(10) the name of the permittee, operator, or licensed pull-tab distributor to whom 
the pull-tab series was distributed;  
 
(11) repealed 1/1/2003;  
 
(12) repealed 1/1/2003.  
 
(b) A distributor shall maintain for three years immediately following the end of 
the calendar year of the sale a record of the price that the permittee or operator paid 
for each pull-tab series distributed. The distributor is not required to include this 
information in the monthly report made under AS 05.15.183(d), but must provide it 
to the department upon request.  
 
15 AAC 160.450. Payment for pull-tabs  
Within 30 days of actual delivery of a pull-tab series to a permittee, an operator on 
behalf of a permittee, or a receiving pull-tab distributor, the permittee, operator, or 
receiving distributor shall pay to the distributing distributor the full purchase price 
by check made payable to the distributing distributor.  
 
15 AAC 160.460. Pull-tab tax  
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(a) The pull-tab tax required under AS 05.15.184 must be collected and paid to the 
department by the licensed pull-tab distributor that first distributes the pull-tab 
series to a permittee or an operator on behalf of a permittee.  
(b) At the time the licensed pull-tab distributor files the monthly report required 
under AS 05.15.183(d), the distributor shall pay to the department the pull-tab tax 
required under AS 05.15.184 that the distributor collected or should have collected 
since the date the distributor filed its last monthly report.  
 
(c) The pull-tab tax required by AS 05.15.184 shall be calculated on the ideal net 
of a pull-tab series, as established by the manufacturer, and exclusive of any 
additional prize that a permittee or operator may award for the last pull-tab sold in 
a series. A distributor may not add a prize to a pull-tab series for the last pull-tab 
sold from that series. Any prize awarded by a permittee or an operator for the last 
pull-tab sold, that is not included in the prize structure for the game as 
manufactured, when combined with the prize total for that pull-tab, if any, may not 
exceed the $500 limit in 15 AAC 160.480(a)(3), and any prize for the last pull-tab 
sold in a series must be reduced appropriately if the aggregate total would exceed 
$500.  
 
15 AAC 160.470. Pull-tab games  
 
(a) The sales price for a pull-tab may not exceed $2.  
 
(b) A permittee, operator, or registered vendor may not sell a pull-tab that is 
marked, defaced, tampered with, in a condition that may deceive the gaming 
public, or in a condition that affects the chances of the gaming public winning or 
losing on that pull-tab. To protect the best interests of the public, a pull-tab series 
with a prize for the last pull-tab sold may not be combined with another series, 
even though the combination might be generally allowable under AS 05.15.187(c).  
 
(c) Unless included in the definition of "cash prize" in 15 AAC 160.995, a  
 
(1) pull-tab prize of $50 or more shall be paid only by cash or check; and  
 
(2) non-cash item may not be awarded as a prize in a pull-tab game.  
 
(d) A pull-tab prize of less than $50 may be traded for other pull-tabs, but must be 
accounted as a cash prize when preparing a report required under AS 05.15 or this 
chapter.  
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(e) A pull-tab series conducted under one permit may not be  
 
(1) combined with a pull-tab series conducted under another permit; or  
 
(2) transferred to another permit.  
 
(f) A mechanical or electronic device may not be used to select the symbols or 
numbers used to determine the winners of a pull-tab game.  
 
(g) Pull-tabs may not be sold to the public from the original packing box or 
container unless the container has been designed for retail sales, and the pull-tabs 
have been properly mixed.  
 
(h) A permittee, operator, or registered vendor shall verify the identity of the 
individual redeeming winning pull-tabs of $50 or more.  
 
(i) A permittee, operator, or registered vendor shall deface or punch all winning 
pull-tabs of $50 or more immediately after redemption.  
 
(j) To close a pull-tab series, a permittee or operator may  
 
(1) use pull-tabs from the series as door prizes;  
 
(2) sell pull-tabs from the series at a discount; or 
 
(3) offer a prize for the last pull-tab sold in the series.  
 
(k) A permittee, operator, or registered vendor may not sell pull-tabs to an 
employee, an officer, a director, a member in charge, an alternate member in 
charge, a manager of gaming, a person who has access to pull-tab game 
information or accounting records, or a related party. For purposes of this 
subsection, a related party includes a direct relative or an affiliate of a person 
regulated by this chapter.  
 
(l) A permittee, operator, or registered vendor may use a pull-tab dispensing 
device, with prior approval from the department, to dispense pull-tab games, but 
shall prohibit players from having direct access to the device.  
 
(m) Unclaimed coins in a coin board must be awarded to the player who buys the 
last ticket to close out the game, and house rules must govern distribution of any 
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prize behind an unclaimed coin that is awarded to the buyer of the last ticket. The 
winner of an unclaimed prize in a seal card must be determined from the players in 
the seal card game under house rules. Any prize or aggregation of prizes awarded 
under this subsection is subject to the limitation set out in 15 AAC 160.480(a)(3).  
 
(n) For purposes of 15 AAC 160.480(a)(3), a coin in a coin board is valued at face 
value.  
 
(o) A player may not have any contact with a pull-tab contained in a jar, container, 
or dispensing device until the permittee, operator, or registered vendor has sold and 
provided the pull-tab to the player.  
 
15 AAC 160.480. Limitation on pull-tab sales  
 
(a) A pull-tab may not be sold in this state if  
 
(1) the pull-tab series does not contain the entire prize structure;  
 
(2) the prize structure of the pull-tab series is available at more than one location; 
or  
 
(3) any prize or the prizes in aggregate on a single pull-tab in the pull-tab series 
exceed $500. 
 
(b) A person must be 21 years of age or older to sell, purchase, or play a pull-tab.  
 
(c) A person may not knowingly sell a pull-tab to a drunken person, as defined in 
AS 04.21.080.  
 
(d) Repealed 11/10/96.  
 
15 AAC 160.490. Withdrawal and destruction of pull-tab series  
A pull-tab series must be withdrawn from sales if  
 
(1) the permittee's prize award limitation, as identified in AS 05.15.180(g), has 
been reached for the calendar year; if the permittee is authorized to conduct pull-
tab activities during the next calendar year, play of the withdrawn pull-tab series 
must be resumed when the new permit is received or at the beginning of the next 
calendar year, whichever is later;  
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(2) the operator stops conducting gaming activity under one permit and begins 
conducting gaming activity under another permit; if the operator resumes 
conducting gaming activities under the first permit, the withdrawn pull-tab must be 
returned to play immediately;  
 
(3) the permittee terminates its contract with the operator; immediately following 
the date on which the permittee terminates its contract with the operator, the 
operator shall inventory the pull-tab series and return it, with the state 
identification stamps, to the permittee; if the permittee or the permittee's new 
operator resumes pull-tab activities, the withdrawn pull-tab series must be returned 
to play immediately;  
 
(4) the pull-tabs are lost, stolen, or damaged, as long as the permittee or the 
operator submits the circumstances of the incident and subsequent withdrawal to 
the department in writing within ten days of the incident;  
 
(5) the permittee discontinues pull-tab activity; all pull-tabs open for sale and in the 
possession of the permittee or the operator must be immediately withdrawn and 
destroyed under department supervision unless the department directs otherwise;  
 
(6) the permittee's permit is suspended, revoked, or not renewed; all pull-tabs open 
for sale and still in the possession of the permittee or the operator must be 
immediately withdrawn and destroyed under department supervision unless the 
department directs otherwise;  
 
(7) the department approves the withdrawal after receiving a written request from 
the permittee and determining that approval is necessary to protect the best interest 
of the public; the department will direct the permittee in handling the pull-tab 
series; or  
 
(8) a manufacturing defect exists in the pull-tab series and the notice requirement 
under AS 05.15.187(d) is met within 10 days of discovery of the defect; the 
department will direct the disposition of the pull-tab series.  

 
Article 6 

Bingo 
15 AAC 160.500. Alcohol access and employee play prohibited  
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(a) A bingo game may not be conducted under a permit in a room, enclosure, or 
outdoor area where alcoholic beverages are sold, served, or consumed during the 
process of the bingo game.  
 
(b) A permittee or operator may adopt house rules that prohibit an employee from 
playing a game of bingo. The caller of a bingo game may not play a game of bingo 
conducted by the permittee at the location where the caller is working.  
 
15 AAC 160.510. Bingo card sales  
 
(a) A permittee or an operator shall establish the price for each bingo card, set of 
bingo cards, or packet of bingo cards before the start of sales for a bingo game or 
session. A bingo card, set of bingo cards, or packet of bingo cards may not be 
provided to a player for free, on credit, or at a discount, and the same price per 
card, whether paper or electronic, must be charged to all players.  
 
(b) A bingo card must be sold at the location of the bingo game where it is to be 
played. The bingo card must be sold during or immediately before the session for 
which the bingo card is sold. A bingo card may not be sold if the sale allows a 
player an advantage over another player. The bingo card may only be played 
during the session for which the bingo card was sold.  
 
(c) A permittee or operator may not reserve a bingo card or unit of electronic bingo 
paper for use by a particular player or group of players, and must provide bingo 
cards and electronic bingo paper to all interested players equally, for as long as 
bingo cards or units of electronic bingo paper are available, except a braille bingo 
card may be reserved for use by a player who has a vision impairment.  
 
(d) A permittee or an operator that had annual gross receipts in bingo that exceeded 
$300,000 during the previous calendar year may not use hard cards.  
 
15 AAC 160.520. Bingo receipting requirements  
 
(a) A permittee or an operator shall provide a bingo sales receipt to a player for the 
bingo card, set of bingo cards, or packet of bingo cards at the time of initial 
purchase and payment is received from a player. A permittee or an operator shall 
retain a copy of the receipt for three years from the date that the receipt was issued.  
 
(b) A permittee or an operator that had annual gross receipts from bingo that 
exceed $100,000 during the previous calendar year, or who expects to have gross 
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receipts from bingo in excess of $100,000 during the current calendar year, shall 
issue a sales receipt from a cash register. For purposes of calculating annual gross 
receipts under this subsection, an operator shall include gross receipts from bingo 
games conducted for all permittees who have authorized the operator to conduct 
bingo games on their behalf.  
 
(c) Notwithstanding (b) of this section, a validated bingo sheet may serve in place 
of a cash register receipt for floor sales.  
 
(d) A player must present the initial bingo sales receipt or validated bingo sheet for 
the bingo card, set of bingo cards, or packet of bingo cards being played to the 
permittee or operator in order to be awarded the prize for the bingo game.  
 
15 AAC 160.530. Cash register receipts 
 
(a) In providing a cash register receipt under 15 AAC 160.520(b), a permittee or 
operator shall comply with the following:  
 
(1) a consecutively-numbered receipt from a cash register must be given to the 
player; the receipt must include the  
 
(A) repealed 11/10/96;  
 
(B) date of sale;  
 
(C) amount of money paid;  
 
(D) name of the location;  
 
(2) a cash register must have a consecutive four-digit customer receipt number that 
does not return to zero until at least 9,999 receipts have been printed;  
 
(3) a cash register must have sufficient keys to record separately each type of sale 
and must provide a total for each type of sale recorded; a cash register must retain 
these totals between uses even if its power source is interrupted;  
 
(4) repealed 11/10/96;  
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(5) if a cash register is used by the permittee or operator for purposes other than 
recording the receipts from bingo, the internal cash register tapes from the other 
purposes must be retained for the time period required under 15 AAC 160.870(a).  
 
(b) A permittee or an operator that had gross receipts from bingo that did not 
exceed $100,000 during the previous calendar year, or that expects to have gross 
receipts that do not exceed $100,000 during the current calendar year, may use a 
preprinted or handwritten receipt in lieu of the cash register receipt required under 
15 AAC 160.520. In providing a preprinted or handwritten receipt, a permittee or 
an operator shall comply with the following:  
 
(1) the receipt must be consecutively numbered;  
 
(2) the receipt must be in duplicate; the original copy is to be given to the player 
and the duplicate is to be retained as a bingo record.  
 
15 AAC 160.540. Consecutively-numbered ticket receipts Repealed.  
 
15 AAC 160.550. Consecutively-numbered disposable bingo card receipts 
Repealed.  
 
15 AAC 160.560. Disclosure of prizes and procedures  
 
(a) Before bingo card sales begin, a permittee or an operator shall disclose to each 
player and conspicuously post upon the premises the price collected to play, the 
house procedures under which prizes may be won, and the list of prizes to be 
awarded.  
 
(b) If a player wins a prize, the permittee or operator shall announce the number of 
winners claiming that prize and proceed with the schedule of bingo games.  
 
(c) For each session of bingo conducted by a permittee or an operator, the 
permittee or operator shall provide to each player a schedule of bingo games to be 
played and the number and value of prizes to be awarded for each game.  
 
(d) The house rules of the permittee or operator shall be posted in a conspicuous 
place upon the premises where the bingo game is conducted.  
 
15 AAC 160.570. Bingo equipment  
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(a) "Bingo equipment" means equipment that is made or sold for use in bingo 
games permitted under AS 05.15. Unless otherwise specified, "bingo equipment" 
includes a machine or other device from which balls are withdrawn to determine 
the letters and numbers to be called, the balls themselves, a bingo card, and other 
devices commonly used in the direct operation of a bingo game.  
 
(b) In conducting a bingo game, a permittee or operator shall use  
 
(1) a device which mixes and allows for random withdrawing of balls to determine 
the letters and numbers to be called; the device must be constructed in a manner 
that  
 
(A) allows players to view the mixing action of the balls; and  
 
(B) prevents its operation from being interrupted so as to change the random 
placement of balls at the exit receptacle of the device, except as provided under 15 
AAC 160.590(k);  
 
(2) a set of 75 balls bearing the numbers one through 75; balls one through 15 must 
bear the letter "B"; balls 16 through 30 must bear the letter "I"; balls 31 through 45 
must bear the letter "N"; balls 46 through 60 must bear the letter "G"; balls 61 
through 75 must bear the letter "O"; the balls must be the same size, weight, shape, 
and balance so that at all times during a bingo game each a ball in the device has 
an equal opportunity of selection; the 75 balls must be available for inspection by 
the players before a bingo session begins to determine that all are present and meet 
the requirements of this section; and  
 
(3) manufactured and preprinted bingo cards that have 25 spaces, the center of 
which may be a free space, arranged in five even columns headed with the letters 
"B," "I," "N," "G," and "O," respectively; each set of disposable bingo cards must 
be consecutively numbered from the first card to the last card, or from the first 
sheet of disposable bingo cards to the last sheet of disposable bingo cards; each 
bingo card or sheet of disposable bingo cards must have printed on its face both its 
individual card or sheet number and the series number assigned by the 
manufacturer to that set of cards;  
 
(A) repealed 11/10/96;  
 
(B) repealed 11/10/96.  
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(c) A permittee or operator may use a flashboard to display the numbers called. 
The flashboard must be visible to all players and must clearly indicate all numbers 
that have been called. If the flashboard malfunctions during a bingo session, it need 
not be repaired during that session, but it must be repaired before it is used in a 
later session.  
 
(d) A permittee or operator may use a video camera and display for the benefit of 
the players and for bingo card winner verification. (e) Electronic or computerized 
bingo devices are prohibited, except those devices that qualify as "electronic bingo 
paper" and have been approved for use by the department.  
 
(f) Bingo cards that may be played without the calling of balls, sometimes known 
as "instant bingo," are prohibited.  
 
(g) If two or more sets of disposable bingo cards share a common series number, 
only one set may be played at a time at a session.  
 
15 AAC 160.580. Allowable number of bingo sessions and games  
 
(a) A permittee who conducts bingo on its own behalf without the services of an 
operator may conduct up to 14 bingo sessions in a calendar month. An operator 
who conducts bingo games on behalf of a permittee may conduct up to 11 bingo 
sessions in a calendar month.  
 
(b) The holders of a multiple-beneficiary permit under AS 05.15.100(d) may 
conduct a maximum of 14 bingo sessions per holder in a calendar month.  
 
(c) A session of bingo may not exceed 35 bingo games.  
 
(d) Bingo sessions are limited to four sessions within a 24-hour time frame.  
 
(e) If more than a single bingo session is conducted within a 24-hour time frame, at 
least a one-hour break must be held between each bingo session being conducted.  
 
15 AAC 160.590. Conduct of bingo games  
 
(a) A permittee or operator may not conduct bingo activity  
 
(1) with an intent to defraud, as defined in AS 11.46.990; or  
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(2) in deception, as defined in AS 11.81.900.  
 
(b) If a permittee or operator does not provide braille bingo cards, a player who has 
a vision impairment may use a personal braille bingo card. The permittee or 
operator shall ensure that the personal braille bingo card is not identical to another 
bingo card in use. The permittee or operator may inspect and reject a personal 
braille bingo card that does not meet the requirements of this chapter.  
 
(c) A permittee or operator shall call out the amount of a bingo game's prize 
immediately before the bingo game begins.  
 
(d) Immediately before a bingo game begins, the permittee or operator shall call 
out and display the pattern of numbers required to be covered in order to win the 
bingo game's prize.  
 
(e) If duplicate hard bingo cards are to be used in play, the permittee or operator 
shall conspicuously post that fact and notify all players.  
 
(f) Following the drawing of a ball in a bingo game, the permittee or operator shall 
call out and display to the players the letter and number on the ball. If a flashboard 
is used, the corresponding letter and number on the flashboard must be lighted.  
 
(g) Once drawn, a ball may not be returned to the receptacle until after the 
conclusion of the bingo game.  
 
(h) The winner of a bingo game is the first player to complete the particular 
arrangement of numbers on a bingo card based on balls called.  
 
(i) If a player declares a winning arrangement of numbers, the player shall submit 
the bingo card for verification to the permittee or operator and to at least one 
neutral player. A neutral player is a player who is not a direct relative of the 
declaring player and who does not have a prohibited financial interest with the 
permittee or operator.  
 
(j) If more than one player declares a winning arrangement of numbers on the call 
of the same ball, the bingo game prize shall be divided equally among the verified 
winning players.  
 
(k) If a player declares a winning arrangement of numbers, the permittee or 
operator shall draw a ball from the receptacle. If the declaring player's arrangement 

Page 76 of 187  Go to Index 
 

http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/statutes.asp%2311.81.900


is not verified, the permittee or operator shall resume the game by calling the ball 
drawn under this subsection. 
 
 (l) Once a permittee or operator begins to call a drawn ball, the permittee or 
operator shall complete the call. If a player achieved bingo based upon the 
previous ball called, the player shall share the prize for the bingo game with a 
player, if any, who achieves bingo on the subsequent ball called.  
 
(m) Once all declaring players' arrangements are verified, the permittee or operator 
shall award the prize for the bingo game to that player or players.  
 
(n) All prizes must be awarded by the end of a bingo session. All merchandise 
offered as prizes to bingo players must be paid for by the permittee or operator 
without lien or interest of others before the merchandise is offered as a prize.  
 
15 AAC 160.600. Bingo prize limitations  
 
(a) A permittee that conducts bingo activity on its own behalf may award a 
maximum of $840,000 in bingo prizes in a calendar year. The holders of a 
multiple-beneficiary permit under AS 05.15.100(d) may award a maximum in 
bingo prizes each year of $840,000 times the number of holders of the permit.  
 
(b) A permittee that contracts with an operator to conduct bingo activity on the 
permittee's behalf may award a maximum of $660,000 in bingo prizes in a calendar 
year. Upon approval from the department, if a permittee terminates a contract with 
an operator for non-use of the permit and shows that the operator did not conduct 
activity under AS 05.15 for the permittee in the current calendar year, the 
permittee's full annual prize amount under (a) of this section is not reduced.  
 
(c) The annual prize payout for bingo conducted under a permit issued under AS 
05.15 may not exceed 85 percent of the gross receipts from bingo activity. The 
prize payout and gross receipts for bingo activity must be separately calculated by 
each permittee on a calendar year basis.  
 
(d) A free bingo card may not be given as a bingo game prize.  
 
(e) For purposes of this section,  
 
(1) "prize payout" means the value of prizes awarded for bingo activity;  
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(2) "bingo activity" does not include the sale of ink refills, daubers, food, 
beverages, or similar items not directly connected to the play of bingo.  
 
15 AAC 160.610. Bingo prize receipting requirements  
 
(a) A permittee or an operator shall obtain a bingo game prize receipt at the time 
the prize is won and retain the receipt as required under 15 AAC 160.870(a).  
 
(b) Bingo game prize receipts must be consecutively numbered.  
 
(c) A bingo game prize receipt must include  
 
(1) the location, the name of the permittee, and, if applicable, the operator;  
 
(2) the date the receipt was issued;  
 
(3) the bingo game number;  
 
(4) the printed name of each prize winner;  
 
(5) a description of the prize or a copy of the invoice issued when the prize was 
purchased; and  
 
(6) the signature of each prize winner.  
 
(d) Repealed 11/10/96.  
 
15 AAC 160.620. Bingo prize limits  
The total value of cash and merchandise prizes awarded for a bingo game may not 
exceed $1,000. The total value of cash and merchandise prizes awarded during a 
session of bingo may not exceed $5,000. The value of a merchandise prize, 
including a donated prize, is the fair market value of the merchandise.  
 
15 AAC 160.625. Bingo session records  
 
(a) At the conclusion of each bingo session, a permittee or an operator shall 
prepare a  
 
(1) bingo session report that includes  
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(A) the amount of the beginning till;  
 
(B) gross sales from bingo cards, sets of bingo cards, and packets of bingo cards;  
 
(C) other sales;  
 
(D) cash prizes and non-cash prizes paid out;  
 
(E) adjustments for voids, overrings, returns, and other similar items;  
 
(F) the amount of the deposit to be made to the bank account under 15 AAC 
160.820;  
 
(G) the amount of the ending till; and  
 
(H) a record of all prizes paid out; and  
 
(2) copy of the session schedule that reflects the  
 
(A) name and type of each bingo game conducted; and  
 
(B) prize awards for each game; and  
 
(3) floor sale tally sheet that includes the  
 
(A) number of bingo cards, set of bingo cards, or packet of bingo cards sold during 
the session;  
 
(B) number of bingo cards, set of bingo cards, or packet of bingo cards not sold 
during the session;  
 
(C) sales price of each bingo card, set of bingo cards, or packet of bingo cards; and  
 
(D) total amount of money collected by the floor seller during the session.  
 
(b) A permittee or an operator subject to the receipting requirements under 15 
AAC 160.520(a) must attach an internal cash register tape to the session report. 
The register tape must include total sales, total payouts, voids, overrings, returns, 
and other similar items.  
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15 AAC 160.630. Bingo employee identification tags  
A permittee or an operator shall provide an identification name tag for each 
employee involved in conducting bingo activity. The employee's name on the 
identification tag must be clearly printed and easily read by the gaming public. The 
permittee or operator shall ensure the employee wears the tag at all times when the 
employee works at the bingo game location.  

 
Article 7 

Raffles, Lotteries, and Other Gaming Activities 
15 AAC 160.640. Raffle tickets  
 
(a) Raffle tickets must be consecutively numbered and must have a numbered, 
detachable stub for purposes of the drawing at the conclusion of raffle ticket sales.  
 
(b) A raffle ticket must provide the following information on its face:  
 
(1) the date and location of the drawing;  
 
(2) the name of the permittee and the permit number;  
 
(3) if applicable, the name of the operator and the operator's license number;  
 
(4) the price of the raffle ticket;  
(5) whether the player must be present at the drawing to be eligible for a prize;  
 
(6) the ticket number.  
 
(c) A permittee or operator conducting a raffle shall disclose the raffle procedures, 
prizes, and the price collected from a player either on a pamphlet or similar 
document given to a player at the time of sale, or on the face of the raffle ticket.  
 
(d) The detachable stub on a raffle ticket must provide the following information 
on its face:  
 
(1) the permit number;  
 
(2) if applicable, the operator's license number;  
 
(3) adequate space for a player to write the player's name, mailing address, and 
telephone number;  
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(4) the ticket number.  
 
(e) Repealed 9/3/2005.  
 
15 AAC 160.650. Raffle drawings  
 
(a) At a raffle drawing, the permittee of operator shall post a copy of the permit 
and a copy of the operator's license, if applicable, in a manner that is clearly visible 
to the gaming public.  
 
(b) Before a raffle drawing, the permittee or operator shall place the detachable 
stubs of all raffle tickets sold into a receptacle that is designed so that each stub 
placed within it has an equal opportunity of being drawn.  
 
(c) The permittee or operator shall draw the detachable stub in a manner that is 
clearly visible to the gaming public. 
 
 (d) A raffle drawing must determine a winning detachable stub for each prize 
offered.  
 
(e) A raffle drawing must occur at the date and location scheduled, which must be 
no later than the end of the calendar year following the calendar year in which the 
first ticket for the raffle was sold. If a raffle drawing cannot be held at the date and 
location scheduled for a reason that is beyond the control of the permittee or 
operator, the permittee or operator shall  
 
(1) immediately notify the department in writing of the reason; 
 
(2) reschedule the date and location of the raffle drawing, only if the entire raffle is 
completed no later than the end of the calendar year following the calendar year in 
which the first ticket for the raffle was sold; and  
 
(3) if a player must be present at the raffle drawing to be eligible for a prize, notify 
each player in writing of the date and location of the rescheduled drawing.  
 
(f) If a permittee or operator elects to terminate a raffle after a raffle ticket is sold 
but before the raffle drawing, or does not hold the raffle drawing within the time 
allowed under this section, the permittee or operator shall  
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(1) notify the department in writing before the scheduled date of the drawing of the 
reason for the termination; and  
 
(2) refund the price of each ticket sold to each player not later than 20 days after 
the scheduled date of the drawing.  
 
(g) If a permittee or operator awards a raffle cash prize of $50 or more, the winner 
shall acknowledge receipt of the prize by completing and signing a raffle prize 
form that includes the winner's name and address.  
 
(h) A permittee or operator shall make every reasonable effort to award a raffle 
prize. If, after not more than 45 days following a raffle drawing, a raffle prize is 
not awarded, the permittee or operator shall conduct a drawing from the non-
winning detachable stubs to determine a new winning detachable stub. The person 
named on that detachable stub shall be awarded the unawarded raffle prize.  
 
(i) If a permittee or operator changes one or more prizes in a raffle after one or 
more tickets have been sold, the permittee or operator must either  
 
(1) terminate the raffle and refund the ticket price to each ticket holder; or  
 
(2) notify each ticket holder before the raffle is held and offer the ticket holder a 
refund.  
 
15 AAC 160.652. Special-draw raffles  
 
(a) A special-draw raffle is an activity in which the winner is determined by means 
other than drawing from a container. Permittees may conduct, without prior 
approval of the department, a rubber ducky raffle where the duckies are placed into 
a moving body of water all at once by a loader or other means and prizes are 
awarded based on the order in which rubber duckies cross the finish line. 
Permittees must obtain prior written approval of the department to conduct any 
other special draw contest. The department will not approve a special draw raffle 
unless it meets the standards set out in (b) of this section.  
 
(b) The department will approve an application for a special-draw raffle only if  
 
(1) the special-draw method of selecting the winner of the raffle involves random 
chance not subject to influence by the person conducting the raffle;  
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(2) participants are not able to place bets on the outcome of the special draw;  
 
(3) only one prize is awarded for each special draw;  
 
(4) the special-draw does not involve a casino-gaming device such as a number 
wheel, dice, or cards; and  
 
(5) the proposed raffle is not contrary to the public interest.  
 
(c) The department will not approve a special-draw contest if participants 
participate in the game by placing a token on one of a series of numbers or colors 
and the winner is selected by throwing a dart at a spinning wheel on which the 
same numbers or colors have been painted.  
 
(d) The price of a raffle ticket may not exceed $100.  
 
15 AAC 160.656. Raffle variations  
 
(a) The provisions of 15 AAC 160.640(b) - (d) do not apply to the following raffle 
variations if they are conducted at a single event, at a single time and gaming 
location, with all players present:  
 
(1) a bucket or basket raffle;  
 
(2) a raffle with a merchandise prize;  
 
(3) a split-the-pot raffle.  
 
(b) A permittee may conduct a calendar raffle. If the winning tickets are to be 
returned to the ticket pool for drawings on subsequent dates in the raffle, this 
provision must be included in the house rules.  
 
(c) With adequate notice to raffle ticket purchasers, a permittee may conduct a 
progressive raffle. A sign-in book, a descriptive poster at the point of sale, and 
serialized dual roll tickets may be used to satisfy the requirements of 15 AAC 
160.640(b) - (d). House rules must provide for player eligibility and rules of play. 
One year from the start of a progressive raffle, if there has been no winner, the 
permittee must draw until there is a winner, at which time the permittee may start a 
new progressive raffle. Prizes may not exceed 85 percent of gross receipts.  
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(d) Any raffle format not described by 15 AAC 160.640, 15 AAC 160.652, or this 
section must be approved by the department under AS 05.15 and this chapter 
before the raffle may be conducted.  
 
(e) House rules describing the rules and procedures governing a raffle under this 
section must be prominently posted before the sale of tickets starts.  
 
15 AAC 160.660. Ownership of raffle prizes  
A raffle prize must be owned by the permittee or operator without lien or other 
adverse interest before the raffle drawing.  
 
15 AAC 160.670. Raffle record  
 
(a) A permittee or operator conducting a raffle shall keep a record of  
 
(1) the number of raffle tickets printed;  
 
(2) the number of raffle tickets sold;  
 
(3) the number of unsold raffle tickets;  
 
(4) the price collected for a raffle ticket;  
 
(5) the raffle prizes;  
 
(6) the date and location of the raffle drawing;  
 
(7) the raffle prizes claimed;  
 
(8) the name, address, telephone number, and prize won for each prize winner; and  
 
(9) the disposition of unclaimed raffle prizes.  
 
(b) The record described in (a) of this section must be retained by the permittee or 
operator for a period of three years from the date of the raffle drawing.  
 
15 AAC 160.675. Animal classics permit application  
 
(a) An applicant for an animal classic permit is subject to the permit application 
requirements of 15 AAC 160.020.  
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(b) In addition, unless currently on file with the department, an applicant for an 
animal classic permit shall submit the following:  
 
(1) documents demonstrating the applicant was in existence before November 1, 
2002;  
 
(2) documents demonstrating the applicant conducted an animal classic before 
November 1, 2002.  
 
(c) The department may consider documents such as newspaper articles, 
newspaper or other printed advertisements, state permits or records, municipal 
permits or records, accounting records, and receipts for expenses of operating an 
animal classic as proof the applicant conducted an animal classic before November 
1, 2002.  
 
15 AAC 160.676. Animal classics  
 
(a) Animal classics are subject to the following general standards:  
 
(1) a permittee may conduct an animal classic with only one wheel or grid at any 
given time;  
 
(2) an operator may conduct an animal classic with only one wheel or grid per 
location at any given time;  
 
(3) an animal classic must be conducted in the same manner as it was before 
November 2002, except as necessary to comply with requirements of this section;  
 
(4) animal classic players and workers must be 19 years old or older.  
 
(b) In addition to the requirements in (a) of this section, an animal classic that is a 
rat race is subject to the following:  
 
(1) the odds of winning may not exceed 38 to 1;  
 
(2) the odds of winning must be posted in a manner that is clearly visible to the 
gaming public;  
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(3) individual bets on each numbered or colored hole a rat, hamster, gerbil, or other 
rodent might enter may not exceed $2 per numbered or colored hole;  
 
(4) an individual betting on more than one numbered or colored hole in any single 
round of betting may not place an aggregate amount of bets exceeding $10.  
 
(c) In addition to the requirements in (a) of this section, an animal classic that is a 
chicken contest may not use a grid that exceeds 24 squares by 48 squares.  
 
(d) If a permittee or an operator awards an animal classic prize of $50 or more, 
including the fair market value of a merchandise prize, the permittee or operator 
shall ensure the winner acknowledges receipt of the prize by completing and 
signing a receipt that includes the winner's name and mailing address.  
 
15 AAC 160.680. Dog mushers' contests  
 
(a) A mushers' contest must be based on an event involving sleds drawn by dog 
teams over a course laid out by a dog musher's association.  
 
(b) A prize awarded in a dog mushers' contest must be awarded as set out in house 
rules established by the permittee or operator conducting the contest.  
 
(c) If a permittee or operator awards a dog mushers' contest cash prize of $50 or 
more, the permittee or operator shall provide the winner with a receipt and shall 
complete the dog mushers' contest prize form provided by the department.  
 
15 AAC 160.690. Fish derbies  
 
(a) A prize awarded in a fish derby must be awarded as set out in house rules 
established by the permittee or operator conducting the fish derby.  
 
(b) A fish derby association may award a door prize from a drawing  
 
(1) of all tickets sold for the derby; or  
 
(2) for each fish entered in the derby.  
 
(c) If a permittee or operator awards a fish derby cash prize of $50 or more, 
including the fair market value of a merchandise prize, the permittee or operator 
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shall ensure that the winner acknowledges receipt of the prize by completing and 
signing a receipt that is prescribed by the department.  
 
15 AAC 160.700. Ice classics  
 
(a) If the department determines that a material conflict exists between the Kenai 
Rotary Club and the Soldotna Rotary Club in the joint operation and administration 
of the Kenai River Ice Classic, then the club whose application is first received by 
the department will receive the permit to conduct the activity, if all other 
provisions of AS 05.15 and this chapter are met.  
 
(b) A permittee or operator conducting an ice classic shall immediately notify the 
department if the permittee or operator is disqualified by a government agency 
from conducting activity in the state. Upon such disqualification, the department 
will suspend the permit or operator's license and no further activity permitted under 
AS 05.15 may be conducted by the permittee or operator until the permit or 
operator's license is reinstated by the department.  
 
(c) If the permittee or operator awards an ice classic cash prize of $50 or more, the 
permittee or operator shall ensure that the winner acknowledges receipt of the prize 
by completing and signing a receipt that is prescribed by the department.  
 
15 AAC 160.705. Big bull moose derbies  
 
(a) A prize awarded in a big bull moose derby must be awarded as set out in house 
rules established by the permittee or operator conducting the big bull moose derby. 
A big bull moose derby may involve  
 
(1) a legal hunt for moose by hunters;  
 
(2) one or more drawings in which all hunters who participate in a derby conducted 
under (1) of this subsection are entered; house rules must state the prize amount 
and drawing schedule for each drawing; and  
 
(3) an event in which participants try to guess the size of the winning antlers in the 
derby conducted under (1) of this subsection; participants in that event need not be 
hunters who are entered in the derby.  
 
(b) Tickets sold for an event under (a) of this section must include the name and 
the permit number of the permittee and, if applicable, the name and license number 

Page 87 of 187  Go to Index 
 



of the operator. House rules must be available to ticket buyers at the time of 
purchase and must be posted at the time and place of a drawing under (a)(2) of this 
section or determination of a winner under (a)(1) or (3) of this section.  
 
(c) An employee of the Department of Fish and Game may not participate as a 
player in an event under (a) of this section.  
 
(d) If a permittee or an operator awards a big bull moose derby prize of $50 or 
more, including the fair market value of a merchandise prize, the permittee or 
operator shall ensure that the winner acknowledges receipt of the prize by 
completing and signing a receipt that is prescribed by the department.  
 
15 AAC 160.710. Salmon classics and king salmon classics  
 
(a) An employee of the Department of Fish and Game may not participate as a 
player in a salmon classic or king salmon classic.  
 
(b) A permittee or operator conducting a salmon classic or king salmon classic 
shall immediately notify the department if the permittee or operator is disqualified 
by a government agency from conducting activity in the state. Upon such 
disqualification, the department will suspend the permit or operator's license and 
no further activity permitted under AS 05.15 may be conducted by the permittee or 
operator unless the permit or operator's license is reinstated by the department.  
 
(c) If a permittee or operator awards a salmon classic cash prize or king salmon 
classic cash prize of $50 or more, the permittee or operator shall provide the 
winner with a receipt and shall complete the salmon classic prize form or king 
salmon classic prize form provided by the department.  
 
15 AAC 160.715. Calcutta pools  
 
(a) A separate permit must be obtained for each Calcutta pool. The application 
must specify the physical address or location of the intended Calcutta pool.  
(b) A Calcutta pool auction must take place at a single event.  
 
(c) A bidder in a Calcutta pool auction must be physically present at the auction of 
participants or contestants in the event that is the subject of the Calcutta pool and 
must personally make all bids. An auction bid may not be placed by proxy or by 
any other means of indirect communication.  
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(d) A permittee shall include the report for each Calcutta pool required under AS 
05.15.080(c) with the quarterly report filed with the department under AS 
05.15.080(a) or, if a report is not required for that quarter, with the annual report 
filed with the department under AS 05.15.080(b).  
 
(e) If a permittee awards a Calcutta pool prize with a value of $50 or more, the 
permittee shall ensure that the winner acknowledges receipt of the prize by 
completing and signing a prize receipt form that includes the winner's name, 
address, and telephone number.  
 
(f) A person involved in the conduct of a Calcutta pool must be an employee, 
volunteer, or member of the permittee that conducts the Calcutta pool, and must be 
18 years of age or older.  
 
(g) House rules must clearly explain how a Calcutta pool will be conducted, must 
specify who may participate as a bidder, and must be conspicuously posted where 
the Calcutta pool is held.  
 
(h) A permittee or qualified organization that conducts an event on which a 
Calcutta pool could be conducted may not authorize another permittee to conduct a 
Calcutta pool on that event, even if the permittee or qualified organization does not 
conduct a Calcutta pool on the event itself.  
 
(i) A permittee authorized to conduct a Calcutta pool on an event run by a person 
who does not qualify for a permit must submit a copy of the agreement to conduct 
a Calcutta pool to the department with an original or amended application.  
 
(j) A permittee may not pay any portion of the net proceeds from a Calcutta pool to 
the person who authorizes the permittee to conduct a Calcutta pool, and may not 
pay for the right to conduct a Calcutta pool.  
 
15 AAC 160.717. Crane classics  
 
(a) A prize awarded in a crane classic must be awarded as set out in house rules 
established by the permittee or operator conducting the crane classic. These rules 
must be conspicuously posted wherever tickets for the classic are sold.  
 
(b) If a permittee or operator awards a crane classic prize with a value of $50 or 
more, the permittee or operator shall ensure that the winner acknowledges receipt 
of the prize by completing and signing a prize receipt form that includes the 
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winner's name, address, and telephone number. (c) Tickets sold for a crane classic 
must include the name and the permit number of the permittee and, if applicable, 
the name and the license number of the operator.  
 
15 AAC 160.720. Monte Carlo events Repealed.  
 
15 AAC 160.730. Monte Carlo house procedures Repealed.  
 
15 AAC 160.740. Personnel and accounting for Monte Carlo events Repealed.  
 
15 AAC 160.750. Monte Carlo blackjack Repealed.  
 
15 AAC 160.760. New Year's Eve Monte Carlo events Repealed.  
 
15 AAC 160.770. Change in Monte Carlo events Repealed. 
 

Article 8 
Accounting and Recordkeeping 

15 AAC 160.780. Advertising expenses  
The total amount of advertising expenses for a gaming activity permitted under AS 
05.15 may not exceed five percent of the permittee's adjusted gross income from 
gaming activities. (1) repealed 11/10/96; (2) repealed 11/10/96.  
 
15 AAC 160.790. Depreciation  
 
(a) Except as provided in (b) of this section, a permittee shall depreciate assets 
used to conduct an activity permitted under AS 05.15, using the straight-line 
method over a period of five, 10, or 30 years. A permittee shall use a  
 
(1) five-year depreciation period for all personal property and computer software 
used in gaming activity;  
 
(2) 10-year depreciation period for an improvement that the permittee owns and 
uses in a gaming activity to leased real property; if the permittee does not own the 
improvements, no depreciation may be claimed under this section; and  
 
(3) 30-year depreciation period for real property that the permittee owns and uses 
in gaming activity.  
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(b) In lieu of depreciation, a permittee may expense the entire cost of an asset 
described in (a)(1) of this section in the year of purchase if expenses remain within 
the limits of AS 05.15.160.  
 
15 AAC 160.800. Promotional items  
 
(a) A permittee, operator, or licensed pull-tab distributor may receive or distribute 
a free promotional item, if the promotional item has little intrinsic value and no 
monetary exchange value.  
 
(b) An item with a discount that would reduce the item's price substantially below 
fair market value is not a promotional item for purposes of this section, and will be 
considered a gift under 15 AAC 160.350 and 15 AAC 160.954.  
 
15 AAC 160.810. Net proceeds  
 
(a) A permittee or an operator may not pay a person for services rendered to 
conduct gaming activities or pay gaming prizes or expenses from the net proceeds.  
 
(b) A permittee shall keep a detailed record of disbursements from the net proceeds 
for three years after the record was made.  
 
(c) A permittee that dedicates net proceeds to a scholarship for education may only 
award the scholarship to a resident of the state or to a person who will use the 
scholarship in the state.  
 
(d) Repealed 11/10/96.  
 
(e) Repealed 11/10/96.  
 
(f) A permittee that dedicates or otherwise transfers net proceeds to another 
organization must take steps to ensure that the net proceeds are spent in accordance 
with AS 05.15.150.  
 
15 AAC 160.820. Bank account  
 
(a) A permittee or an operator shall deposit money collected from gaming 
activities, less cash prizes actually paid, in a bank account with check-writing 
privileges in the name of the permittee or operator. Deposits for each bingo session 
or any other authorized activity under AS 05.15 shall be made within three 
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calendar days of the close of the bingo session or within three calendar days of the 
conduct of any other authorized activity under AS 05.15. The bank account must 
be separate from an account used for other money of the permittee or operator. 
After December 31, 2006, the bank account must include the word "gaming" in the 
name or title that appears on checks and statements, but existing checks maybe 
used until December 31, 2007.  
 
(b) A disbursement from a permittee bank account described under (a) of this 
section must be made by a check that is signed by two authorized members of the 
permittee who are natural persons and residents of the state, except for electronic 
payment, through the department's website, of the annual fee under AS 
05.15.020(c)(2) - (4), the additional fee under AS 05.15.020(b), or interest or 
penalty under AS 05.15.095(c) or (d).  
 
(c) A check drawn on a bank account described under (a) of this section (1) 
repealed 11/10/96; (2) may not be drawn to "cash" or to a fictitious payee; and (3) 
may not be signed in advance or with a signature stamp.  
 
(d) Interest income earned on the bank account required by (a) of this section is 
subject to the provisions of AS 05.15.150.  
 
(e) Notwithstanding (a) of this section, a permittee desiring a longer period in 
which to deposit money from an authorized activity must first apply to the 
department for special permission. If the permittee establishes, to the department's 
satisfaction, that circumstances beyond the permittee's control justify the extension, 
the department will grant the request.  
 
(f) A permittee may not accept or cash a third-party personal check from a player 
for the purchase of bingo cards or pull-tabs, or for participation in any other 
gaming activity conducted under AS 05.15 and this chapter.  
 
15 AAC 160.822. Net proceeds held for more than one year  
 
(a) A permittee that receives permission from the department under AS 
05.15.150(b) to hold net proceeds for a period longer than one year must  
(1) account for the net proceeds and earnings each year when the permittee files its 
annual financial statement;  
 
(2) spend the net proceeds and earnings within the time period specified in its 
application under AS 05.15.150(b) and approved by the department;  
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(3) notify the department of  
 
(A) any change in circumstances or intention from the original application;  
 
(B) when and how the net proceeds and earnings are spent; and  
 
(4) receive additional approval from the department before implementing a new 
plan for the distribution of net proceeds and earnings.  
 
(b) Until it spends the net proceeds and earnings, the permittee must retain the net 
proceeds and earnings in its bank account required by 15 AAC 160.820(a). 
Notwithstanding 15 AAC 160.820(a), the permittee may deposit the net proceeds 
and earnings into another account in the permittee's name that is insured by the 
Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation or the National Credit Union 
Administration Insurance Fund and is separate from an account used for other 
money of the permittee.  
 
(c) If the department finds the immediate dedication of the net proceeds and 
earnings to be necessary to protect the best interests of the public, the department 
may rescind permission to hold net proceeds for more than one year and require 
dedication of the net proceeds and earnings.  
 
(d) Notwithstanding the approval given by the department under (a) of this section, 
the net proceeds and earnings being held for longer than one year are subject to the 
dissolution clause required under 15 AAC 160.020.  
 
(e) Net proceeds received by a permittee as a donation from another permittee are 
subject to the requirements of AS 05.15.150 and this section.  
 
15 AAC 160.830. Method of accounting  
 
(a) A permittee or licensee shall use accounting principles that conform to 
generally accepted accounting principles (GAAP) as modified by AS 05.15 and 
this chapter.  
 
(b) The accounting for a gaming activity must include all gross receipts and 
expenses attributable to the conduct of the gaming activity. All gaming gross 
receipts and expenses must be matched to each gaming  
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(1) permit; and  
 
(2) activity.  
 
(c) Gross receipts and expenses from gaming activities other than bingo and pull-
tabs may be reported using either the cash or modified cash method of accounting.  
 
(d) Even though a permittee or licensee uses a different accounting method for tax, 
financial, or other purposes, the permittee or licensee must use the other 
comprehensive basis of accounting method for the accounting of revenue and 
expenses of charitable gaming that is required by AS 05.15 and this chapter.  
 
(e) A permittee may not pay the expenses of gaming conducted on its behalf by an 
operator. A member of a multiple-beneficiary permittee may not pay the expenses 
of gaming conducted by the multiple-beneficiary permittee.  
 
(f) Expenses incurred in connection with gaming activities, except for prizes paid 
by cash or merchandise awarded as prizes, must be paid by a check drawn on the 
bank account described under 15 AAC 160.820(a).  
 
(g) A permittee that receives a refund from a landlord, contractor, or supplier for 
goods or services purchased, or rental or lease expenses incurred during a calendar 
year, may reduce the amount of gaming expenses by the amount of the refund for 
that calendar year. A cash refund of expenses paid before the year-end must be 
received before January 31 of the year following the year to which the refund 
applies. A signed statement from the landlord, contractor, or supplier of the goods 
or services must be submitted to the department by January 31. The statement must 
disclose the amount of the refund and confirm that the price of goods or services in 
subsequent years will not be increased to recover the refund and that there is no 
agreement or expectation for repayment or offset of the refund.  
 
(h) A permittee may request in writing an extension of the January 31 deadline for 
receiving the refund only if the extension does not prevent the timely filing of an 
annual report. An extension under this subsection is not the basis for issuance of a 
permit or a temporary permit.  
 
(i) Gross receipts and expenses not reported as a result of a change to the accrual 
method of accounting under (a) of this section will not be considered by the 
department in determining compliance with AS 05.15.160(c) and (d) in the year 
immediately before the change.  
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(j) A permittee may report pull-tab inventory based on the number of sealed pull-
tab series in the permittee's possession.  
 
15 AAC 160.835. Net proceeds and unauthorized expenses  
 
(a) Unauthorized expenses include both expenses that are  
 
(1) not authorized by AS 05.15 or this chapter; and  
 
(2) otherwise authorized but that exceed the total annual amount of authorized 
expenses allowed under AS 05.15.160.  
 
(b) An operator and a multiple-beneficiary permittee must distribute to a permittee 
all net proceeds of gaming activity. Except as provided in 15 AAC 160.830(g), a 
permittee or licensee may not incur expenses that result in net proceeds being less 
than 10 percent of adjusted gross income on an annual basis from gaming activity 
other than pull-tabs, and 30 percent of adjusted gross income on an annual basis 
from pull-tab activity.  
 
(c) A permittee that is the victim of a theft or embezzlement that will result in a 
recovery of a known amount from a bond or court-ordered restitution confirmed by 
the insurer or court before the date of the annual report due under AS 05.15.080(b) 
or AS 05.15.145(d) shall  
 
(1) record the payment due under the bond or restitution as a gaming asset;  
 
(2) offset the amount of the theft or embezzlement loss with a credit in the amount 
of the recovery from the bond or restitution; and  
 
(3) deposit amounts collected from the recovery from the bond or restitution into 
the bank account required by 15 AAC 160.820 and disburse the amounts within 30 
days as a deferred payment of net proceeds to the permittees originally affected by 
the theft or embezzlement.  
 
(d) For purposes of 15 AAC 160.880(a)(20), the deferred payments under (c) of 
this section shall be treated as a timely distribution of net proceeds to a permittee.  
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(e) Notwithstanding (a)(1) and (2) of this section, all expenses incurred in activity 
under AS 05.15 and this chapter must be included in reports filed under AS 
05.15.080, 05.15.083, and 05.15.087.  
 
15 AAC 160.840. Permittee quarterly report  
 
(a) The quarterly report required under AS 05.15.080(a) must be on a form 
provided by the department and must include all information requested on the 
form.  
 
(b) A permittee that utilizes a multiple-beneficiary permit shall file a quarterly 
report separate from the quarterly report filed by the multiple-beneficiary 
permittee.  
 
15 AAC 160.850. Permittee annual report  
 
(a) The annual report required under AS 05.15.080(b) must be on a form provided 
by the department and must include all information requested on the form.  
 
(b) A permittee that contracts with an operator to conduct gaming activities shall 
include on the annual report required under AS 05.15.080(b) the total amount of 
gross receipts and the total amount of net proceeds that the permittee received from 
the operator from gaming activities.  
 
(c) A permittee that utilizes a multiple-beneficiary permit to conduct gaming 
activities shall include on the annual report required under AS 05.15.080(b) the 
total amount of gross receipts and the total amount of net proceeds that the 
permittee received from the activities conducted under the multiple-beneficiary 
permit.  
 
15 AAC 160.860. Grace periods for reports and annual review of financial 
records  
 
(a) The department may grant to a permittee or licensee one 30-day grace period to 
file a report or annual review of financial records required under AS 05.15 or this 
chapter. The department will not grant more than one grace period for the report or 
annual review of financial records.  
 
(b) Except for good cause shown, a request for a grace period must be filed with 
the department in writing on or before the due date for the report or annual review 
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of financial records. The report or annual review of financial records must include 
a complete statement of the reason for the request. For the purposes of this 
subsection, "good cause" means a reason outside of the control of the permittee or 
licensee as determined by the department in its discretion.  
 
(c) If the department grants a grace period under this section, then during the grace 
period, the department will not  
 
(1) deny, suspend, of revoke the permittee's permit or the licensee's license for 
failing to file the report or annual review of financial records by the due date; or  
 
(2) consider the corresponding report delinquent under AS 05.15.095(b).  
 
(d) If the department grants a grace period under this section, the permittee or 
licensee shall attach a copy of the department's grace period letter to the 
corresponding report or annual review of financial records when the report or 
annual review of financial records is filed.  
 
(e) The department will not grant a grace period to pay a fee or tax required under 
AS 05.15 or this chapter.  
 
15 AAC 160.870. Retention of records  
 
(a) Unless otherwise provided in AS 05.15 or this chapter, a permittee or an 
operator shall retain all records and supporting documents pertaining to gaming 
activities authorized under AS 05.15 for three years from the later of the due date 
or filing date of the annual report on which the income, deduction, payment of, or 
use of net proceeds is claimed.  
 
(b) A manufacturer or distributor shall maintain all records and supporting 
documents pertaining to gaming activities authorized under AS 05.15 for three 
years from the later of the due date or filing date of the last monthly report for the 
calendar year in which the record or document was made.  

 
Article 9 

Suspension and Revocation 
15 AAC 160.880. Suspension or revocation of a permit, license or registration  
 
(a) The department may suspend or revoke a permit, license, or registration under 
AS 05.15 if the permittee, licensee, or registered vendor  
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(1) knowingly makes a false statement or knowingly submits false information in 
order to obtain a permit, license, or registration or on a report required under AS 
05.15 or this chapter;  
 
(2) fails to provide the information, documentation, or fees required in the 
application or reporting process under AS 05.15 or this chapter;  
 
(3) fails to meet or maintain the necessary qualifications for a permit, license, or 
registration under AS 05.15 or this chapter;  
 
(4) fails to pay to the department a tax, fee, penalty, or interest payment required 
under AS 05.15 or this chapter;  
 
(5) alters, or allows to be altered, a permit, license, or registration issued under AS 
05.15;  
 
(6) allows another person to use a permit, license, or registration issued under AS 
05.15, except when a permittee contracts with a licensed operator or registered 
vendor as authorized under AS 05.15 or this chapter;  
 
(7) violates or negligently allows an employee to violate a provision of AS 05.15 
or this chapter;  
 
(8) fails to file timely a report or supplemental information required by AS 05.15 
or this chapter;  
 
(9) fails to prepare and retain books and records to substantiate a report required 
under AS 05.15 or this chapter;  
 
(10) fails to provide promptly for inspection information or documentation 
requested by an authorizing permittee or the department, if the information or 
documentation is necessary to substantiate a report, tax, or payment required under 
AS 05.15 or this chapter;  
 
(11) fails to remit the pull-tab tax to a pull-tab distributor as required under AS 
05.15.184 or 15 AAC 160.460;  
 
(12) has a prohibited conflict of interest in a gaming activity;  
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(13) knowingly allows a person who has a prohibited conflict of interest to conduct 
or be responsible for conducting a gaming activity;  
 
(14) uses, or allows the use of, net proceeds derived from a gaming activity for a 
purpose other than those allowed under AS 05.15 or this chapter;  
 
(15) conducts a gaming activity with an intent to defraud as defined in AS 
11.46.990 or in deception as defined in AS 11.81.900;  
 
(16) denies the department access to premises where a gaming activity is 
conducted;  
 
(17) uses a person other than a licensed operator, an employee, a volunteer, a 
registered vendor, or a person identified under 15 AAC 160.190(b) to conduct a 
gaming activity on behalf of the permittee;  
 
(18) fails to notify the department as required under AS 05.15 or this chapter;  
 
(19) conducts, or allows others to conduct, a gaming activity, including gambling 
as proscribed under AS 11.66, for which the permittee, licensee, or registered 
vendor is not authorized under AS 05.15 or this chapter on premises where an 
activity subject to AS 05.15 or this chapter is conducted;  
 
(20) fails to distribute to a permittee the net proceeds or other payments required 
by AS 05.15 and this chapter;  
 
(21) is convicted of a felony or crime involving theft or dishonesty, or a violation 
of gambling laws;  
 
(22) participates in a transaction, or a series of transactions, that results in the 
permittee receiving, in violation of AS 05.15.188, less than 70 percent of ideal net 
in a pull-tab series; or  
 
(23) engages in a transaction that violates 15 AAC 160.942.  
 
(b) The department will issue a notice of suspension or revocation to a permittee, 
licensee, or registered vendor in writing. In the notice, the department will include 
the grounds for the intended suspension or revocation, the legal authority for the 
intended action, and statement of the opportunity to request an informal conference 
within 30 days after the mailing of the notice. Within 30 days after the department 
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mails the notice, the permittee, licensee, or registered vendor may request an 
informal conference by filing a brief statement why the person is aggrieved by the 
intended suspension or revocation. If the permittee, licensee or registered vendor 
fails to file a request for informal conference, the noticed suspension or revocation 
is effective 30 days after the date of mailing to the permittee, licensee, or registered 
vendor. After receipt of a request for informal conference, the department will 
apply the procedures of 15 AAC 05.020, to the extent consistent with this chapter. 
In an informal conference decision, the department will affirm, overrule, or modify 
a suspension or revocation. If the permittee, licensee, or registered vendor files a 
request for informal conference, and if the informal conference decision upholds 
the suspension or revocation as noticed or modified, the upheld suspension or 
revocation is effective 15 days after the written informal conference decision is 
mailed. A permittee, licensee, or registered vendor aggrieved by the result of an 
informal conference decision may request a formal hearing under 15 AAC 
160.910. Notwithstanding the filing of a request for formal administrative hearing, 
a person or entity may not engage in conduct regulated by AS 05.15 or this chapter 
beyond the effective date of the suspension or revocation unless the suspension or 
revocation has been administratively or judicially stayed.  
 
(c) Upon suspension or revocation of a permit, license, or registration, or upon 
agreement requiring a temporary or permanent closure of a gaming location, the 
department shall post a notice of the action on the premises.  
 
15 AAC 160.885. Immediate revocation  
 
(a) The department may immediately revoke a permit, license, or registration 
issued under AS 05.15 and this chapter if  
 
(1) a permittee or licensee fails to comply with the requirements of AS 05.15 and 
this chapter for the distribution of net proceeds or limitations on expenses;  
 
(2) a permittee or licensee fails to file timely a report required by AS 05.15 or this 
chapter;  
 
(3) a permittee is not a municipality or qualified organization;  
 
(4) a permittee pays gaming taxes, prizes, or expenses with net proceeds; or  
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(5) a registered vendor fails to pay to a permittee the statutorily required 
percentage of the ideal net upon delivery of a pull-tab series to the registered 
vendor.  
 
(b) The department will use the following procedures when immediately revoking 
a permit, license, or registration:  
 
(1) the department will send to the permittee, licensee, or registered vendor a 
written notice of intent to revoke immediately; the notice must allege a violation of 
one or more of the provisions listed in (a) of this section and cite the evidence on 
which the department relied to determine that the violation had occurred;  
 
(2) the department will provide copies of all documentary evidence on which it 
relied in reaching its determination;  
 
(3) the notice of intent to revoke immediately shall provide the permittee, licensee, 
or registered vendor a period of time to show cause why the department should not 
immediately revoke the permit, license, or registration; the time allowed must be 
not less than five days nor more than 20 days from the day that the permittee, 
licensee, or registered vendor receives the notice; the permittee, licensee, or 
registered vendor may submit evidence as part of its response;  
 
(4) if the permittee, licensee, or registered vendor does not file a response to the 
notice of intent to revoke immediately, the revocation becomes effective after 
expiration of the period of time allowed for response in the notice;  
 
(5) if the permittee, licensee, or registered vendor files a response to the 
department's notice of intent to revoke immediately, an appeals officer within the 
tax division of the department who did not participate in the preparation of the 
original notice shall review the allegations, evidence, and response; the appeals 
officer shall issue a written decision that either affirms or overrules the immediate 
revocation; the appeals officer may affirm for the reasons expressed in the notice 
or for any reason supported by the record; if affirmed, the immediate revocation 
becomes effective five days after the date of the decision issued by the appeals 
officer; if the record does not support a determination that the permittee, licensee, 
or registered vendor violated AS 05.15 or this chapter as alleged, or if the appeals 
officer determines that immediate revocation is not warranted, the appeals officer 
shall overrule the immediate revocation;  
 

Page 101 of 187  Go to Index 
 



(6) regardless of whether the permittee, licensee, or registered vendor files a 
response to the notice of intent to revoke immediately, the permittee, licensee, or 
registered vendor has 15 days from the date that the immediate revocation becomes 
effective to appeal the revocation to a formal hearing under 15 AAC 160.910; 
notwithstanding the filing of an appeal, the permittee, licensee, or registered 
vendor may not engage in an activity requiring a permit, license, or registration 
beyond the effective date of the department's action unless the revocation has been 
administratively or judicially stayed.  
 
15 AAC 160.886. Renewal of a permit, license, or registration  
 
(a) The department may deny an application for renewal of a permit, license, or 
registration on the same grounds for which the permit, license, or registration could 
be revoked or suspended under AS 05.15 or this chapter.  
 
(b) If it appears to the department that a permittee, licensee, or registered vendor 
may not be in compliance with the requirements of AS 05.15 or this chapter for the 
year preceding the year for which a renewal of a permit, license, or registration is 
or may be sought, the department may require that an applicant or prospective 
applicant submit supplemental information before the department acts on any 
renewal application.  
 
(c) The department shall use the following procedures before denying an 
application for renewal of a permit, license, or registration:  
 
(1) the department will send the permittee, licensee, or registered vendor a written 
notice of intent to deny the application for renewal; the notice must state the 
grounds for denial and cite the evidence on which the department relied to reach 
this conclusion;  
 
(2) the department will provide copies of all documentary evidence on which it 
relied in reaching its determination;  
 
(3) the notice of intent to deny renewal must provide a period of time for the 
permittee, licensee, or registered vendor to respond to the department's reasons for 
denial; the time allowed must be not less than five days nor more than 20 days 
from the day the permittee, licensee, or registered vendor receives the notice; the 
permittee, licensee, or registered vendor may submit evidence to the department as 
part of its response;  
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(4) if the permittee, licensee, or registered vendor does not file a response to the 
notice of intent to deny renewal, the denial becomes effective on the later of 
January 1 of the year for which renewal is sought or the expiration of any 
temporary permit or license issued to the applicant;  
 
(5) if the permittee, licensee, or registered vendor files a response to the 
department's notice of intent to deny renewal, the department will provide for a 
review of the allegations, evidence, and response by an appeals officer in the tax 
division of the department who did not participate in the preparation of the original 
notice; the appeals officer will issue a written decision that either affirms or 
overrules the denial; the appeals officer may affirm for the reasons expressed in the 
original denial or for any reason supported by the record; if the record does not 
support a conclusion that the permittee, licensee, or registered vendor violated AS 
05.15 or this chapter as alleged, or if the appeals officer determines that denial of 
renewal is not warranted, the appeals officer shall overrule the denial; if affirmed, 
the denial becomes effective on the later of January 1 of the year for which renewal 
is sought or the expiration of any temporary permit or license issued to the 
applicant;  
 
(6) regardless of whether the permittee, licensee, or registered vendor files a 
response to the notice of intent to deny renewal, the permittee, licensee, or 
registered vendor has 15 days from the date the denial becomes effective to appeal 
the denial to a formal hearing under 15 AAC 160.910; notwithstanding the filing of 
an appeal, the permittee, licensee, or registered vendor may not engage in an 
activity requiring a permit, license, or registration beyond the effective date of the 
department's action unless the denial has been administratively or judicially stayed.  
 
(d) Nothing in this section limits the ability of the department to revoke or 
immediately revoke a permit, license, or registration that has been renewed.  
 
15 AAC 160.890. Disposition of money upon suspension or revocation  
Upon suspension or revocation of a permit, operator's license, or registration, the 
permittee, operator, or vendor may only withdraw gaming money  
 
(1) to pay for authorized expenses that were accrued before the suspension or 
revocation; or  
 
(2) for dedication of net proceeds in a manner consistent with those stated on the 
permit application.  
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15 AAC 160.900. Notice of criminal conviction  
An applicant, permittee, licensee, or vendor, who is convicted of a violation 
described under AS 05.15.105 or who, in connection with gaming activity, 
knowingly employs a person who is convicted of a violation described under AS 
05.15.105 shall immediately notify the department in writing of the conviction.  

 
Article 10 
Hearings 

 
15 AAC 160.910. Request for formal administrative hearing  
 
(a) A person, municipality, qualified organization, applicant, permittee, registered 
vendor, or licensee may file a request for a formal hearing to obtain administrative 
review of an informal conference decision by the department that  
 
(1) denies, suspends, or revokes the applicant's, permittee's, registered vendor's, or 
licensee's permit, license, or registration under AS 05.15;  
 
(2) upholds assessment of a tax, interest, or penalty against the permittee, 
registered vendor, or licensee under AS 05.15 or this chapter;  
 
(3) requires the person, qualified organization, or municipality to obtain a permit, 
license, or registration under AS 05.15; or  
 
(4) orders the registered vendor or licensee to pay a refund required by AS 05.15 or 
this chapter.  
 
(b) A written request for a formal administrative hearing must be filed with the 
department within 15 days after the date the appealed action by the department 
becomes effective. For purposes of this section, a written request is considered 
filed on the date that it is delivered to the department in Juneau, or, if delivered by 
the United States mail, the date of the postmark.  
 
(c) Within 15 days after receiving the request, the department will forward the 
request, along with a copy of the underlying department decision and the record on 
which the department relied to support the decision, to the Department of 
Administration, Office of Administrative Hearings.  
 
(d) Notwithstanding the filing of a request for formal administrative hearing, a 
person or entity may not engage in conduct regulated by AS 05.15 or this chapter if 
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the department has denied, suspended, or revoked the person's or entity's permit, 
license, or registration, unless the denial, suspension, or revocation has been 
administratively or judicially stayed.  
 
(e) The administrative law judge will issue a stay upon a determination that the 
party seeking the stay is likely to prevail on the merits. The administrative law 
judge may conduct a hearing to determine the need for a stay and may impose 
reasonable additional requirements upon a party seeking a stay, as determined 
necessary to further the public interest.  
 
15 AAC 160.920. Administrative appeals Repealed.  

 
Article 11 

General Provisions 
15 AAC 160.930. Permit, license, or registration required  
A person may not conduct an activity for which a permit, license, or registration is 
required under AS 05.15 unless the appropriate permit, license, or registration has 
been issued to the person by the department.  
 
15 AAC 160.932. Interpretation  
The department will strictly interpret AS 05.15 and this chapter to protect the 
interests of the public, municipalities, and qualified organizations.  
 
15 AAC 160.934. Criminal history checks  
 
(a) On an application or an amended application filed with the department on or 
after June 22, 2008, the following individuals must agree to submit to a criminal 
history check by the department for conviction of any offense that would bar them 
from involvement in activity regulated under AS 05.15 or this chapter:  
 
(1) a natural person applying for an operator's license;  
 
(2) a member in charge;  
 
(3) an alternate member in charge;  
 
(4) a manager of gaming.  
 
(b) Upon request from the department, the following individuals must agree to 
submit to a criminal history check by the department for conviction of any offense 
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that would bar them from involvement in activity regulated under AS 05.15 or this 
chapter:  
 
(1) a registered vendor;  
 
(2) a manager, a supervisor, a fund raiser, or a consultant for an operator or a 
registered vendor.  
 
(c) If the department has reason to believe that an individual may have a conviction 
for an offense that would bar the individual from involvement in activity regulated 
under AS 05.15 or this chapter, the department may request the individual to 
submit to criminal history checks in addition to those required by (a) and (b) of this 
section. As part of the review under this subsection, the department may require 
the individual to provide a set of fingerprint cards.  
 
(d) In this section,  
 
(1) "criminal justice information" has the meaning given in AS 12.62.900;  
 
(2) "government unit" has the meaning given in 13 AAC 68.905;  
 
(3) "proof of identity" means personal descriptors required either on a form 
prescribed by the department or in a format approved by the department; "proof of 
identity" includes one or more of the following:  
 
(A) a set of fingerprint cards;  
 
(B) two pieces of identification presented in person by the individual to the 
department, one of which must be a valid picture identification issued by a 
government unit;  
 
(C) a signed statement attesting, under penalty for unsworn falsification in 
violation of AS 11.56.210, that the personal descriptors accurately describe the 
individual signing the statement;  
 
(4) "submit to a criminal history check" means to provide the department with  
 
(A) proof of identity; and  
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(B) a written consent, on a form prescribed by the department, to determine what 
criminal justice information exists concerning the individual giving the consent.  
 
15 AAC 160.935. Primary gaming location  
 
(a) An operator may not conduct any retail or other business activity at a primary 
gaming location without the permittee's written consent.  
 
(b) A primary gaming location must have a separate entrance and must be 
constructed and marked to alert the public that gaming activity occurs inside unless 
the location is a kiosk.  
 
(c) A permittee may lease a premise to conduct an activity permitted under AS 
05.15 in premises other than a primary gaming location if  
 
(1) the permittee and lessor execute a written lease agreement;  
 
(2) the lease payments will not exceed 20 percent of the ideal net of the pull-tab 
activity conducted in the premises if the premises otherwise qualifies as a vendor 
location;  
 
(3) the activity is conducted in a separate and distinct area of the premises;  
 
(4) the activity is conducted by an employee, a volunteer, or a member of the 
permittee;  
 
(5) the lessor does not participate as a player in the activity; and  
 
(6) an employee of the lessor does not participate as a player in the activity;  
 
(7) repealed 11/10/96;  
 
(8) repealed 11/10/96.  
 
(d) A permittee may not lease more than five premises under (c) of this section at 
any one time.  
 
(e) A permittee shall provide to the department a copy of any lease agreement for 
any property used for gaming purposes under AS 05.15, including agreements 

Page 107 of 187  Go to Index 
 



between the permittee and the lessor, sublease agreements between the permittee 
and a sublessor, and lease agreements between the sublessor and its lessor.  
 
15 AAC 160.936. Operator location in facility where alcohol is served or sold  
An operator may lease a premise to conduct an activity under AS 05.15 that would 
otherwise qualify as a vendor location if  
 
(1) the operator and the lessor of the premises enter into a written lease;  
 
(2) the activity is conducted in a separate area of the premises;  
 
(3) the activity is conducted by a person under control of the operator not 
employed by the lessor of the premises; and  
(4) the lessor and the lessor's employees do not participate as players in the 
activity.  
 
15 AAC 160.938. Permittee activity restriction  
A permittee or an operator may not employ house players or extend credit to 
players.  
 
15 AAC 160.940. Copy of procedures, statutes, and regulations on premises  
 
(a) A permittee, operator, or vendor shall post the house procedures on the 
premises where an activity permitted under AS 05.15 is being conducted. The 
posting must be in a manner that is clearly visible to the gaming public.  
 
(b) A permittee, operator, or vendor shall obtain and maintain a current copy of AS 
05.15 and this chapter on the premises where an activity permitted under AS 05.15 
is being conducted. The copy must be available for inspection by a person upon 
request.  
 
15 AAC 160.942. Purchase inducement programs  
 
(a) A permittee, operator, registered vendor, licensed pull-tab distributor, or 
employee of a permittee, operator, registered vendor, or licensed pull-tab 
distributor may not offer or participate in a purchase inducement program, either 
directly or indirectly through a third party.  
 
(b) A purchase inducement program includes  
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(1) a transaction or series of transactions in which a distributor of items or services, 
regardless of whether those items or services are related to gaming, offers 
additional items or services of more than negligible value without charge or at 
discounted prices, as an inducement to purchase items or services from the 
distributor, or in exchange for an agreement, arrangement, commitment, or other 
assurance to purchase items or services from the distributor, regardless of whether 
the offer is subject to a minimum purchase requirement or requires an agreement to 
purchase exclusively from one person; and  
 
(2) a program in which a purchaser may earn items or services of more than 
negligible value, or may earn points that may be redeemed for those items or 
services.  
 
(c) A purchase inducement program does not include a discount in the purchase 
price of items or services that a distributor may offer, if the discount  
 
(1) directly reduces the invoiced amount due for the items or services purchased; 
and  
 
(2) does not include an agreement, arrangement, commitment, or other assurance 
to purchase items or services at the time of the transaction or in the future.  
 
(d) A licensed pull-tab distributor shall provide to a permittee or operator an 
invoice  
 
(1) on which each of the following items or services that the licensed pull-tab 
distributor sells or provides is separately listed on the invoice, with the original 
retail price and the final price, net of all discounts, if any:  
 
(A) pull-tab games;  
 
(B) bingo paper;  
 
(C) pull-tab jars;  
 
(D) mechanical pull-tab dispensing devices;  
 
(E) electronic pull-tab dispensing devices;  
 
(F) bingo daubers;  
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(G) blowers for bingo; 
 
(H) flashboards for bingo;  
 
(I) television monitoring systems or system components for bingo;  
 
(J) electronic bingo paper;  
 
(K) bingo or pull-tab point-of-sale systems;  
 
(L) any other item of gaming equipment;  
 
(M) any other item or service, regardless of whether the item or service is related 
to gaming; and  
 
(2) that includes on the front of each page of the invoice the following notice, in 
bold print at least one-eighth inch high: "Purchase inducement programs, other 
than monetary discounts, are prohibited by regulation, and participation in them is 
cause to suspend, revoke, or deny a license or permit under AS 05.15."  
 
(e) If a permittee or operator purchases or receives items or services from a 
distributor other than a licensed pull-tab distributor, the permittee or operator shall 
obtain from that distributor an invoice that  
 
(1) separately lists the original retail price and the final price, net of all discounts, 
for each item purchased; and  
 
(2) includes the notice required under (d)(2) of this section.  
 
(f) A permittee, operator, or registered vendor may purchase, lease, or use only a 
pull-tab point-of-sale system or pull-tab dispensing device that accepts data for all 
pull-tab games sold in the state by licensed pull-tab distributors. 
 
(g) A registered vendor (1) may not purchase, lease, or accept a pull-tab point-of-
sale system or pull-tab dispensing device from a permittee; and (2) shall retain 
proof of purchase of a pull-tab point-of-sale system or pull-tab dispensing device 
for as long as the registered vendor owns the equipment.  
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(h) In this section, "negligible value" means a modest intrinsic value and no 
exchange value.  
 
15 AAC 160.945. Conduct of gaming on the airwaves  
 
(a) An activity permitted under AS 05.15.100(a) may be conducted on the airwaves 
by a noncommercial broadcasting station or network of stations if the station or 
network  
 
(1) conducts the activity under a permit issued to the station or network by the 
department under AS 05.15.100(a); and  
 
(2) has not contracted with an operator to conduct the activity on the airwaves.  
 
(b) [Annulled; see editor's note.] For purposes of AS 05.15.640, the term 
"broadcasting" includes use of the internet.  
 
(c) Permittees and licensees that use the internet as provided in this section shall 
take reasonable measures, including web sites protected by the use of passwords, 
to ensure that persons or entities that do not hold permits or licenses under AS 
05.15 do not have access to such web sites. The promotion or the conduct of 
gaming activities does not include use by permittees and licensees of  
 
(1) electronic mail and facsimile machines to communicate among themselves; or  
 
(2) web sites to buy and sell gaming supplies, including pull-tabs.  
 
(d) Nothing in this section relieves a permittee or licensee of paying gaming 
expenses by check as required by 15 AAC 160.830(f).  
 
15 AAC 160.950. Advertisements  
An advertisement for an activity permitted under AS 05.15 must conspicuously 
display or announce the name of the permittee, the permit number under which the 
activity is to be conducted and, if applicable, the name and license number of the 
operator.  
 
15 AAC 160.954. Conflicts of interest  
 
(a) Charitable gaming must be conducted with high standards of integrity in a 
manner that assures the gaming public that the gaming is free from corruption and 
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criminal influence. A person regulated under this chapter must avoid relationships 
that could support an inference of a conflict of interest or self-dealing, and may not 
have a prohibited conflict of interest in a gaming activity.  
 
(b) A person regulated under this chapter has a prohibited conflict of interest if the 
person or a related party is involved in any of the following activities:  
 
(1) a gaming transaction with a related party, unless the transaction is allowed 
under  
 
(c) of this section;  
 
(2) giving or receiving a loan, or gifts with a total fair market value of more than 
$100 per year, from  
 
(A) an operator, distributor, registered vendor, or manufacturer to a permittee, or to 
an employee of a permittee who acts in a managerial or supervisory capacity; or  
 
(B) a permittee to an operator, distributor, registered vendor, or manufacturer;  
 
(3) leasing or subleasing by a distributor of facilities used in the conduct of gaming 
after January 1, 2004;  
 
(4) employing, contracting with, or allowing a person to act as a manager of 
gaming if the person acts as a manager of gaming for more than one permittee in a 
calendar year;  
 
(5) employing, contracting with, or allowing a person to act in a managerial or 
supervisory capacity for a permittee if the person is or acts as a distributor, 
operator, or manufacturer;  
 
(6) allowing a person to participate as a player in pull-tab activity conducted by or 
for the permittee if  
 
(A) the person or a related party has access to pull-tab information or accounting 
records; or (B) the person is prohibited from play in a gaming activity by AS 
05.15.187(h);  
 
(7) a gaming transaction between the person and a third party, regardless of 
whether the third party is regulated under AS 05.15 or this chapter, in which  
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(A) the item or service being conveyed between the person and the third party is 
subsequently sold or provided to another person regulated under this chapter; and  
 
(B) the gaming transaction, if conducted directly between the person and another 
person regulated under this chapter, without the third party's involvement, would 
result in a prohibited conflict of interest under AS 05.15 and this chapter;  
 
(8) an activity that violates 15 AAC 160.942.  
 
(c) The following transactions involving a related party are not prohibited conflicts 
of interest:  
 
(1) a contract of employment with a direct relative, if the wage or salary paid is 
comparable to that paid for similar employees in gaming regulated under AS 
05.15;  
 
(2) a lease of a gaming location by an operator under 15 AAC 160.936;  
 
(3) a lease of a gaming location by a multiple-beneficiary permittee from a member 
permittee or permittees, if the multiple-beneficiary permittee biennially obtains an 
appraisal from a certified real estate appraiser authorized under AS 08.87, 
certifying that the lease amount is not in excess of market value for general 
commercial space in the community;  
 
(4) a transaction with a direct relative in a remote community for which the person 
regulated under this chapter proves (A) no alternative party could practicably 
provide the good or service procured; (B) the price paid for the good or service was 
no greater than that paid by others for the same good or service;  
 
(5) a gaming transaction occurring before January 1, 2004, between an operator 
and a distributor who is the operator's spousal equivalent;  
 
(6) a contribution, loan, or gift under 15 AAC 160.363;  
 
(7) the sale of a raffle ticket by a person regulated under this chapter to a related 
party;  
 
(8) participation by a person regulated under this chapter in any activity permitted 
under AS 05.15 or this chapter, other than pull-tabs, who is not barred by 15 AAC 

Page 113 of 187  Go to Index 
 

http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/statutes.asp%2308.87


160.500(b), by house rules, or by the minimum age requirements in AS 05.15.180 
or this chapter, and who is not involved with selection of a winner in the activity.  
 
(d) It is a prohibited conflict of interest for  
 
(1) a person to be or act as both an operator and a distributor; or  
 
(2) a registered vendor to employ or have a contract other than a gaming contract 
with a permittee with whom the registered vendor has a gaming contract.  
 
(e) For purposes of this section,  
 
(1) a related party includes a direct relative or an affiliate of a person regulated by 
this chapter; and  
 
(2) a gaming transaction includes a transaction that results in an "authorized 
expense" described under 15 AAC 160.995(3).  
 
(f) A person regulated under this chapter includes the entity that receives a license, 
permit, or registration, and an official representative of the entity. An official 
representative of a person regulated under this chapter includes, if applicable, the 
person's  
 
(1) primary and alternate members in charge of a permittee, including the primary 
and alternate members in charge of the member permittees of a multiple-
beneficiary permit;  
 
(2) manager of gaming for a permittee;  
 
(3) officers;  
 
(4) board of directors;  
 
(5) partners; and  
 
(6) affiliates.  
 
15 AAC 160.955. Prohibited financial interests for permittees Repealed.  
 
15 AAC 160.956. Prohibited financial interests for operators Repealed.  
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15 AAC 160.957. Prohibited financial interests for multiple-beneficiary 
permittees Repealed.  
 
15 AAC 160.958. Prohibited financial interests for distributors Repealed.  
 
15 AAC 160.959. Prohibited financial interests for manufacturers Repealed.  
 
15 AAC 160.960. Interest on delinquent fees  
Interest on a delinquent fee under AS 05.15 or this chapter begins accruing on the 
date the fee is due to the department. The interest is calculated at the rate set under 
AS 43.05.225.  
 
15 AAC 160.963. Activity banned during delinquency  
 
(a) A permittee or operator may not conduct an activity under AS 05.15 or this 
chapter, or a distributor may not sell pull-tabs, during a period in which a financial 
report, annual report or monthly pull-tab report is delinquent.  
 
(b) Upon notice from the department, a permittee or operator may not conduct an 
activity under AS 05.15 or this chapter, or a distributor may not sell pull-tabs, 
during a period in which a tax, fee, penalty, or interest due to the department from 
the permittee, operator, or distributor, is delinquent.  
 
(c) Upon notice from the department, a distributor may not sell pull-tabs or other 
gaming supplies to a permittee or an operator during a period in which a report, 
tax, fee, penalty, or interest due to the department from a permittee or operator is 
delinquent, until the department informs the distributor that the report or amount 
due has been filed or paid.  
 
(d) With agreement from the department for extended payment of an undisputed 
fee, tax, penalty, or interest, a permittee or licensee may continue to conduct 
gaming activity pending final payment.  
 
15 AAC 160.965. Request for waiver of penalty  
 
(a) A permittee or licensee may request the department to waive a penalty due the 
department under AS 05.15.095(d) for reasonable cause. A waiver request must be 
made in writing to the department and must provide a detailed explanation of the 
reasons said to justify the waiver.  
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(b) Reasons constituting reasonable cause under AS 05.15.095(d) include  
 
(1) war, riot, rebellion, act of God, or other disaster that rendered it impossible for 
the permittee or licensee to pay the fee or that made the delay in paying the fee 
unavoidable; and  
 
(2) an act or omission by a third party that was beyond the control of the permittee 
or licensee and made delay in paying the fee unavoidable.  
 
15 AAC 160.970. Member in charge restriction  
 
(a) A member in charge or alternate member in charge of a permittee may not be 
an operator, employee of an operator, registered vendor, or employee of a 
registered vendor that conducts gaming activity for the permittee.  
 
(b) A member in charge or alternate member in charge must be a natural person. A 
change in a member in charge or alternate member in charge must be reported to 
the department on an amended application under 15 AAC 160.070.  
 
(c) A member in charge or an alternate member in charge who is designated on a 
permit application must have been an active member of the permittee, on the board 
of directors of the permittee, or an employee of the permittee for at least six 
months before the date of the permit application.  
 
(d) The member in charge, and the alternate member in charge in the absence of 
the member in charge,  
 
(1) are the principal points of contact between the permittee and the department, 
particularly in the investigation of complaints and the review or audit of reports;  
 
(2) are responsible for ensuring that gaming activity, including oversight of the 
manager of gaming, if any, is properly conducted, that gaming activity is properly 
recorded and reported, and that requested information and records are provided to 
the department in a timely manner; and  
 
(3) shall make an effort to ensure that adequate internal controls are used on 
activities conducted under AS 05.15 and this chapter, and that net proceeds are 
properly used.  
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(e) For a permittee to conduct an activity under AS 05.15 or this chapter, the 
member in charge or alternate member in charge must be actively carrying out the 
responsibilities of a member in charge. A permittee must maintain active plans to 
replace a member in charge or alternate member in charge who resigns or is no 
longer able to serve as member in charge or alternate member in charge. If a 
permittee does not have a natural person actively carrying out the responsibilities 
of a member in charge, the permit is suspended until the department receives an 
amended application identifying a member in charge and the new member in 
charge has passed the test required by AS 05.15.112(a).  
 
(f) a member in charge or an alternate member in charge must be at least 21 years 
of age  
 
15 AAC 160.975. Permittee and operator tests  
 
(a) The department will not issue a permit to a municipality, qualified organization, 
or multiple-beneficiary permittee until the applicant's member in charge and 
alternate member in charge have passed the test required under AS 05.15.112(a).  
 
(b) The department will not issue an operator's license to a person, municipality, or 
qualified organization until the person, the designated employee of the 
municipality, or the designated member of the organization has passed the test 
required under AS 05.15.122(b)(6).  
 
(c) For applications for permits for calendar years after 2005, a manager of gaming 
for a multiple-beneficiary permittee, or for a permittee that engages in bingo or 
pull-tab sales under its own permit, must pass the test required of a member in 
charge under AS 05.15.112(a).  
 
(d) A prospective member in charge, prospective alternate member in charge, 
prospective manager of gaming, or applicant for an operator license who fails to 
pass the test required under AS 05.15.112(a) or AS 05.15.122(b)(6) must arrange 
with the department for retesting. The department may require additional study 
time before rescheduling the test for the person being tested.  
 
(e) The department may require operators, members in charge, alternate members 
in charge, and managers of gaming to retest, if the department finds that changes in 
AS 05.15 or this chapter are sufficiently extensive to warrant it.  
 
15 AAC 160.980. Inspection of premises, books, and records  
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(a) Premises used to conduct an activity permitted under AS 05.15 must be open to 
inspection by the department whenever an activity is conducted at the premises or 
any other reasonable time. During an inspection, the department may  
 
(1) count the money on hand or received from gaming activity while the activity is 
conducted;  
 
(2) repealed 1/1/2003;  
 
(3) repealed 1/1/2003;  
 
(4) inspect the books and records of the permittee, licensee, registered vendor, 
employee, or other person that directly participates in the conduct of the activity; 
or  
 
(5) inspect the premises as reasonably necessary to enforce AS 05.15 and this 
chapter.  
 
(b) An operator or a permittee shall, within a reasonable amount of time, provide 
the permittee or the department the following books and records upon request:  
 
(1) general and subsidiary ledgers;  
 
(2) bank statements and bank reconciliations;  
 
(3) records of all accounts into which gaming receipts have been deposited or 
transferred;  
 
(4) repealed 11/10/96;  
 
(5) income tax returns as they relate to gaming activities under AS 05.15;  
 
(6) Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce Development records;  
 
(7) reports filed under AS 05.15.083 or 05.15.087;  
 
(8) other books and records requested by the permittee necessary to determine the 
amount of proceeds due the permittee;  
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(9) other books and records requested by the department in furtherance of the 
purposes of AS 05.15 or this chapter.  
 
(c) A book or record made available for inspection under AS 05.15 or this chapter 
must be readily available to the department at a location in the state. The 
department will, in its discretion, require a book or record, or a copy of a book or 
record, to be forwarded to the department for inspection.  
 
(d) Unless the department consents in writing to a different deadline, a permittee, 
licensee, or registered vendor shall provide to the department books, records, 
information, or other documents requested by the department within fourteen days 
of receipt of the request.  
 
15 AAC 160.985. Advisory notices and notices of violation  
 
(a) The department may issue an advisory notice to a permittee, licensee, or 
registered vendor if an incident occurs or a defect is identified that could result in a 
violation of AS 05.15 or this chapter. An advisory notice may not constitute 
grounds for administrative or court action against a permittee, licensee, or 
registered vendor, but may constitute grounds for issuance of a notice of violation 
if the incident or defect continues uncorrected. A copy of an advisory notice will 
be filed only in the enforcement file of a permittee, licensee, or registered vendor.  
 
(b) The department may issue a notice of violation to a permittee, licensee, or 
registered vendor if the department has reason to believe that a violation of AS 
05.15 or this chapter has occurred or might occur. (c) The department will place a 
notice of violation and any written response in the permanent record of the 
department for the permittee, license, or registered vendor to whom the notice was 
issued.  
 
15 AAC 160.990. Proof of activity  
In fulfilling its duties under AS 05.15.180(b), the department will presume that an 
activity did not exist and was not conducted before January 1, 1959. A permittee or 
operator may overcome this presumption by submitting documentation such as 
newspaper articles, records, and other proof that establishes that the activity did 
exist and was conducted as required under AS 05.15.180(b).  
 
15 AAC 160.992. Reinstatement of persons prohibited from involvement  
(a) Disqualification of a person under AS 05.15.105 terminates 10 years after the 
person's conviction for a crime that is at the time of conviction for the violation of 
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a law of this state or, if of another jurisdiction, would if committed in this state be a 
Class B felony other than extortion, a Class C felony, or an unclassified felony 
described outside AS 11, and that is not a crime of dishonesty or theft or a 
violation of gambling laws.  
 
(b) Disqualification of a person for a conviction for the violation of a law of this or 
another jurisdiction that is a crime of dishonesty or theft or is a violation of 
gambling laws, that is not an unclassified felony described in AS 11, a Class A 
felony, or the crime of extortion, terminates 10 years after the date of conviction if 
the department determines that the  
 
(1) person is of good moral character, honesty, and integrity; and  
 
(2) person's involvement in charitable gaming is not against the public interest.  
 
(c) A person disqualified under (a) of this section must make application to 
participate in charitable gaming. The application, which may be submitted up to 
six months before the anticipated 10th anniversary of the conviction, shall be made 
by letter accompanied by a copy of the document evidencing the conviction and 
the date of conviction. The department will notify the person when the department 
considers the person no longer to be disqualified and the date on which the person 
may become involved in charitable gaming.  
 
(d) A person disqualified under (b) of this section must make application to the 
department on a form to be provided by the department for authorization to 
become involved in charitable gaming. Application may be submitted up to six 
months before the anticipated 10th anniversary of the conviction. The department 
will notify the person when it no longer considers the person to be disqualified and 
the date on which the person may become involved in charitable gaming. At the 
time of application the person must provide the following items:  
 
(1) a copy of the document evidencing the conviction and the date of conviction;  
 
(2) letters from at least three persons unrelated to the applicant, such as clergy, 
professionals in the field of psychology or psychiatry, or law enforcement officials, 
recommending that the applicant be permitted to participate in charitable gaming, 
indicating their opinions as to the character, honesty, and integrity of the applicant, 
the basis for their opinions, and the length of time the applicant has been known to 
them;  
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(3) a letter from an official of the permittee indicating how the applicant is to be 
involved in charitable gaming and why the applicant's involvement will not be 
against the public interest; if more than one permittee is involved, such as when the 
applicant intends to act as an operator, a vendor, a distributor, or a managerial or 
supervisory employee of any of these entities, the applicant must produce letters 
from at least two permittees who will be served by the licensee, containing the 
same information as from a single permittee.  
 
(e) A crime of dishonesty is a crime in which a material element involves lying, 
cheating, deception, or fraud, and includes a crime listed in AS 11.46.500 - 
11.46.990 or, if committed in another jurisdiction, a crime that is substantially 
similar.  
 
(f) A crime of theft is larceny, robbery, burglary, forgery, and all other crimes 
listed in AS 11.46.100 - 11.46.290 or, if committed in another jurisdiction, a crime 
that is substantially similar.  
 
(g) A violation of gambling law involves a violation of AS 11.66.200 - 11.66.280 
or, if committed in another jurisdiction, a crime that is substantially similar.  
 
(h) Conviction for an unclassified felony, a Class A felony, or the crime of 
extortion, or, if committed in another jurisdiction, a crime that is substantially 
similar is a bar to participation in charitable gaming and the disqualification may 
not be terminated.  
 
15 AAC 160.995. Definitions  
As used in AS 05.15 and this chapter, unless the context requires otherwise,  
 
(1) "advisory notice" means an informal notice by the department to a multiple-
beneficiary permittee or other permittee, licensee, or registered vendor that a 
complaint has been filed with the department or that the department has reason to 
believe that a violation of AS 05.15 or this chapter has occurred;  
 
(2) "affiliate" means a separate legal entity that controls, is controlled by, or is 
under common control with the person, whether the control is exercised by 
ownership or contract; "affiliate" includes a parent, subsidiary, or other business 
with at least 10 percent ownership by the person and related parties;  
 
(3) "authorized expenses" means costs that are reasonable, ordinary, and 
necessary to the conducting of an activity permitted under AS 05.15; "authorized 
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expenses" (A) includes (i) the depreciation and maintenance of equipment used 
exclusively in an activity permitted under AS 05.15; (ii) the printing of raffle 
tickets; (iii) advertising; (iv) utilities, maintenance, property taxes, insurance, and 
depreciation of the portion of a building, together with improvements, owned by 
the holder of the permit that is used for gaming activity; (v) the lease or rental of 
property and facilities; (vi) postage; (vii) freight; (viii) accounting services; (ix) 
employee wages and payroll taxes; (x) pull-tab taxes under AS 05.15.184; (xi) 
janitorial services for the premises; (xii) food for player consumption on the 
premises provided free of charge; (xiii) legal and consulting services, if directly 
related to the conduct of an activity authorized under AS 05.15 or this chapter; 
(xiv) door prizes; (xv) interest on allowable loans; and (xvi) other amounts allowed 
by generally accepted accounting principles as modified by AS 05.15 and this 
chapter; (B) does not include (i) gifts to members and players; (ii) membership 
fees; (iii) vehicle cost and expenses; (iv) fees not directly related to the conduct of 
the authorized activity; (v) entertainment; (vi) tobacco products and alcoholic 
beverages; (vii) transportation of players; (viii) child care or babysitting; (ix) 
promotional items; (x) lobbying expenses; (xi) for purposes of AS 05.15.165(b), 
the amount of otherwise authorized expenses that exceed the limitations provided 
in AS 05.15.160(c) and (d); (xii) an amount paid for expenses other than goods and 
services directly connected to the conduct of the gaming activities if a legal 
obligation does not exist to make payment; (xiii) general administrative or other 
overhead not related to gaming; (xiv) per diem or stipends to members, including 
board members and officers, to attend organizational meetings in their own 
communities; and (xv) other expenditures not directly connected to the gaming 
activities.  
 
(4) "cash prizes" include (A) currency and coinage of the United States or a 
foreign country; (B) gold, silver, and other precious metals; (C) negotiable 
instruments including checks, money orders, stocks, bonds, and other securities; 
and (D) gift certificates redeemable for cash;  
(5) "direct relative" means the individual's spouse or spousal equivalent, parent, 
mother-in-law, father-in-law, brother-in-law, sister-in-law, brother, sister, child, or 
stepchild; 
 
(6) "door prize" means a prize awarded in a drawing for which no consideration is 
provided by any of the participants;  
 
(7) "electronic bingo paper" means an electronic device that replicates a 
traditional bingo card as described in 15 AAC 160.570(b)(3) and that is not 
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capable of being connected to a random number generator, or of being played 
without the direct participation of a player in a bingo game; 
 
(8) "financial interest" for a person means the person or the person's direct 
relative has an ownership interest in, or receives a financial benefit from an asset; 
for purposes of this chapter, a person has a financial interest in a corporation if the 
person or the person's direct relative owns 10 percent or more of the outstanding 
stock, or is an officer or director, of a corporation that owns or receives benefit 
from an asset;  
 
(9) "flare card" means a printed card or sheet that is provided by a pull-tab 
manufacturer with a pull-tab game;  
 
(10) "gift" (A) means a voluntary transfer of something of value for which no 
consideration is received; (B) includes an item given as a promotion or 
inducement; (C) does not include a donation provided to a charitable organization 
to be used by that organization to support its charitable mission, if the donation has 
no effect on gaming and is not for the benefit of an official representative of the 
organization;  
 
(11) "hard card" means a reusable bingo card;  
 
(12) "ideal gross receipts" means the amount of receipts that would be received if 
each pull-tab in a series was sold at face value;  
 
(13) "licensee" means a person that holds a valid operator's license under AS 
05.15.122, pull-tab manufacturer's license under AS 05.15.181, or pull-tab 
distributor's license under AS 05.15.183;  
 
(14) "manager of gaming" means the person responsible for the conduct of 
gaming by a permittee or multiple-beneficiary permit; 
 
(15) "non-gaming source" means a source of income from activities not regulated 
by AS 05.15 or this chapter;  
 
(16) "nonprofit trade association" means an association of merchants, craftsmen, 
or businesses in a particular trade or industry that is organized for the promotion of 
the common interest of the trade or industry and that operates without profit to its 
members;  
 

Page 123 of 187  Go to Index 
 



(17) "notice of violation" means a written notice by the department to a permittee, 
licensee, or registered vendor that a violation of AS 05.15 or this chapter has 
occurred or may occur; 
 
(18) "outboard motor association" means an association that operates without 
profit to its members and is organized primarily to promote power-boat racing and 
use of power boats;  
 
(19) "permit" means a permit issued by the department under AS 05.15.020 or a 
multiple-beneficiary permit under AS 05.15.100(d);  
 
(20) "permittee" means an entity or group of entities holding a permit;  
 
(21) "primary gaming location" means a location used primarily for the conduct 
of a gaming activity;  
 
(22) "prohibited financial interest" means a prohibited conflict of interest under 
this chapter;  
 
(23) "self-directed permit" means a qualified organization or municipality that 
conducts an authorized activity under its own permit;  
 
(24) "spousal equivalent" means a person who is cohabiting with another person 
in a relationship that is like a marriage but that is not a legal marriage;  
 
(25) "validated bingo sheet" means a date-stamped bingo sheet or bingo card;  
 
(26) "animal classic" has the meaning given in AS 05.15.690;  
 
(27) "chicken contest" means a game of chance in which prizes are awarded for 
the correct guess concerning an activity involving chicken manure and (A) a 
numbered grid; or (B) a lettered grid;  
 
(28) "rat race" means a game of chance in which prizes are awarded for the 
correct guess of which numbered or colored hole on a wheel a rat, hamster, gerbil, 
or other rodent enters as the wheel is slowly rotated;  
 
(29) "bucket or basket raffle" means a raffle in which (A) a bucket or basket is 
placed in front of each of two or more prizes; (B) a player buys dual roll tickets, 
with the option of placing one of each ticket pair in the bucket or basket of choice 
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for drawing for the indicated prize; and (C) the player may receive tickets only at 
the event, even if the ticket price is paid in advance;  

(30) "calendar raffle" means a raffle in which a player buys a calendar with an 
attached raffle ticket stub, and where the player submits the stub for deposit in a 
drawing container, with drawings to be conducted on multiple dates, as stated in 
the schedule provided with the calendar;  

(31) "progressive raffle" means a raffle in which (A) the drawing is made from a 
pool consisting of the entire list of members of the permittee organization; (B) if 
the person whose member number is drawn purchased a ticket for that particular 
drawing, that person wins the raffle prize amount, consisting of the prize money 
accumulated since the last winning member number was drawn; and (C) if the 
person drawn did not purchase a ticket for that particular drawing, there is no 
winner for that drawing and the prize is added to the prize to be awarded at the 
next regular drawing in the progressive raffle;  

(32) "split-the-pot raffle" means a raffle where the prize is 50 percent of the gross 
receipts raised in selling tickets;  

(33) "coin board" means a game board with legal tender or commemorative coins 
that is played in conjunction with a pull-tab game, in which some pull-tabs are 
designated in advance as winners of (A) one of the coins; and (B) the item or 
amount of cash described in the space on the board behind the coin awarded to the 
winner;  

(34) "point-of-sale system" means a computerized system that is used in 
conjunction with the sale of bingo cards, electronic bingo paper, or pull-tabs to 
generate sales records and data, and to enhance sales security and cash control; 

(35) "pull-tab dispensing device" means a mechanical or electronic device that 
dispenses pull-tab games, may be connected to a cash register or a point-of-sale 
system, and cannot accept money or other forms of payment for the pull-tabs 
dispensed;  

(36) "seal card" means a board or placard that is played in conjunction with a pull-
tab game and that contains one or more seals that, when removed or opened, reveal 
designated winning numbers, letters, or symbols;  
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(37) "supervisor" means a person who directs subordinate employees, under the 
authority of the employer, in the conduct of activities under AS 05.15 and this 
chapter.  
 
(38) "house rules" means the rules and procedures established by a permittee, 
operator, or registered vendor that guide the conduct of an activity under AS 05.15 
and this chapter by a permittee, operator, or registered vendor. 
 
 
NOTICE:  
The contents of this document were downloaded from online infobases that are 
unofficial versions of statutes, regulations, and other documents and may contain 
errors or omissions. The information is provided as a convenience to the public. 
The State of Alaska, Alaska State Legislature, and Legislative Affairs Agency 
make no warranty, express or implied, of the accuracy of the information presented 
here. Use of the information is the sole responsibility of the user. For the official 
version of the Alaska Statutes, please refer to the printed version of the Alaska 
Statutes. For the official version of the Alaska Administrative Code or other 
document, please refer to the printed version of the Code or other document. 
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Alaska Statute 

Chapter 11.66 OFFENSES AGAINST PUBLIC HEALTH AND DECENCY 
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document, please refer to the printed version of the Code or other document. 
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Alaska Statute 
Chapter 11.66 OFFENSES AGAINST PUBLIC HEALTH AND DECENCY 
 
Article 02. GAMBLING OFFENSES 
 
Sec. 11.66.200. Gambling.     
 
(a) A person commits the offense of gambling if the person engages in unlawful 
gambling. 
  
(b) It is an affirmative defense to a prosecution under this section that the 
defendant was a player in a social game. 
 
(c) Gambling is a violation for the first offense. Gambling is a class B 
misdemeanor for the second and each subsequent offense. 
 
Sec. 11.66.210. Promoting gambling in the first degree.     
 
(a) A person commits the crime of promoting gambling in the first degree if the 
person promotes or profits from an unlawful gambling enterprise. 
    
(b) Promoting gambling in the first degree is a class C felony. 
Sec. 11.66.220. Promoting gambling in the second degree.     
 
(a) A person commits the crime of promoting gambling in the second degree if the 
person promotes or profits from unlawful gambling. 
    
(b) Promoting gambling in the second degree is a class A misdemeanor. 
 
Sec. 11.66.230. Possession of gambling records in the first degree.    
 
(a) A person commits the crime of possession of gambling records in the first 
degree if, with knowledge of its contents or character, the person possesses a 
gambling record used or intended to be used in the operation or promotion of an 
unlawful gambling enterprise. 
    
(b) Possession of gambling records in the first degree is a class C felony. 
 
Sec. 11.66.240. Possession of gambling records in the second degree.     
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(a) A person commits the crime of possession of gambling records in the second 
degree if, with knowledge of its contents or character, the person possesses a 
gambling record. 
    
(b) Possession of gambling records in the second degree is a class A misdemeanor. 
 
Sec. 11.66.250. Affirmative defenses.     
 
(a) It is an affirmative defense in a prosecution under AS 11.66.230 that the 
gambling record was possessed by the defendant solely as a player. 
 
(b) It is an affirmative defense in a prosecution under AS 11.66.230 or 11.66.240 
that the gambling record 
 
(1) was not used or intended to be used by the defendant in the operation or 
promotion of unlawful gambling; 
 
(2) was used or intended to be used by the defendant in a social game. 
 
Sec. 11.66.260. Possession of a gambling device. 
 
(a) A person commits the offense of possession of a gambling device if, with 
knowledge of the character of the device, the person manufactures, sells, 
transports, places, or possesses, or conducts or negotiates a transaction affecting or 
designed to affect ownership, custody, or use of, a gambling device knowing that 
the device is used or is to be used in unlawful gambling. 
 
(b) It is an affirmative defense in a prosecution under this section that the gambling 
device possessed by the defendant was used or intended to be used only in a social 
game. 
 
(c) Possession of a gambling device is a class A misdemeanor. 
 
Sec. 11.66.270. Forfeiture.  
If used in violation of AS 11.66.200 - 11.66.280, the following property shall be 
forfeited: 
(1) a gambling device or gambling record; 
 
(2) money, not found on the person, used as a bet or stake; 
 

Page 129 of 187  Go to Index 
 



(3) money used as a bet or stake which is found on the person of one who 
conducts, finances, manages, supervises, directs, or owns all or part of an unlawful 
gambling enterprise. 
 
Sec. 11.66.280. Definitions.  
In AS 11.66.200 - 11.66.280, unless the context requires otherwise, 
 
(1) "contest of chance" means a contest, game, gaming scheme, or gaming device 
in which the outcome depends in a material degree upon an element of chance, 
notwithstanding that the skill of the contestants may also be a factor; 
 
(2) "gambling" means that a person stakes or risks something of value upon the 
outcome of a contest of chance or a future contingent event not under the person's 
control or influence, upon an agreement or understanding that that person or 
someone else will receive something of value in the event of a certain outcome; 
"gambling" does not include 
 
(A) bona fide business transactions valid under the law of contracts for the 
purchase or sale at a future date of securities or commodities and agreements to 
compensate for loss caused by the happening of chance, including contracts of 
indemnity or guaranty and life, health, or accident insurance; 
 
(B) playing an amusement device that 
 
(i) confers only an immediate right of replay not exchangeable for something of 
value other than the privilege of immediate replay; and 
 
(ii) does not contain a method or device by which the privilege of immediate 
replay may be cancelled or revoked; or 
 
(C) an activity authorized by the Department of Revenue under AS 05.15; 
 
(3) "gambling device" means any device, machine, paraphernalia, or equipment 
that is used or usable in the playing phases of unlawful gambling, whether it 
consists of gambling between persons or gambling by a person involving the 
playing of a machine; "gambling device" does not include 
 
(A) lottery tickets, policy slips, or other items used in the playing phases of lottery 
or policy schemes; or 
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(B) an amusement device as described in (2)(B) of this section; 
 
(4) "gambling enterprise" means a gambling business that 
 
(A) includes five or more persons who conduct, finance, manage, supervise, direct, 
or own all or part of the business; 
 
(B) has been or remains in substantially continuous operation for a period in excess 
of 30 days or has a gross income of $2,000 or more in any single day; and 
 
(C) is not a municipality or a qualified organization under AS 05.15.690, except 
that, for purposes of this paragraph, no application for a license under AS 05.15 is 
required to be considered a qualified organization; 
 
(5) "gambling record" means any writing or paper of a kind commonly used in the 
operation or promotion of unlawful gambling and includes lottery tickets, policy 
slips, or other writings or papers used in the playing phases of lottery or policy 
schemes; 
 
(6) "player" means a person who engages in gambling solely as a contestant or 
bettor, believing that the risk of losing and the chances of winning are the same for 
all participants except for the advantages of skill and luck, without receiving or 
becoming entitled to receive any profit from gambling other than personal 
gambling winnings and without otherwise rendering any material assistance to the 
establishment, conduct, or operation of the particular gambling activity, except 
that, for purposes of this paragraph, a person who gambles at a social game on 
equal terms with the other participants does not "otherwise render material 
assistance" to the establishment, conduct, or operation by performing, without fee 
or remuneration, acts directed towards the arrangement or facilitation of the game, 
such as inviting persons to play, permitting the use of premises for the game, or 
supplying cards or other equipment used in the game; 
 
(7) "profits from gambling" means that a person, acting other than as a player, 
accepts or receives money or other property under an agreement or understanding 
with another person by which the person participates or is to participate in the 
proceeds of gambling; 
 
(8) "promoting gambling" means that a person, acting other than as a player, 
engages in conduct that materially aids any form of gambling; conduct of this 
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nature includes 
 
(A) conduct directed toward the 
 
(i) creation or establishment of the particular gambling activity or acquisition or 
maintenance of premises, paraphernalia, equipment, or apparatus used in the 
gambling; 
 
(ii) conduct of the playing phases of gambling; or 
 
(iii) arrangement of the financial or recording phase of gambling or toward any 
other phase of its operation; or 
 
(B) having control or right of control over premises that are used with the 
defendant's knowledge for purposes of gambling and permitting the gambling to 
occur or continue without making an effort to prevent its occurrence or 
continuation; 
 
(9) "social game" means gambling in a home where no house player, house bank, 
or house odds exist and where there is no house income from the operation of the 
game; 
 
(10) "something of value" means any money or property; any token, object, or 
article exchangeable for money or property; and any form of credit or promise 
directly or indirectly contemplating transfer of money or property or of an interest 
in money or property or involving extension of a service, entertainment, or 
privilege of playing at a game or scheme without charge; 
 
(11) "unlawful" means not specifically authorized by law. 
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NOTICE:  
The contents of this document were downloaded from online infobases that are 
unofficial versions of statutes, regulations, and other documents and may contain 
errors or omissions. The information is provided as a convenience to the public. 
The State of Alaska, Alaska State Legislature, and Legislative Affairs Agency 
make no warranty, express or implied, of the accuracy of the information presented 
here. Use of the information is the sole responsibility of the user. For the official 
version of the Alaska Statutes, please refer to the printed version of the Alaska 
Statutes. For the official version of the Alaska Administrative Code or other 
document, please refer to the printed version of the Code or other document. 
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Topic Reference 
A 

Accessories sale not part of bingo gross receipts 15 AAC 160.600(e) 

Accounting methods 15 AAC 160.830 

  
Accrual accounting under GAAP required for bingo and pull-tabs; accrual is optional for other 
activities 15 AAC 160.830(a) 

    
Annual report for bingo and pull-tabs on accrual; quarterly reports may be on cash 
basis   

  
Activities other than bingo and pull-tabs may be accounted with cash or modified cash 
method 15 AAC 160.830(c) 

  Expenses [other than prizes] must be paid by check drawn on the gaming account 15 AAC 160.830(f) 

  Gaming account must have check-writing privileges 15 AAC 160.820(a) 

    Account name must include "gaming" 15 AAC 160.820(a) 

    Both signatories must be residents and natural persons 15 AAC 160.820(b) 

    
Disbursements must be by two-signatory check, except for permit renewal fees, 
penalty, interest 15 AAC 160.820(b) 

    May not use pre-signed checks or signature stamp 15 AAC 160.820(c) 

  
Ideal net no longer an allowable accounting method for pull-tabs--old 15 AAC 
160.470(g) repealed 15 AAC 160.470 

  
Permittee may report pull-tab game inventory based on number of unopened games in 
possession 15 AAC 160.830(j) 

  Permittees and MBP members may not pay expenses of operator or MBP 15 AAC 160.830(e) 

  Refund rules--how to account for expenses refunded by service and supply vendors 15 AAC 160.830(g) 

    Extension of time to file a report to account for refund 15 AAC 160.830(i) 

  Transition from cash to accrual 15 AAC 160.830(h) 

Accrual accounting--see Accounting methods   
Action against permit announced by mail 15 AAC 160.880(b) 

Activity  banned during delinquency AS 05.15.095(b) 

  
Activity banned during delinquency includes sales by distributors to delinquent 
permittee/operator 15 AAC 160.963 

Additional:  Fee of 1% of net proceeds is due if permittee gross receipts are $20,000 
or more AS 05.15.020(b) 

  Material for application evaluation or investigation 15 AAC 160.080 

Address--permittees, operators and distributors must file current activity and records sites with 
Department 15 AAC 160.075 

Adjusted Gross Income defined AS 05.15.690(1) 

Administration of Chapter AS 05.15.010 

Administrative Appeals 15 AAC 160.910 

Admission charge to bingo determined by permittee or operator 15 AAC 160.510(a) 

Adopt/enforce accounting methods to control use of proceeds AS 05.15.060(a)(2) 

Adopted order final:  Takes effect when final order issued under §§110, 880, 885, 
886 or 910 15 AAC 160.880(b) 

Advertisements 15 AAC 160.950 
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Advertising:  Include permit [and operator] name and number 15 AAC 160.950 

Broadcasting may be used to promote a raffle, fish derby, dog mushing contest or 
classic AS 05.15.640(a) 

Limit on expense:  5% of  AGI 15 AAC 160.780 

Promotion of any gaming activity allowed on any Internet format AS 05.15.640(b) 

Advisory notice:  Application 15 AAC 160.985(a) 

Defined 15 AAC 160.995(1) 

Response 15 AAC 160.985(c) 

Affiliate defined 15 AAC 160.995(2) 

Age limit:  Animal classics 15 AAC 160.676 

Chicken contest--19 years old 15 AAC 160.676(a)(4) 

Rat race--19 years old 15 AAC 160.676(a)(4) 

Bingo play--19 years old AS 05.15.180(f) 

Calcutta pool, as either better or competitor on whom a Calcutta pool bet may be placed--18 
years old AS 05.15.180(h) 

Worker--18 years old 15 AAC 160.715(f) 

Licensees--minimum age 
Distributor must be 21 15 AAC 160.050(b) 

Operator must be 21 15 AAC 160.030(g) 

Member in charge must be 21 15 AAC 160.970(f) 

Pull-tab:  purchase or play by, or sale to--21 years old AS 05.15.187(e) 

Pull-tab:  purchase or play by, or sale by or to--21 years old 15 AAC 160.480(b) 

Raffles have no age limit to buy or sell tickets or to participate in the raffle in any 
capacity 

Airwaves, conduct of gaming over, prohibited but for non-commercial broadcasting AS 05.15.640(b) 

Ban on conduct includes the internet--both web sites and email AS 05.15.640(b) 

Broadcasting promotion allowed for a fish derby, dog musher's contest, classic or raffle AS 05.15.640(a)(1) 

Change in §640 annulled 15 AAC 160.945(b), and made (c) invalid CSHB 245, 2012 
Conditions defined; limited to not-for-profit broadcasters 15 AAC 160.945(a) 

Not-for-profit broadcaster provisions AS 05.15.640(b) 

Conduct limited to noncommercial broadcast station or network AS 05.15.640(b) 

Promotion on airwaves allowed for a fish derby, classic defined in AS 05.15.690, dog musher's 
contest, raffle AS 05.15.640(a)(1) 

Exceptions include dog mushers' contests, fish derbies, raffles, and classics defined in 
AS 05.15.690 AS 05.15.640(a) 

Promotion of all gaming activities, not conduct, allowed on Internet, in any format AS 05.15.640(a)(2) 

Restrictions on use AS 05.15.640 

Also 
[This subsection annulled by CH 62 SLA 2012 (CSHB 245), effective 
10 September 2012] 15 AAC 160.945(b) 

Alcoholic beverages:  Bingo, prohibited in conjunction with 15 AAC 160.500 

Liquor license required for:  Registered vendor--liquor store or full-service bar [not 
fraternal] AS 05.15.690(47) 

May not sell pull-tabs to one who is drunk 15 AAC 160.480(c) 

Operator may lease space in liquor establishment to sell pull-tabs; rules 15 AAC 160.936 

Pull-tabs:  May not be sold to one who is drunk 15 AAC 160.480(c) 

Allows use of permit or license by another--prohibited and grounds for action 15 AAC 160.880(a)(6) 
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Altered pull-tab tickets may not be sold 15 AAC 160.470(b) 
Alteration of permit or license--grounds for action 15 AAC 160.880(a)(5) 
Alternate member[s] in charge:  See "Member in Charge"   
Amended application form for changes for permittee/licensee 15 AAC 160.070(a) 
Animal classics defined AS 05.15.690(2) 
  Chicken contest 15 AAC 160.995(27) 
  Rat race   15 AAC 160.995(28) 
Animal classics 15 AAC 160.675  
  Conduct, chicken contest 15 AAC 160.676(c) 
    Rat race 15 AAC 160.676(b) 
  Defined   AS 05.15.690(2) 
    Also   15 AAC 160.995(26) 
Annual CPA review of operator records required AS 05.15.165(e) 
  Required elements 15 AAC 160.310 
Annual Financial Statement required with additional fee 15 AAC 160.850(a) 

  
Accrual accounting required for bingo and pull-tabs; optional for quarterlies, other 
activities 15 AAC 160.830(a), (c) 

  
Additional 1% fee may be paid electronically on State web site; also penalty and 
interest, if any 15 AAC 160.820(b) 

  Prescribed form required, with all required information 15 AAC 160.850(a) 
Annual report by:  Multiple-beneficiary permittees AS 05.15.083(b) 
  Multiple-beneficiary permittees AS 05.15.145(d) 
  Operators AS 05.15.083(b) 
  Permittees--see Annual Financial Statement also AS 05.15.080(b) 
  Required elements 15 AAC 160.310 
Appeal--see Administrative Appeals 15 AAC 160.910 
Amended applications must be filed within ten days 15 AAC 160.070 
Applications   15 AAC 160.070(a) 
  Amendments--use the amended application form to accomplish; file within ten days 15 AAC 160.070 

  
Criminal history check required for MICs and applicants for operator and distributor 
licenses 15 AAC 160.934 

  Denial may be contested 15 AAC 160.110(h) 
  Departmental consideration of local government unit protest 15 AAC 160.090 
  Distributor 15 AAC 160.050 
  Fingerprints 15 AAC 160.100 
  Local jurisdiction must be copied with permit application AS 05.15.030(a) 
    Amendment must be copied to local jurisdiction 15 AAC 160.707(e) 
  Manufacturer 15 AAC 160.040 
  Member in charge of gaming AS 05.15.112 
  Membership--25 members required 15 AAC 160.020(a)(6) 
    Waived for municipality, school, university 15 AAC 160.020(c) 
  Multiple-Beneficiary Permit AS 05.15.145 
  Notice to local jurisdiction AS 05.15.030(a) 
    Permittee may choose which if there is more than one 15 AAC 160.020(e) 
  Permittee 15 AAC 160.020 
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  Public Interest:  additional information AS 05.15.130 
  Operator   15 AAC 160.030 
  Registered Vendor AS 05.15.188 
  Signed under penalty of unsworn falsification AS 05.15.095(a) 
  Supplemental information 15 AAC 160.080 
Appraisal for real estate:  MBP lease from member permittee allowable 15 AAC 160.954(c)(3) 
  Operator bond or security 15 AAC 160.030(b)(3) 
Assembly and packaging of pull-tabs 15 AAC 160.380 
Audit paid by operator to appeal net proceeds revocation AS 05.15.128(b) 
Authorized:  Activities a privilege, not a right AS 05.15.110 
  Activities listed AS 05.15.100(a) 
  Activities listed AS 05.15.115(b) 
  Activities listed AS 05.15.180(b) 
  Equipment not allowed to be used AS 05.15.180(a) 
  Expenses:  Must be ordinary, necessary and reasonable 15 AAC 160.995(3) 
    Ordinary, necessary and reasonable AS 05.15.160(a) 
  Games:  Must be in statute or predate 1 January 1959 to be allowable AS 05.15.180(b) 
  Proof of activity--burden on permittee 15 AAC 160.990 
Authorizing Permittee defined AS 05.15.690(3) 
Authority to require additional material in application 15 AAC 160.080 

B 
Background check or background investigation--see Criminal history check 15 AAC 160.934 
Bad checks may not be charged to permittee by operator 15 AAC 160.270(c)(1) 
Ban on:  airwaves use to promote or conduct a gaming activity [with some 
exceptions] AS 05.15.640 

  
Activity during delinquency includes sales by distributors to delinquent 
permittee/operator 15 AAC 160.963 

  Charitable gaming in the city or village AS 05.15.620 
  Operators by a municipality AS 05.15.124 
  Pull-tabs in the city or village AS 05.15.620 
  Vendors by a municipality AS 05.15.124 
Bank account for permittee and operator receipts and disbursements; three-day 
deposit time limit 15 AAC 160.820(a) 

    
Delayed deposit allowable upon showing cause to the Department and resulting 
permission 15 AAC 160.800(e) 

  Account name must include "gaming" 15 AAC 160.820(a) 

  
Checks must be two-signature, but for permit renewal fees, 1% additional fee, penalty, 
interest 15 AAC 160.820(b) 

  
For funds retained for more than a year must be in gaming account or other insured 
account 15 AAC 160.822(b) 

  Interest earned is subject to AS 05.15.150 use restrictions 15 AAC 160.820(d) 
  May not use pre-signed checks or signature stamp 15 AAC 160.820(c) 
  Must have check-writing privileges 15 AAC 160.820(a) 
  Signatories must be Alaska residents and natural persons 15 AAC 160.820(b) 

  
Third-party checks may not be accepted by a permittee as payment for gaming 
participation 15 AAC 160.800(f) 
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Big Bull Moose Derby authorized AS 05.15.100(a) 
  Also     AS 05.15.115(c) 
  Also     AS 05.15.180(b) 
  Defined   AS 05.15.690(50) 
  Rules     15 AAC 160.705 
Bingo:  Accessories sales not part of gross receipts 15 AAC 160.510(a) 
  Admission charge determined by permittee or operator 15 AAC 160.600€ 
  Advertising 15 AAC 160.560(c) 
  Age limit--19 years old AS 05.15.180(f) 
  Alcohol prohibited 15 AAC 160.500(a) 
  Braille bingo cards may be reserved 15 AAC 160.590(b) 
  Call of number for bingo to be completed 15 AAC 160.590(l) 
  Caller may not play bingo, though permittee may allow other employees to play bingo 15 AAC 160.500(b) 
  Cards:  May not be discounted, sold on credit or given free 15 AAC 160.510(a) 
    May not be reserved for players; exceptions 15 AAC 160.510(c) 
      Electronic bingo paper may not be reserved 15 AAC 160.510(g) 
    Price set by permittee or operator 15 AAC 160.510(a) 
      Must be same for all cards, paper or electronic, to all players 15 AAC 160.510(a) 
    Sales   15 AAC 160.510 
  Cash prize and non-cash prizes must be receipted before delivery to winner 15 AAC 160.610(a) 
  Cash register required if gross receipts reach $100,000 15 AAC 160.520 
  Conduct of Bingo Games 15 AAC 160.590 
    Braille cards 15 AAC 160.590(b) 
    Fraud and deceit prohibited 15 AAC 160.590(a) 
  Consecutive sessions must be separated by at least one hour 15 AAC 160.580(e) 
  Defined   AS 05.15.690(4) 
  Defined   15 AAC 160.600(e)(2) 
  Disclosure of prizes and procedures 15 AAC 160.560 
  Duplicate hard cards:  must be posted and announced before the session starts 15 AAC 160.590(e) 

    
Soft cards:  two or more sets with a common series number may not be used in the 
same session 15 AAC 160.570(g) 

  Employee:  Identification tags 15 AAC 160.630 

    
May play bingo where employed (non-operator), if house rules allow, but caller 
may not play 15 AAC 160.500(b) 

  Equipment:  Defined 15 AAC 160.570(a) 
    Braille cards 15 AAC 160.590(b) 
    Electronic bingo paper:  Authorized 15 AAC 160.570(e) 
      Defined 15 AAC 160.995(7) 
      Other devices prohibited AS 05.15.180(a) 
    Flashboard malfunction--must be repaired before next session use 15 AAC 160.570(c) 
    Sale of, part of gross receipts AS 05.15.690(25) 
  Floor sales of bingo paper-- sold is its own receipt 15 AAC 160.520(c) 
  Free or discounted cards prohibited 15 AAC 160.510(a) 
  Gross receipts: for bingo do not include sale of accessories 15 AAC 160.600(e) 
    Include sale of equipment, supplies and other accessories, but see above for bingo AS 05.15.690(25) 
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  Hard card use prohibited if gross receipts in prior year exceeded $350,000 15 AAC 160.510(d) 
  House players prohibited for:  Operator AS 05.15.165(f) 
    Permittee or operator 15 AAC 160.938 

  
House rules:  May bar or allow permittee bingo employees to play bingo, but the caller 
may not play 15 AAC 160.500(b) 

    Must be posted 15 AAC 160.560(d) 
  Instant Bingo cards prohibited 15 AAC 160.570(f) 
  Number call completed 15 AAC 160.590(l) 
  Ownership of gaming items 15 AAC 160.300 
  Prizes:  Limits:  Annual limit not to exceed 85% of bingo gross receipts 15 AAC 160.600(c) 

    
Limit not reduced if operator contract terminated by permittee for non-use [non-
bingo] 15 AAC 160.220(c) 

    Limit not reduced if operator contract terminated by permittee for non-use [bingo] 15 AAC 160.600(b) 
      Single game--$1,000, including cash and merchandise 15 AAC 160.620(a) 
      Single session--$5,000, including cash and merchandise 15 AAC 160.620(a) 
      Without operator--$840,000 per year, including cash and merchandise 15 AAC 160.600(a) 
      With operator--$660,000 per year, including cash and merchandise 15 AAC 160.600(b) 
    Must be fully awarded by the end of the bingo session 15 AAC 160.590(n) 
    Payout defined 15 AAC 160.600(e)(1) 
    Receipts to winners 15 AAC 160.610 
  MBP annual bingo prize limit is the number of members times $840,000 15 AAC 160.600(a) 
  Merchandise prize value is FMV--usually what was paid for it at arm's length 15 AAC 160.620(a) 
  Prize receipt required for all prizes 15 AAC 160.610(a) 
  Procedures 15 AAC 160.590 
  Prohibited with alcohol 15 AAC 160.500(a) 
  Receipts to players for admission 15 AAC 160.520 
    Cash receipt--from a cash register 15 AAC 160.530 
      Cash register requirements 15 AAC 160.530 
    Floor sales of bingo paper-- sold is its own receipt 15 AAC 160.520(c) 
    Retention of sales receipts--three years from issue date 15 AAC 160.520(a) 
  Sales receipt:  Issue; may be either cash register receipt or floor-sold bingo sheet 15 AAC 160.520(a) 
    Retain for three years from issue date 15 AAC 160.520(a) 
    Required to claim bingo prize 15 AAC 160.520(d) 
  Session:  consecutive sessions separated by at least one hour break 15 AAC 160.580(e) 
    Limited to: 14 per month without operator 15 AAC 160.580(a) 
      11 per month with operator 15 AAC 160.580(a) 
    May not exceed 35 games 15 AAC 160.580(c) 
    Multiple-beneficiary permit session limits 15 AAC 160.580(b) 
    Records 15 AAC 160.625 
  Validated bingo sheet: defined 15 AAC 160.995(25) 
  Winner with subsequent call defined 15 AAC 160.590(b)(l) 
Bond, operator 15 AAC 160.200 
  Amount--$25,000 per permittee up to $100,000 AS 05.15.122(b)(5) 
  Changed--operator must notify Department AS 05.15.167(c) 
  Change in form may be required by Department 15 AAC 160.200 

Page 139 of 187  Go to Index 
 



  Demand upon bond or security 15 AAC 160.320 
  Forfeiture to pay fees, net proceeds, interest, penalty AS 05.15.167(b) 
  Lost or cancelled--operator must inform Department AS 05.15.167(c) 
  Must be payable to Department AS 05.15.167(a) 

  
Real property may substitute for bond--conditional; equity must be twice appraised 
amount 

15 AAC 
160.030(b)(3)(A) 

    Must be appraised for value every five years 15 AAC 160.030(b)(4) 
  Release of bond or security--conditions 15 AAC 160.330 
  Requirement for pull-tab game with secondary prize--$250,000 additional bond AS 05.15.187(g) 
  "Satisfactory to the department" defined 15 AAC 160.030(c) 
Books and records must conform to GAAP for bingo and pull-tabs--accrual 
accounting for AFS 15 AAC 160.830(a) 
  Inspection 15 AAC 160.980 
Braille bingo cards 15 AAC 160.590(b) 
Breach of contract grounds for revocation or suspension AS 05.15.170(a)(2) 
Broadcast, use of--see Airwaves   
Broadcasting defined AS 05.15.640(c)(1) 
Bucket or basket raffle; may use roll tickets; limitations 15 AAC 160.656(a)(1) 
  Defined   15 AAC 160.995(29) 
  House rules must be prominently posted 15 AAC 160.656(e) 
Building expenses 15 AAC 995(3)(A)(iv) 
  Depreciation--limited to straight line 15 AAC 160.790 
  Utilities   15 AAC 995(3)(A)(iv) 

C 
CPA review:  Of operator records annually AS 05.15.165(e) 
  CPA required; required elements 15 AAC 160.310 
  Date required AS 05.15.165(e) 
  MBP must also have 15 AAC 160.310(a) 
Cabbage classic authorized AS 05.15.100(a) 
  Also     AS 05.15.115(c) 
  Also     AS 05.15.180(b) 
  Defined   AS 05.15.690(5) 
Calcutta pool:  Allowed AS 05.15.180 
  Auction required to win right to bet on a competitor AS 05.15.690(6) 
  Defined   AS 05.15.690(6) 
  Horse racing excluded from allowable events on which a Calcutta may be held AS 05.15.690(6) 
  Limited   AS 05.15.180(h) 
    Age of better or competitor on whom a bet is placed--at least 18 AS 05.15.180(h) 
    Age of worker--at least 18 15 AAC 160.715(f) 
    Prize and expense limit--50% of gross receipts AS 05.15.160(e) 
  Operator may not conduct AS 05.15.100(c) 
  Prize receipt required for prize value of $50 or more 15 AAC 160.715(e) 
  Regulated 15 AAC 160.715 
  Report required AS 05.15.080(c) 
Calendar raffle 15 AAC 160.656(b) 
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  Defined   15 AAC 160.995(30) 
  House rules must be prominently posted 15 AAC 160.656(e) 
Call of number for bingo to be completed 15 AAC 160.590(l) 
Cancellation of Permits Based on Unlawful Provision AS 05.15.600 
Canned Salmon Classic defined AS 05.15.690(7) 
Cards, bingo, may not be reserved; exceptions 15 AAC 160.510(c) 
  Cards, dice and wheels may not be used AS 05.15.180(a) 
Cash prizes defined 15 AAC 160.995(4) 
Cash register required for bingo if gross receipts are over $100,000 15 AAC 160.520(b) 
Charitable gaming ban by municipality AS 05.15.620 
Charitable Organization defined AS 05.15.690(8) 
Change:  Application data--use amended application form 15 AAC 160.070(a) 
  Location by:  Operator--insurance for location AS 05.15.165(d) 
    Operator--notify Department and local jurisdiction within ten days AS 05.15.030(c) 
    Permittee--notify Department and local jurisdiction within ten days AS 05.15.030(c) 
  Name/Legal status 15 AAC 160.070(a) 
  Operator bond or security 15 AAC 160.200 
    Also   AS 05.15.165(d) 
  Return or destroy old permit/license/registration to Department upon receipt of new 15 AAC 160.070(c) 
Checking account:  Checks may not be drawn to cash or fictitious payee 15 AAC 160.820(c)(2) 
  Account name must include "gaming" 15 AAC 160.820(a) 
  Deposit all gaming proceeds 15 AAC 160.820(a) 
  Expenses paid by check 15 AAC 160.830(f) 
  May not use pre-signed checks or signature stamp 15 AAC 160.820(c) 
  Separate account for gaming funds 15 AAC 160.820(a) 
  Signatories must be Alaska residents and natural persons 15 AAC 160.820(b) 

  
Two signatures required on all checks, but for permit renewal fees, 1% additional fee, 
penalty, interest 15 AAC 160.820(b) 

Chicken contest authorized AS 05.15.100(a) 
  Application 15 AAC 160.675 
  Defined   AS 05.15.690(2)(B) 
  Also     15 AAC 160.995(27) 
  Operation 15 AAC 160.675(b) 
Classic, as defined in AS 05.15.690, is exempt from airwaves promotion ban AS 05.15.640(a) 
Coin board; coin in the board is valued at face value 15 AAC 160.470(n) 
  Defined   15 AAC 160.995(33) 
  Unclaimed prizes go to buyer of last pull-tab in the game 15 AAC 160.470(m) 
Coin-operated machines not allowed AS 05.15.180(a) 
Civic or Service Organization defined AS 05.15.690(9) 
Commissioner:  May require additional eligibility items AS 05.15.130 
  Powers of:  Action in violation of statute or regulation:  stop order AS 05.15.610 
    Issues permit if not detrimental to public good AS 05.15.140(a) 
    Issues multiple-beneficiary permit if not detrimental to public good AS 05.15.145(a) 
Compensation:  Employees--must be reasonable, and is for personal services rendered in 
gaming activity AS 05.15.160(b) 
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  Operator--is for personal services only AS 05.15.160(a) 
    For personal services only 15 AAC 160.230 
Conduct of:  Gaming on the airwaves prohibited, but for non-commercial broadcast stations 
or networks AS 05.15.640(b) 
  Promotion of any gaming activity allowed on any Internet format AS 05.15.640(a) 
  Statute change annulled 15 AAC 160.945(b); effective 10 September 2012 CSHB 245, 2012 
Conflict of interests:  Employees, manager or owner engaged in sale of pull-tabs AS 05.15.187(h) 

  
Employees may play permittee's bingo games where they work if permittee allows, 
except for caller 15 AAC 160.500(b) 

  Insider information use prohibited in sale of pull-tabs AS 05.15.170(a)(5) 
  Prohibited, grounds for action 15 AAC 160.880(a)(12) 
    Defined 15 AAC 160.954(b) 
    Persons affected 15 AAC 160.954(e) 
    Also   15 AAC 160.954(f) 
  Related party transactions, some, allowed 15 AAC 160.954(c) 
Construction standards for pull-tabs--must conform to NAGRA standards 15 AAC 160.370 
Consultant or fundraiser defined AS 05.15.690(22) 
Contestants in fish derbies must abide by permittee rules 15 AAC 160.690(a) 
Contest of Skill defined AS 05.15.690(10) 
  Records retention--three years from the due date or filing date of the report they support 15 AAC 160.870 
Contracts between permittee and:  Operators AS 05.15.115(a) 
    Department approval is to form only 15 AAC 160.220(d) 
    Must be specific AS 05.15.115(b) 
    Only one operator at a time for a given activity AS 05.15.115(c) 
    Terms 15 AAC 160.220 
    Termination--restoration of prize limits upon demonstration of permit non-use 15 AAC 160.220(c) 
  Vendors   15 AAC 160.340 
Contributions of capital; gifts and loans 15 AAC 160.363 
  MBPs   15 AAC 160.363(b) 
  Permittees 15 AAC 160.363(a) 
Convicted felon/gambling violation:  Employment prohibited AS 05.15.105 
  Grounds for revocation/denial of operator license AS 05.15.105 
  May not make gift to a permittee 15 AAC 160.363(a)(3) 
  May not make gift to an MBP 15 AAC 160.363(c)(3) 
  Reinstatement of eligibility 15 AAC 160.992 
Copy of procedures, statutes and regulations required on premises 15 AAC 160.940 
Counterfeit pull-tab:  Detection method to be disclosed to Department by 
manufacturer 15 AAC 160.370(d) 
  Must be identifiable 15 AAC 160.370(d) 
Crane classic--Allowed AS 05.15.180 
  Defined   AS 05.15.690(11) 
  Regulation 15 AAC 160.717 
Credit:  May not be extended to players by operator AS 05.15.165(f) 
  Forbidden, by permittees and operators 15 AAC 160.938 
  Sales of bingo cards on credit prohibited 15 AAC 160.510(a) 
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Criminal conviction:  Bar to participation in gaming as supervisor or manager AS 05.15.105 
Criminal history check required 15 AAC 160.934 
Notice to Department by applicant, permittee, licensee or vendor 15 AAC 160.900 

Current address for bingo and pull-tab activities and gaming records storage must be filed 
with Department 15 AAC 160.075 

D 
Deceit or fraud--grounds for action 15 AAC 160.880(a)(15) 
Deep Freeze Classic defined AS 05.15.690(12) 
Defaced pull-tab tickets may not be sold 15 AAC 160.470(b) 

Winning pull-tabs of $50 or more must be defaced or punched immediately after 
redemption 15 AAC 160.470(i) 

Defective pull-tabs may be withdrawn from play AS 05.15.187(d) 
Also 15 AAC 160.490(8) 
Also if lost, stolen, or damaged 15 AAC 160.490(4) 

Definitions:  Regulation 15 AAC 160.995 
Statute AS 05.15.690 
Adjusted Gross Income AS 05.15.690(1) 
Advisory notice 15 AAC 160.995(1) 
Affiliate 15 AAC 160.995(2) 
Animal classics AS 05.15.690(2) 

Animal classics 15 AAC 160.995(26) 
Chicken contest AS 05.15.690(2)(B) 
Chicken contest 15 AAC 160.995(27) 
Rat race AS 05.15.690(2)(A) 
Rat race 15 AAC 160.995(28) 

Authorized:  Activities AS 05.15.100(a) 
Activities AS 05.15.115(b) 
Activities AS 05.15.180(b) 
Expenses 15 AAC 160.995(3)(A) 

Authorizing Permittee AS 05.15.690(3) 
Big Bull Moose Derby AS 05.15.690(50) 

Rules 15 AAC 160.705 
Bingo AS 05.15.690(4) 

Activity 15 AAC 160.600(e)(2) 
Equipment 15 AAC 160.570(a) 
Gross receipts 15 AAC 160.600(e) 
Hard card 15 AAC 160.995(11) 
Prize payout 15 AAC 160.600(e)(1) 
Validated sheet 15 AAC 160.995(25) 

Bond "satisfactory to the department" 15 AAC 160.030(c) 
Broadcasting, types included AS 05.15.640(c)(1) 
Bucket or basket raffle 15 AAC 160.995(29) 
Cabbage classic AS 05.15.690(5) 
Calcutta pool AS 05.15.690(6) 
Calendar raffle 15 AAC 160.995(30) 
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  Canned Salmon Classic AS 05.15.690(7) 
  Cash prizes 15 AAC 160.995(4) 
  Charitable Organization AS 05.15.690(8) 
  Chicken Contest AS 05.15.690(2)(B) 
  Civic or Service Organization AS 05.15.690(9) 
  Coin board 15 AAC 160.995(33) 
  Conflict of Interest AS 05.15.954(b) 
  Consultant or Fundraiser AS 05.15.690(22) 
  Contest of Chance AS 11.280(1) 
  Contest of Skill AS 05.15.690(10) 
  Crane Classic AS 05.15.690(11) 
  Deep Freeze Classic AS 05.15.690(12) 
  Department AS 05.15.690(13) 
  Direct relative 15 AAC 160.995(5) 
  Dispensing device, pull-tabs 15 AAC 160.995(35) 
  Dissolution clause 15 AAC 160.020(a)(5) 
  Distribute AS 05.15.690(14) 
  Dog Mushers' Association AS 05.15.690(15) 
  Dog Mushers' contest AS 05.15.690(16) 
  Door prize 15 AAC 160.995(6) 
  Educational Organization AS 05.15.690(17) 
  Electronic Bingo Paper 15 AAC 160.995(7) 
  Employee of permittee, operator, MBP or vendor 15 AAC 160.190(c) 
  Established village AS 05.15.690(18) 
  Expenses:  Ordinary, necessary and reasonable 15 AAC 160.995(3) 
    Authorized 15 AAC 160.995(3)(A) 
    Unauthorized 15 AAC 160.995(3)(B) 
  Financial interest 15 AAC 160.995(8) 
  Fishing Derby Association AS 05.15.690(19) 
  Fish Derby AS 05.15.690(20) 
  Flare Card 15 AAC 160.995(9) 
  Fraternal Organization AS 05.15.690(21) 
  Fund raiser or consultant AS 05.15.690(22) 
  Gambling:  Affirmative defenses AS 11.66.250 
    Defined AS 11.66.280(2) 
    Definitions AS 11.66.280 
    Device AS 11.66.280(3) 
    Enterprise AS 11.66.280(4) 
    Forfeiture AS 11.66.270 
    Gambling, three elements of    AS 11.66.280(2) 
    Player AS 11.66.280(6) 
    Possession of gambling device AS 11.66.260 
    Profits AS 11.66.280(7) 
    Promotion:  First degree, defined AS 11.66.210 
      Second degree, defined AS 11.66.220 
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    Record AS 11.66.280(5) 
    Records possession:  First degree AS 11.66.230 
      Second degree AS 11.66.240 
    Social Game AS 11.66.280(9) 
    Something of Value AS 11.66.280(10) 
  Gift     15 AAC 160.995(10) 
    Item discounted substantially below FMV is a gift 15 AAC 160.800(b) 
  Goose Classic AS 05.15.690(23) 
  Governing body AS 05.15.690(24) 
  Gross Receipts AS 05.15.690(25) 
    Bingo   15 AAC 160.600(e) 
  Hard Card 15 AAC 160.995(11) 
  Ice Classic AS 05.15.690(26) 
  Ideal Gross Receipts 15 AAC 160.995(12) 
  Ideal Net   AS 05.15.690(27) 
  Internet   AS 05.15.640(c)(2) 
  Internet communication AS 05.15.640(c)(3) 
  King Salmon Classic AS 05.15.690(28) 
  Labor Organization AS 05.15.690(29) 
  Licensee   15 AAC 160.995(13) 
  Lottery or raffle AS 05.15.690(41) 
  Manager of gaming 15 AAC 160.995(14) 
  Managerial or supervisory capacity AS 05.15.690(30) 
  Mercury Classic AS 05.15.690(31) 
  Municipality [removed]   
  Mushing sweepstakes--no longer authorized   
  Non-gaming source 15 AAC 160.160(15) 
  Net Proceeds AS 05.15.690(32) 
  Noncommercial radio station AS 05.15.640(b) 
  Nonprofit Trade Association 15 AAC 160.995(16) 
  Notice of Violation 15 AAC 160.995(17) 
  Numbers Wheel AS 05.15.690(33) 
  Operator   AS 05.15.690(34) 
  Outboard Motor Association 15 AAC 160.995(18) 
  Permit   15 AAC 160.995(19) 
  Permittee AS 05.15.690(35) 
    Permittee 15 AAC 160.995(20) 
  Player   AS 11.66.280(6) 
  Point of sale system 15 AAC 160.995(34) 
  Police or Fire Department and Company AS 05.15.690(36) 
  Political Organization AS 05.15.690(37) 
  Primary Gaming Location 15 AAC 160.995(21) 
  Prize Payout [Bingo] 15 AAC 600(e)(1) 
  Profits from Gambling AS 11.66.280(7) 
  Progressive raffle 15 AAC 160.656(c) 
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    Progressive raffle 15 AAC 160.995(31) 
  Prohibited Financial Interest 15 AAC 160.995(22) 
  Pull-tab Game AS 05.15.690(38) 
  Pull-tab dispensing device 15 AAC 160.995(35) 
  Purchase inducement programs defined, prohibited 15 AAC 160.942 
  Qualified Organization AS 05.15.690(39) 
  Race Classic AS 05.15.690(40) 
  Raffle or lottery AS 05.15.690(41) 
  Rain Classic AS 05.15.690(42) 
  Rat Race AS 05.15.690(2)(A) 
  Religious Organization AS 05.15.690(43) 
  Salmon Classic AS 05.15.690(44) 
  Seal card   15 AAC 160.995(36) 
  Self-directed permit 15 AAC 160.995(23) 
  Series   AS 05.15.690(45) 
  Snow Classic AS 05.15.690(49) 
  Snow Machine Classic AS 05.15.690(46) 
  Social Game AS 11.66.280(9) 
  Something of Value AS 11.66.280(10) 
  Split-the-pot raffle 15 AAC 160.995(32) 
  Spousal Equivalent 15 AAC 160.995(24) 
  Supervisor 15 AAC 160.995(37) 
  Supervisory or Managerial Capacity AS 05.15.690(30) 
  Unauthorized expenses 15 AAC 160.995(3)(B) 
  Unlawful   AS 11.66.280(11) 
  Validated bingo sheet 15 AAC 160.995(25) 
  Valuation appraisal, as used in AS 08.87.900 for real estate used in operator bonding 15 AAC 160.030(b)(3)(A) 
  Vendor   AS 05.15.690(47) 
  Veterans' Organization AS 05.15.690(48) 
Delinquent:  Payments made with forfeited operator bond AS 05.15.167(b) 
  Reports/fees--no gaming activity may occur until they are filed/paid AS 05.15.095(b) 
  Ban; includes sales to delinquent permittees and operators 15 AAC 160.963(c) 
Denial/suspension/revocation grounds--permits, licenses, registrations 15 AAC 160.880 
Denial of a permit or license 15 AAC 160.110 
  Application   15 AAC 160.886 
  Hearing request upon denial 15 AAC 160.110(a) 
  Also     15 AAC 160.910 
Department:  Consideration of local government unit protest 15 AAC 160.090 
  Defined   AS 05.15.690(13) 
  Forms used for permittee annual report 15 AAC 160.850 
  Forms used for permittee quarterly report 15 AAC 160.840 
  May approve all pull-tab designs 15 AAC 160.390 
  May decide individual need of operator license 15 AAC 160.190(a) 
  May inspect premises, books and records 15 AAC 160.980 
  May issue:  Distributor license AS 05.15.183(b) 
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    Manufacturer license AS 05.15.181(b) 
    Operator license AS 05.15.122(b) 
  May require eligibility proof for permit AS 05.15.140(a) 
Deposit gaming funds in gaming bank account 15 AAC 160.820(a) 
Depreciation--limited to straight-line; time periods for asset types 15 AAC 160.790(a) 
  Permittee or MBP may elect to expense if expense limits observed 15 AAC 160.790(b) 
Destroy or return to the Department noncurrent permit, license or vendor 
registration 15 AAC 160.070(c) 
Destruction of pull-tabs--limited 15 AAC 160.490 
Detection method of counterfeit pull-tabs revealed to Department by manufacturer 15 AAC 160.370(d) 
Dice, wheels and cards may not be used AS 05.15.180(a) 
Direct Relative defined 15 AAC 160.995(5) 
Disclosure of prohibited financial interest required on permit application AS 05.15.140(b)(2) 
Discount of bingo cards prohibited 15 AAC 160.510(a) 
Dispensing device for pull-tabs may be used; limitations 15 AAC 160.470(l) 
Display of permit required 15 AAC 160.110(b) 
Disposition of funds:  Limited by suspension/revocation of 
permit/license/registration 15 AAC 160.890 
Dispensing device for pull-tabs may be used; limitations 15 AAC 160.470(l) 
  Defined   15 AAC 160.995(35) 
Disqualification for certain crimes AS 05.15.105 
  Termination of disqualification 15 AAC 160.992 
Dissolution clause required in by-laws as part of permit application 15 AAC 160.020(a)(5) 
  Applies to net proceeds retained for more than a year 15 AAC 160.822(d) 
Distribute defined AS 05.15.690(14) 
Distribution of pull-tabs by manufacturer only to distributor AS 05.15.181(d) 
Distribution of:  Pull-tabs AS 05.15.185 
    Licensed distributor AS 05.15.183 
    Manufacturer   AS 05.15.181(d) 
    Also   15 AAC 160.410 
  Winning pull-tabs must be random in box[is] 15 AAC 160.380 
Distributor:  Addition/deletion of gaming activity--use amended application form 15 AAC 160.070(a) 
  Amended application form for application data changes 15 AAC 160.070(a) 
  Application for license 15 AAC 160.050 
    Supplemental information 15 AAC 160.080 
    Age and residency requirements 15 AAC 160.050(c)/(d) 
  Invoice must show price of each sale, net of any discount 15 AAC 160.942(d)(1) 
    Also   15 AAC 160.942(e)(1) 
  Department consideration of local government unit protest 15 AAC 160.090 
  False statement in an application 15 AAC 160.880(a)(1) 
  Fax, email and web sites may be used among permittees and licensees; no public access 15 AAC 160.945(c) 
  Invoice to buyer to include certain minimum information 15 AAC 160.420(a) 
  Lease or sublease of facility used in conduct of gaming prohibited after 2003 15 AAC 160.954(b)(4) 
  License:  Needed AS 05.15.183 
    Not transferable 15 AAC 160.120 
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Surrender upon suspension or revocation 15 AAC 160.140 
May not:  Distribute directly to a vendor AS 05.15.183(e)(3) 

Sell to a delinquent permittee or operator 15 AAC 160.963(c) 
Monthly report:  Criteria 15 AAC 160.430 
Must forward pull-tab labels to permittee 15 AAC 160.420(b) 
Must pay 3% pull-tab tax to Department monthly 15 AAC 160.460(b) 
Must remit pull-tab tax collected with report 15 AAC 160.460(b) 
Prohibited conflict of interest defined 15 AAC 160.954 

Direct Relative defined 15 AAC 160.995(5) 
Pull-tabs:  License application requirements 15 AAC 160.050 

Must give game invoice to permittee 15 AAC 160.420(a) 
Point-of-sale systems must accept data from all games sold by all distributors 15 AAC 160.942(f) 
Purchase must be paid by permittee within thirty days 15 AAC 160.450 
Pull-tab labels must accompany game when distributed 15 AAC 160.420(b) 

Purchase inducement programs defined, prohibited 15 AAC 160.942 
Records retained for three years must include price paid for each pull-tab game 15 AAC 160.440(b) 
Report monthly to Department AS 05.15.083(d) 

Report monthly to Department 15 AAC 160.430 
Due date 15 AAC 160.183(d) 

Report contents 15 AAC 160.440(a) 
Tracking and accounting of pull-tab games purchased, sold, and in inventory 15 AAC 160.420(c) 
Transfer of pull-tabs to another distributor allowed AS 05.15.185(3) 

Dog Musher's Association defined AS 05.15.690(15) 
Dog Mushers' Contest defined AS 05.15.690(16) 

Defined, including prizes 15 AAC 160.680(a) 
Prizes awarded under permittee or operator rules 15 AAC 160.680(c) 
Promotion [advertising] may be broadcast on radio and TV or posted online in any 
format AS 05.15.640(a) 
Recorded retention--three years from the due date or filing date of the report they 
support 15 AAC 160.870 

Donation of net proceeds--See Net Proceeds, Use 
Door prizes: defined 

15 AAC 160.995(6) 
Limited to $20,000 per month per permittee offered or awarded AS 05.15.180(d) 
Limited to $20,000 per month per bingo hall offered or awarded AS 05.15.180(e) 
Open to all who want to enter, without regard to participation in a gaming activity 15 AAC 160.995(6) 
Permittee/MBP member may not pay expenses of operator/MBP 15 AAC 160.830(e) 

Treated as an expense item 
15 AAC 

160.995(1)(A)(xiv) 
Drop-shipment of pull-tabs prohibited  "(Drop shipment" means shipment directly from an 
Outside source) AS 05.15.183(c) 
Drunk person may not buy pull-tabs 15 AAC 160.480(c) 
Due date:  Operator/MBP CPA review--28 February AS 05.15.165(e) 

Operator annual report to permittee AS 05.15.087(c) 
Operator monthly report to permittee AS 05.15.087(a) 
Operator quarterly report:  to Department AS 05.15.083(a) 
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To permittee AS 05.15.087(b) 
MBP annual report to Department AS 05.15.083(a) 

Report as operator AS 05.15.145(d) 
Permittee annual financial statement AS 05.15.080(b) 
Thirty-day extension 15 AAC 160.860(a) 

Duplicate hard cards:  must be posted and announced before the session starts 15 AAC 160.590(e) 
Soft cards:  two or more sets with a common series number may not be used in the same 
session 15 AAC 160.570(g) 

E 
Educational Organization defined AS 05.15.690(17) 
Electronic/mechanical aids prohibited to play pull-tabs 15 AAC 160.470(f) 

Devices not allowed that are not expressly authorized by the Department AS 05.15.180(a) 
Electronic Bingo Paper:  Authorized 15 AAC 570.(e) 

Defined 15 AAC 160.995(7) 

Elements of gambling:  consideration, chance, prize  [but not as elegantly worded] 
AG Opinion 663-01-

0183 
Elements of gambling AS 11.66.280(2) 

Eligible for permit--only municipality or not-for-profit organization AS 05.15.120 
Email, fax and web sites may be used by permittees and licensees among themselves; no 
public access 15 AAC 160.945(c) 
Embezzlement/theft:  permittee/MBP rules for accounting if recovery involved 15 AAC 160.835(c) 
Employee:  Defined, of permittee, MBP, operator or vendor 15 AAC 160.190(c) 

May not play pull-tabs sold by the employer, whether operator, permittee, MBP, or 
registered vendor AS 05.15.187(h) 
Of operator may not play authorizing permittee's games AS 05.15.165(f) 
Of operator may not play authorizing permittee's pull-tab games AS 05.15.187(h) 
Of operator may not be a member in charge for an authorizing permittee 15 AAC 160.970(a) 
Of permittee may not play permittee's bingo games if the permittee so decides 15 AAC 160.500(b) 
Of registered vendor may not be a member in charge for contracting permittee 15 AAC 160.970(a) 
Theft or fraud cannot be charged to permittee by operator 15 AAC 160.270(c) 
Wages must be reasonable AS 05.15.160(b) 

Employment of prohibited person--grounds for action AS 05.15.105(a) 
Termination of prohibition 15 AAC 160.992 

Equipment:  Cards, wheels, dice, coin-operated machines, or other gambling 
equipment not allowed AS 05.15.180(a) 

Sale of, included in gross receipts AS 05.15.695(25) 
Essay contest to award property is not in our jurisdiction; call AG AG's office 
Established Village defined AS 05.15.690(18) 
Examination of books and records AS 05.15.070 

Inspection of books and records 15 AAC 160.980 
Exceptions for persons prohibited from involvement in gaming 15 AAC 160.992 
Expenses:  Actual expenses must be reported, regardless of limitations 15 AAC 160.835(e) 

Authorized, must be ordinary, necessary and reasonable AS 05.15.160(a) 
Also 15 AAC 160.995(3)(A) 
Advertising:  Limited to  5% of AGI for each activity 15 AAC 160.780 
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Defined:  must be ordinary, necessary and reasonable 15 AAC 160.995(3) 
Depreciation limited to straight line; time periods for property types 15 AAC 160.790 

Door prizes--see Door prizes above 
15 AAC 

160.995(3)(A)(xiv) 
Other non-pull-tab activities--limited to 90% of AGI for the activity AS 05.15.160(d) 
Limited for operators and permittees AS 05.15.160 

Non-pull-tabs:  90% of AGI for bingo AS 05.15.160(d) 
  Pull-tabs--70% of AGI from pull-tabs AS 05.15.160(c) 
Operator AS 05.15.160 
Paid by check only, except for prizes paid in cash or merchandise 15 AAC 160.830(f) 
Permittees with an operator or MBP may not pay expenses of operator or MBP 15 AAC 160.830(e) 

Pull-tab taxes under AS 05.15.184 
15 AAC 

160.995(3)A)(x) 
Refund of expense reduces reportable gaming expenses; rules 15 AAC 160.830(g) 
Rental and wage expenses must be separately accounted by an operator 15 AAC 160.230 
Transition from cash to accrual:  expenses unreported in change will not be in net proceeds 
computation 15 AAC 160.830(h) 
Unauthorized 15 AAC 160.995(3)(B) 

Include expenses not authorized and authorized expenses in excess of AS 05.15160 
caps 15 AAC 160.835(a) 
Theft or fraud loss by operator employee also unauthorized expense 15 AAC 160.270(c) 

Expiration of permit AS 05.15.040 
Extension of time to:  File a report or annual review of financial records 15 AAC 160.860(a) 

Get vendor statement concerning refund if extension does not prevent timely AFS filing 15 AAC 160.830(i) 
Use net proceeds AS 05.15.150(b) 

Rules 15 AAC 160.822 
F 

Facility used to conduct gaming activity may not be leased or subleased by a 
distributor after 2003 15 AAC 160.954(b)(3) 
Failure to, grounds for action:  Alters a permit, license or registration 15 AAC 160.880(a)(5) 

Allows an employee to violate AS 05.15 or 15 AAC 160 15 AAC 160.880(a)(7) 
Allows another to use a permit, license or registration 15 AAC 160.880(a)(6) 
Comply with AS 05.15 or 15 AAC 160 15 AAC 160.880(a)(7) 

Immediate revocation involving net proceeds payment or expense limitation 
compliance 15 AAC 160.885(a)(1) 

Cooperate with the Department 15 AAC 160.880(a)(2) 
Engages in a transaction that violates 15 AAC 160.942, Purchase inducement programs 15 AAC 160.880(a)(23) 
File reports timely 15 AAC 160.880(a)(8) 

Immediate revocation 15 AAC 160.885(a)(2) 
Give information or records 15 AAC 160.880(a)(10) 
Has a prohibited conflict of interest 15 AAC 160.880(a)(12) 
Make/keep books and records 15 AAC 160.880(a)(9) 
Meet application requirements 15 AAC 160.880(a)(3) 
Participates in transaction[s] that result in payment of less than 70% of ideal net to a 
permittee 15 AAC 160.880(a)(22) 
Pay:  Department 15 AAC 160.880(a)(4) 
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    Distributor for pull-tabs 15 AAC 160.880(a)(11) 
    Minimum proceeds to permittee AS 05.15.128(a)(2) 
    Net proceeds, or other amounts due, to permittee 15 AAC 160.880(a)(20) 
  Report AGI of at least 15% of annual gross receipts by operator AS 05.15.128(a)(1) 
  Substantiate report 15 AAC 160.880(a)(2) 
  Use net proceeds properly AS 05.15.150(a) 
    Immediate revocation 15 AAC 160.885(a)(4) 
  Uses other than volunteer member, employee, operator or vendor for gaming activity 15 AAC 160.880(a)(17) 
Failure to file reports--no gaming activity until filed AS 05.15.095(b) 
False statement in application:  Grounds for action 15 AAC 160.880(a)(1) 
  License application AS 05.15.680(b) 
  Permit application--unsworn falsification AS 05.15.680(b) 
  Punishable by law AS 05.15.140(d) 
  Signed under penalty of unsworn falsification AS 05.15.095(a) 
  Vendor application AS 05.15.680(b) 
Fax, email and web sites may be used by permittees and licensees among themselves; no 
public access 15 AAC 160.945(c) 
Fees for:   Permit AS 05.15.020(c) 
    Pull-tab distributor--$1,000 annually AS 05.15.183(b) 
    Pull-tab manufacturer license--$2,500 annually AS 05.15.181(b) 
    Vendor application--$50 AS 05.15.188(a) 
  Interest on delinquent fees 15 AAC 160.960 
    Interest AS 05.15.095(c) 
  Permit fee refundable if requested before permit/license issued 15 AAC 160.170 
  Permittee--due with annual report AS 05.15.080 
  Proration:  fees will not be prorated 15 AAC 160.160 
  Refund--with cause, if permit/license has not been issued 15 AAC 160.170 
Felony conviction, disclosed in permit application AS 05.15.140(b) 
  Effect on:  Operator eligibility AS 05.15.105 
  Employment by operator AS 05.15.105 
  Permit eligibility AS 05.15.105 
  Prohibition from gaming AS 05.15.105 
  Termination of disqualification 15 AAC 160.992 
Filing date:  CPA review for operator:  28 February AS 05.15.165(e) 
    MBP due date for CPA review:  28 February 15 AAC 160.310(a) 
  Extension to file but not to pay fee or tax 15 AAC 160.860(e) 
  Grace period for filing reports but not to pay fee or tax 15 AAC 160.860(e) 
  Operator reports to permittee and Department AS 05.15.083 
    Net proceeds, or other amounts due, to permittee AS 05.15.087(a) 
  Permittee reports to Department AS 05.15.087 
  Renewal application for permittee, operator, without break in service 15 AAC 160.110(f) 
Financial reports/statements required AS 05.15.060(a)(4) 
Fingerprinting of permittee/licensee personnel authorized AS 05.15.060(a)(5) 
  Procedures 15 AAC 160.100 
Fire or Police Department and Company defined AS 05.15.690(36) 
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Fish Derbies procedures 15 AAC 160.690 
Fish Derby:  Defined AS 05.15.690(20) 
  Prize winning methods defined 15 AAC 160.690(a) 
  Rules determined by permittee/operator 15 AAC 690(a) 
  May use broadcasting (radio and TV) and Internet to promote AS 05.15.640a(a) 
  Records retention--three years from the due date or filing date of the report they support 15 AAC 160.870 
Fishing Derby Association defined AS 05.15.690(19) 
Flashboard in bingo, if malfunctioning, must be repaired before use in next session 15 AAC 160.570(c) 
Flare card:  Defined 15 AAC 995(9) 
  Must be shown during play and removed when closed 15 AAC 160.400(b) 
Forfeited operator bond pays fees, net proceeds, interest, penalty AS 05.15.167(b) 
Forfeitures of property used in illegal gambling AS 11.66.270 
Forms from Department must be used for operator annual report 15 AAC 160.290(b) 
  Operator quarterly report:  to Department 15 AAC 160.290(a) 
  Permittee annual financial statement 15 AAC 160.850(a) 
  Permittee quarterly report 15 AAC 160.840(a) 

  
MBP reports, both annual and quarterly, must comply with requirements for operator 
reports AS 05.15.145(d) 

Fraternal Organization defined AS 05.15.690(21) 
Fraud:  By employee may not be charged to permittee by operator 15 AAC 160.270(c) 
  Or deceit--grounds for action 15 AAC 160.880(a)(15) 
Free bingo cards prohibited 15 AAC 160.600(d) 
Freezing of a pull-tab game is an unallowable removal of a game from play and is 
not IAW regulation 15 AAC 160.490 
Fund Raiser or Consultant defined AS 05.15.690(22) 
Funds disposition limited by:  Suspension of permit/license/registration 15 AAC 160.890 
  Revocation of permit/license/registration 15 AAC 160.890 

G 
Gambling:  Conviction, effect on:  Operator eligibility AS 05.15.105 
  Defined   AS 11.66.200 
    Employment by:  Operator, permittee, distributor AS 05.15.105 
  Device defined AS 11.66.260 
    Permit eligibility AS 05.15.105 
  Elements--gambling defined AS 11.66.280(2) 
  Illegal--no jurisdiction; see local law enforcement agency or AST   
  Termination of disqualification for employment 15 AAC 160.992 
Game name, series and manufacturer must be on pull-tab box 15 AAC 160.380(c) 
Gaming:  Activities a privilege, not a right AS 05.15.110 
  Activities authorized AS 05.15.100(a) 
  Also     AS 05.15.115(c) 
  Also     AS 05.15.180(b) 
  Checking account:  Expenses paid by check only 15 AAC 160.820(b) 
    Name must include "gaming" 15 AAC 160.820(a) 
    No checks drawn to cash 15 AAC 160.820(c)(2) 
    Receipts deposited in gaming account 15 AAC 160.820(a) 
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    May not use pre-signed checks or signature stamp 15 AAC 160.820(c)(3) 
    Two signatures required; signatories must be Alaska residents and natural persons 15 AAC 160.820(b) 

      
May pay state fees--renewal, 1% additional, penalty, interest--on Division 
web site 15 AAC 160.820(b) 

  Equipment not expressly authorized is prohibited AS 05.15.180(a) 
  Over the airwaves:  Conditions defined 15 AAC 160.945 

    
Includes internet--annulled in 2012's CSHB 245, thereby allowing Internet promotion in 
any format 15 AAC 160.945(b) 

    Limited to not-for-profit broadcaster 15 AAC 160.945(a) 
    Restrictions on use of broadcasting AS 05.15.640 
  Participation:  Allowed or barred 15 AAC 160.954(c)(8) 
    Bingo callers barred 15 AAC 160.500(b) 
    Pull-tab employees barred AS 05.15.187(h) 
  Permit required AS 05.15.020(c) 
    Also   AS 05.15.040 
    Also   AS 05.15.100(a) 
    Also   AS 05.15.115(c) 
    Also   AS 05.15.180(b) 
  Permittees and licensees may use email, fax and web sites for promotion of any activity AS 05.15.640(a)(2) 
  Personnel must be identified in permit application AS 05.15.140(b) 
Gift defined   15 AAC 160.995(10) 
Gifts, loans and capital contributions 15 AAC 160.363 
  MBPs   15 AAC 160.363(b) 
  Permittees 15 AAC 160.363(a) 
  Promotional item with discount substantially below FMV is a gift 15 AAC 160.800(b) 
Goose Classic defined AS 05.15.690(23) 
Governing Body defined AS 05.15.690(24) 
Grace periods for reports and annual review of financial records 15 AAC 160.860 
Gross Receipts defined AS 05.15.690(25) 
  Deposit in gaming bank account by permittee 15 AAC 160.820(a) 
  For bingo, not affected by sale of non-gaming retail items 15 AAC 160.600(e) 
  Includes sale of equipment, supplies, miscellaneous items AS 05.15.690(25) 
Grounds for denial/suspension/revocation--permits/licenses/registration 15 AAC 160.880 
  Denial grounds 15 AAC 160.886 
  Denial grounds are the same as those for suspension or revocation 15 AAC 160.110(a) 
  Immediate revocation 15 AAC 160.885 
  Not provided by advisory notice 15 AAC 160.985(a) 
Grounds for revocation of an operator license AS 05.15.128(a) 

H 
Hard Card:  defined 15 AAC 160.995(11) 
  Use prohibited if prior year's bingo gross receipts exceeded $350,000 15 AAC 160.510(d) 
Hearings--now Administrative Appeals 15 AAC 160.910 
  Denial of permit or license 15 AAC 160.110(g) 
  Denial   15 AAC 160.886 
  Immediate revocation 15 AAC 160.885 
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  Procedures 15 AAC 160.910 
  Request for 15 AAC 160.910 
  Revocation or suspension 15 AAC 160.880 
House players:  May not be used by an operator AS 05.15.165(f) 
  May not be used in bingo 15 AAC 160.938 
House rules:  May allow permittee employees to play bingo, except for caller 15 AAC 160.500(b) 
  For bingo must be conspicuously posted 15 AAC 160.560(d) 
  For raffle, rules or procedures must be on flyer available to buyer 15 AAC 160.640(c) 
  For raffle variations must be prominently posted 15 AAC 160.656(e) 
  Must be posted 15 AAC 160.940(a) 

I 
Ice Classic:  Defined AS 05.15.690(26) 
  Change:  Notify Department 15 AAC 160.700(b) 
  Procedures 15 AAC 160.700 
  Records retention--three years from the due date or filing date of the report they support 15 AAC 160.870 
Ideal Gross Receipts defined 15 AAC 160.995(12) 
Ideal Net defined AS 05.15.690(27) 

  
Ideal net method no longer available for pull-tab reporting--old 15 AAC 160.470(g) 
repealed 15 AAC 160.470  

  Ideal net not affected by prize for last pull-tab sold in a series for 3% tax purposes 15 AAC 160.460(c) 
Identification:  Labels for pull-tabs go with the game 15 AAC 160.420(b) 
  Bingo winners must receive receipt; permittee keeps copy 15 AAC 160.610(a) 
  Dog Mushers' Contest prize receipt for $50 or more 15 AAC 160.680(c) 
  Fish Derbies--receipt identifies winner 15 AAC 160.690(c) 
  Ice Classics--receipt identifies winner 15 AAC 160.700(c) 
  Name tags for bingo employees 15 AAC 160.630 
  Pull-tab winners of $50 or more on Department receipt form AS 05.15.187(i) 
    Winner of $50 or more must be identified 15 AAC 160.470(h) 
  Raffle winners of $50 or more  15 AAC 160.650(g) 
  Salmon/King Salmon Classics--receipt identifies winner 15 AAC 160.710(c) 
  Stamps for pull-tabs:  On flare card face 15 AAC 160.400(b) 
    Reported by manufacturer to Department 15 AAC 160.430(3) 
Illegal gambling--no jurisdiction; see local law enforcement agency or AST   
Illegal statute section cancels permits issued thereunder AS 05.15.600 
Immediate revocation of permits/licenses for violations AS 05.15.060(a)(3) 
  Grounds   15 AAC 160.885(a) 
  Procedures 15 AAC 160.885(b) 
Improper use of net proceeds--grounds for action 15 AAC 160.880(a)(14) 
Informal conference 15 AAC 160.910 
  Also, for denial 15 AAC 160.110(h) 
  Also; for revocation or suspension 15 AAC 160.880(b) 
Income not reported in change from cash to accrual accounting will not be used to compute 
net proceeds 15 AAC 160.830(h) 
Inducement, purchase, programs prohibited 15 AAC 160.942 
Insider information use prohibited in sale of pull-tabs AS 05.15.170(a)(5) 
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Inspection of premises, books and records 15 AAC 160.980 
Insurance, operator:  Show proof on demand AS 05.15.165(d) 
  Change in coverage--notify Department AS 05.15.165(d) 
    Notify Department with amended application 15 AAC 160.070(a) 
  Liability, required for each operator location AS 05.15.165(d) 
  Minimum coverage, per site 15 AAC 160.210(a) 
  Notify Department of changes AS 05.15.165(d) 

  
Operator suspended at locations where coverage cancelled or dropped until coverage is 
restored AS 05.15.165(d) 

  
Required for bank or credit union account in which net proceeds retained for more than a year 
are kept 15 AAC 160.822(b) 

Interest:  Due to permittees from operator with unauthorized expenses AS 05.15.165(b) 
  Earned on permittee gaming account subject to AS 05.15.150 15 AAC 160.820(d) 
  Limited for loans from entities other than commercial lenders 15 AAC 160.363(e) 
  On delinquent fees, as set forth in AS 43.05.225 AS 05.15.095(c) 
  Also     15 AAC 160.960 
    May be paid by permittee electronically, on Tax Division web site 15 AAC 160.820(b) 
    Rate:  12% per year AS 43.05.225 
Internet:  defined AS 05.15.640(c)(2) 
  May be used to promote any gaming activity, in any format AS 05.15.640(a)(2) 
  May not be used to conduct gaming activity AS 05.15.640(a)  

    
Exception:  conduct may be broadcast by a noncommercial radio station; limited to 12 
hours annually AS 05.15.640(b) 

  Noncommercial broadcasting station defined AS 05.15.640(b) 
Internet communication defined AS 05.15.640(c)(3) 
Internet may be used to promote any gaming activity, in any format AS 05.15.640(a)(2) 
Interpretation of statute and regulations to be strict 15 AAC 160.932 
Inure to personal benefit prohibited AS 05.15.690.(39) 
Inventory, pull-tabs:  permittee may report based on number of unopened games in 
possession 15 AAC 160.830(j) 

  
May not use ideal net method for pull-tab inventory; repealed 15 AAC 160.470(g) after 
2002   

Investigation of permittees/licensees/employees AS 05.15.060(a)(5) 
Issuance of:  Permits:  Application requirements 15 AAC 160.020 
  Permit required 15 AAC 160.010 
  Temporary conduct during renewal 15 AAC 160.110(f) 
    Time limit--until 15 February 15 AAC 160.110(f) 
Issuance, reissuance or denial of permit or license 15 AAC 160.110 

K 
King Salmon Classic:  Defined AS 05.15.690(28) 
  Procedures 15 AAC 160.710 

L 
Labor Organization defined AS 05.15.690(29) 
Last ticket sold prize:  Allowed to close out a slow game 15 AAC 160.470(j)(3) 
  Cannot exceed $500 when combined with all other prizes due for a particular pull-tab 15 AAC 160.460(c) 
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  Cannot be added by a distributor 15 AAC 160.460(c) 
  Does not affect ideal net for 3% tax purposes 15 AAC 160.460(c) 

  
Game with last ticket sold prize may not be mixed with another game under AS 
05.15.187(c) 15 AAC 160.470(b) 

Late:  Payment of fee--bears interest IAW AS 43.05.225 AS 05.15.095(c) 
  Rate of interest AS 43.05.225 
  Report or fee--no permitted or licensed activity AS 05.15.095(b) 
Leased premises for:  Alternate location[s] for permittee 15 AAC 160.935(c) 
  Appraisal required for real estate leased by an MBP from a member permittee 15 AAC 160.954(c)(3) 
  Conduct of a gaming activity may not be leased or subleased by a distributor after 2003 15 AAC 160.954(b)(3) 
  Operator sales of pull-tabs where alcohol is sold; rules 15 AAC 160.936 
Legal status change:  notify Department with amended application 15 AAC 160.070(a) 
Liability insurance required for each operator location AS 05.15.181(b) 
License fee:  Distributor--$1,000 annually AS 05.15.183(b) 
  Manufacturer--$2,500 annually AS 05.15.181(b) 
  Operator--$500 annually AS 05.15.122(b)(2) 
License:  Action against a liquor licensee must be noticed to ABC Board AS 05.15.097 
  Addition/deletion of gaming activity--use amended application form 15 AAC 160.070(a) 
  Amended application form for application data changes 15 AAC 160.070(a) 
  Department consideration of local government unit protest 15 AAC 160.090 
  Distributor:  see "Distributor" AS 05.15.183(a) 
  False statement in application AS 05.15.680(b) 
  Fees:  not prorated 15 AAC 160.160 
    Refundable if requested before permit or license issued 15 AAC 160.170 
  Issue, renewal and revocation AS 05.15.060(a)(2) 
    Renewal--grounds for denial 15 AAC 160.886(b) 
  Issuance, reissuance or denial 15 AAC 160.110 
  Local jurisdiction must be copied with permit application AS 05.150.030(a) 
  Location:  change--notify Department within ten days AS 05.15.030(c) 
    New:  no gaming activity until new license received and posted 15 AAC 160.110(b) 
  Must be posted before play may begin 15 AAC 160.110(b) 
  Needed to manufacture pull-tabs in Alaska AS 05.15.181(a) 
  Needed to sell in Alaska pull-tabs manufactured Outside AS 05.15.181(a) 
  Not transferable 15 AAC 160.120 
  Of operator must be posted with permits AS 05.15.165(c) 
  Operator:  see "Operator" AS 05.15.122 
  Pull-tab manufacturer:  see "Manufacturer" AS 05.15.181(a) 
    License fee--$2,500 annually AS 05.15.181(b) 
  Required   15 AAC 160.930 
  Renewal, grounds for denial 15 AAC 160.886  
    Denial procedures 15 AAC 160.886(c) 
    Renewal does not prevent revocation or immediate revocation 15 AAC 160.886(d) 
  Revocation/suspension AS 05.15.170 
    Department to post a notice 15 AAC 160.880(c) 
  Supplemental information to application 15 AAC 160.080 
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  Surrender upon action taken; appeal exception 15 AAC 160.140 
  Temporary license issued with timely-filed application, good until 15 February 15 AAC 160.110(f) 
  To distribute pull-tabs required AS 05.15.183(a) 
  Transfer prohibited 15 AAC 160.120 
License/permit action to suspend, revoke or deny:  Announced by mail 15 AAC 160.880(b) 
  Grounds for action 15 AAC 160.880(a) 
  Operator grounds--failure to pay minimum net proceeds percentage[s] AS 05.15.128(a)(2) 
Licensee defined 15 AAC 160.995(13) 
  Prohibited financial interest defined 15 AAC 160.954(b) 
  Also     15 AAC 160.954(d) 
Limit on:  Advertising 15 AAC 160.780 
  Age:  See Age, Bingo, Pull-tabs, Calcutta pool   
  Animal classics limited to permittees and methods in play before November 2002 15 AAC 160.675(a) 
    Chicken contest limited to permittees and methods in play before November 2002 15 AAC 160.675(a) 
    Rat Race limited to permittees and methods in play before November 2002 15 AAC 160.675(a) 
  Bingo prizes--annual 15 AAC 160.600 
    Percentage limitation--may not exceed 85% of AGI on an annual basis 15 AAC 160.600(c) 
    Termination of operator contract--restoration of prize limits if permit unused 15 AAC 160.220(c) 
      Bingo 15 AAC 160.600(b) 
  Bingo prizes--session and game 15 AAC 160.620 
  Calcutta pool prizes and expenses may not exceed 50% of gross receipts AS 05.15.160(c) 
  Door prizes:  $20,000 per month per permittee offered or awarded AS 05.15.180(d) 
    $20,000 per month per bingo hall offered or awarded AS 05.15.180(e) 
  Non-bingo prizes--$2,000,000 annually [if no operator involved] AS 05.15.180(g) 
    $500,000 with operator AS 05.15.180(g) 
    Contest of skill prize limit raised under certain circumstances AS 05.15.180(g) 
    Termination of operator contract--restoration of prize limits if permit unused 15 AAC 160.220(c) 
  Pull-tab:  Games; limitations on sales 15 AAC 160.480 
    Prizes:  Not exceed $500 per winning pull-tab 15 AAC 160.480(a)(3) 
      Unauthorized expense for an operator AS 05.15.160 
      Ticket price--$2 15 AAC 160.470(a) 
  Time to request hearing--fifteen days 15 AAC 160.910(b) 
  Use of proceeds--stated purpose IAW statute AS 05.15.150(a) 
    Limits 15 AAC 160.810 
Loans, gifts and capital contributions 15 AAC 160.363 
  MBPs   15 AAC 160.363(b) 
  Permittees 15 AAC 160.363(a) 
Lobbyist:  use of proceeds from bingo, pull-tabs, to pay registered lobbyist 
prohibited AS 05.15.150(a) 
Local jurisdiction must be copied with permit application AS 05.15.030(a) 
  Permittee may choose which if there is more than one 15 AAC 160.020(e) 
Local option election to ban gaming or pull-tabs AS 05.15.620 
  Election mechanics AS 05.15.625 
Location:  Change for permittee--notify Department within 10 days AS 05.15.030(c) 
  For play of a single pull-tab series must be the same at any one time 15 AAC 160.480(a)(2) 
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  New location:  amend application within 10 days 15 AAC 160.070 
Lotteries and Raffles:  See "Raffles and Lotteries" 15 AAC 160.640 
Losses not chargeable to permittee by operator 15 AAC 160.270(c) 
Lost or stolen raffle tickets:  statute and regulation are silent on this, and house rules 
apply.   

M 
Maintenance of records 15 AAC 160.830(a) 
Malfunction of bingo flashboard must be repaired before the board may be used in 
the next session 15 AAC 160.570(c) 
Manager of:  Gaming:  Defined 15 AAC 160.995(14) 
  Criminal history check required 15 AAC 160.934(a) 
  For MBP/self-directed permittee must be identified to the Department within 10 days 15 AAC 160.365(a) 
  Must have operator license if manager for more than one permittee in a calendar year 15 AAC 160.190(b)(2) 
  Prohibited conflict of interest 15 AAC 160.954(b)(4) 
Managerial or Supervisory Capacity defined AS 05.15.690(30) 
Manufacturer:  Pull-tabs:  application for license 15 AAC 160.040 
  Issuance, reissuance or denial of license 15 AAC 160.110 
  Supplemental information 15 AAC 160.080 
  Distribution of pull-tabs 15 AAC 160.410 
  Game name and series must be on pull-tab box 15 AAC 160.380(c) 
  License for pull-tab manufacture AS 08.15.181 
  License not transferable 15 AAC 160.120 
  May not distribute pull-tabs made by others 15 AAC 160.410(a) 
  Monthly report criteria 15 AAC 160.430 
  Provide packing slip with pull-tabs 15 AAC 160.410(d) 
  Report stamp numbers to Department 15 AAC 160.410(b)(3) 
  Standards for manufacture of pull-tabs 15 AAC 160.370(a) 
  Surrender of license upon suspension or revocation 15 AAC 160.140 
  Use pull-tab identification labels 15 AAC 160.410(b) 
Marked/defaced/tampered pull-tab tickets may not be sold 15 AAC 160.470(b) 
Mechanical/electronic aids:  Prohibited in play of:  Bingo, except electronic bingo 
paper 15 AAC 160.570(e) 
  Other activities AS 05.15.180(a) 
  Pull-tabs   15 AAC 160.470(f) 
Member in charge:  Required AS 05.15.112(a) 
  Age limit--must be at least 21 years old 15 AAC 160.970(f) 
  Alternate members in charge AS 05.15.112(d) 
  Appointed by permittee AS 05.15.112 
  Change notification required within 10 days 15 AAC 160.070(d) 
    Reported on Amended Permit Application form 15 AAC 160.070(a) 
  Contracted operator or vendor, or their employees, may not be PMIC/AMIC 15 AAC 160.970(a) 
  Criminal history check required 15 AAC 160.934 
  Duties defined AS 05.15.112(b) 
    Duties definition expanded 15 AAC 160.970(d) 
  May not be an operator, a registered vendor, or an employee of either 15 AAC 160.970(a) 
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  Minimum number required to conduct activity--at least one AS 05.15.112(e) 
    Also   15 AAC 160.970(e) 
  Multiple-beneficiary permit AS 05.15.112(a) 
  Must be member, board member or municipal employee for at least six months 15 AAC 160.970(c) 
  Must be natural person 15 AAC 160.970(b) 
  Must monitor operator's performance AS 05.15.112(c) 
  Primary and alternate required AS 05.15.020(a) 

  
Pull-tab delivery to vendors restricted to PMIC/AMIC--no director vendor-distributor 
contact AS 05.15.188 

  Responsible for records and reports AS 05.15.112(b) 

  
Restriction--must have been an organization or board member, or municipal employee, 
for at least six months 15 AAC 160.970(c) 

  Testing required AS 05.15.112(a) 
    Requirements, schedule 15 AAC 160.975 

    
Retesting may be required if change in statute or regulation is sufficiently 
extensive 15 AAC 160.975(e) 

    Test may be taken on paper or online; see the website for the online version.   

  
Vacancy--fill within six months and notify Department, or suspended until Department 
notified AS 05.15.112(e) 

    Must have active plans to fill vacancy 15 AAC 160.970(e) 
    Must notify Department within ten days of filling vacancy 15 AAC 160.070 
Membership requirement for permit qualification 15 AAC 160.020(a)(6) 
Merchandise raffle--similar to split-the-pot raffle; limitations; roll tickets may be 
used 15 AAC 160.656(2) 
Mercury Classic defined AS 05.15.690(31) 
Method and manner of conducting authorized games/prizes--determined by 
Department AS 05.15.060(a)(6) 
Method of accounting 15 AAC 160.830 
  Permittee/MBP may not pay gaming expenses of operator/MBP 15 AAC 160.830(e) 
Minimum net proceeds percentages to permittee by operator AS 05.15.128(a)(2) 
Mixed pull-tab games must have the same price and prize structure AS 05.15.187(c) 
  May not have last-ticket-sold feature 15 AAC 160.470(b) 
Monte Carlo Activities:  repealed effective 6 October 1995; no longer legal as a 
gaming activity   
Monthly:  Distributor report of all pull-tabs sold AS 05.15.183(e) 
  Manufacturer report of all pull-tabs sold AS 05.15.181(e) 

  
Operator report to permittee of all gaming activity conducted in prior month; net 
proceeds check AS 05.15.087(a) 

Multiple-Beneficiary Permits: AS 05.15.145 
  Action against MBP is action against members 15 AAC 160.361(j) 
  Active participation by members required 15 AAC 160.361(m) 
  Adding new member 15 AAC 160.361(b) 
  Addition/deletion of gaming activity--use amended application form 15 AAC 160.070(a) 
  All members must have individual permits 15 AAC 160.361(a) 
  Allocation of:  Gross receipts, prizes, taxes and expenses 15 AAC 160.361(d) 
    Prize limit allocation to members limited 15 AAC 160.361(f) 
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  Amended application form for application data changes 15 AAC 160.070(a) 
  Annual bingo prize limit is the number of members times $840,000 15 AAC 160.600(a) 
  Application must include joint venture agreement copy 15 AAC 160.361(c) 
  Appraisal required for real estate leased by an MBP from a member permittee 15 AAC 160.954(c)(3) 
  Change in member in charge--use amended application form 15 AAC 160.070(a) 
  Change in gaming activity--use amended application form 15 AAC 160.070(a) 

  
Contributions, gifts and loans to conduct gaming activity must be from non-gaming 
sources 15 AAC 160.363(c) 

    Must notify Department within ten days of capital contribution 15 AAC 160.363(d) 
    Not included in computation of net proceeds 15 AAC 160.363(g) 
  Commissioner may issue AS 05.15.100 
  CPA review:  Must be filed jointly 15 AAC 160.361(l) 
    Date required AS 05.15.165(e) 
    Required; elements 15 AAC 160.310(a) 
  Credit extension prohibited 15 AAC 160.938 
  Department to be notified of capital contribution within ten days 15 AAC 160.363(d) 
  Expenses of MBP may not be paid by MBP members 15 AAC 160.830(e) 
  Gifts, loans and contributions must be from non-gaming sources 15 AAC 160.363(c) 
    Not included in computation of net proceeds 15 AAC 160.363(g) 
  House players may not be used 15 AAC 160.938 

  
House rules may bar or allow employee play of bingo, except for caller, who can never play 
while working 15 AAC 160.500(b) 

  Lease of gaming facilities to others limited 15 AAC 160.361(i) 
    Lease from a member permittee limited and requires biennial property appraisal 15 AAC 160.954(c)(3) 
  Loans, gifts and contributions must be from non-gaming sources 15 AAC 160.363(c) 
    Limitations and requirements 15 AAC 160.363(e) 
    Not included in computation of net proceeds 15 AAC 160.363(g) 

  
Manager must be designated and identified to Department within ten days of 
appointment 15 AAC 160.365(a) 

    
Appointment of straw man does not prevent Department from identifying real 
manager 15 AAC 160.365(b) 

    Testing required 15 AAC 160.975(c) 
  May not contract with an operator--not a qualified organization or municipality AS 05.15.115(a) 
  May not contract with an operator 15 AAC 160.361(n) 
  Member in charge--see "Member in Charge" AS 05.15.112 
    Testing required AS 05.15.112(a) 

      
Retesting may be required if change in statute or regulation sufficiently 
extensive 15 AAC 160.975(e) 

      Test 15 AAC 160.975 
  Member participation required 15 AAC 160.361(m) 
  Method of accounting 15 AAC 160.830 
    GAAP (accrual accounting) now required for bingo and pull-tab annual reports 15 AAC 160.830(a) 
    Modified cash or cash accounting may be used for other activities 15 AAC 160.830(c) 

    
Pull-tab games may not be reported using ideal net--old 15 AAC 160.470(g) 
repealed 15 AAC 160.470 

  Net proceeds: Permittees/MBP members may not pay gaming expenses of 15 AAC 160.830(e) 
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operators/MBPs 
    Payment required 15 AAC 160.361(g) 
    Use limited to payment to members 15 AAC 160.361(h) 
  New members:  Added 15 AAC 160.361(b) 
    Allocation of gross receipts, prizes, taxes and expenses 15 AAC 160.361(e) 
  Nontransferable AS 05.15.040 
  Notice by:  Department to MBP PMIC of violation by MBP member 15 AAC 160.361(k) 

    
Permittee or MBP to Department within ten days of receipt of:  Capital 
contribution 15 AAC 160.363(d) 

      Gift 15 AAC 160.363(f) 
    Manager designation 15 AAC 160.365(a) 
  Privilege, not a right AS 05.15.110 
  Prize limits equal number of members times non-bingo limits AS 05.15.180(g) 
  Qualification--necessary proof of status to qualify AS 05.15.170(b) 
  Reinstatement after revocation--must wait one year AS 05.15.170(b) 
  Renewal:  File form with Department AS 05.15.180(a) 
    Permit attachments unnecessary if already on file and there are no changes AS 05.15.180(b) 
    Renewal does not prevent revocation or immediate revocation 15 AAC 160.886(d) 
  Report:  As operator AS 05.15.145(d) 
    Actual expenses to be reported, regardless of limitations 15 AAC 160.835(e) 
    Annual AS 05.15.080(b) 
      MBP members must include total activity and MBP activity 15 AAC 160.850(c) 
      Report must be on Department form and include all requested information 15 AAC 160.850(a) 
    Quarterly AS 05.15.080(a) 
      Report must be on Department form and include all requested information 15 AAC 160.840(a) 
      Separate quarterly reports filed by MBP and MBP members  15 AAC 160.840(b) 
  Review of financial records by CPA 15 AAC 160.310(a) 
    Must be filed jointly 15 AAC 160.310(l) 
  Revocation/suspension AS 05.15.170 
    Also   AS 05.15.040 
    Department to post a notice 15 AAC 160.880(c) 
    Renewal after action may be denied for up to one year AS 05.15.170(b) 
  Required   15 AAC 160.010 
  Required   15 AAC 160.930 
  Surrender after suspension or revocation AS 05.15.050 
  Suspension for up to one year AS 05.15.170 
  Temporary permit to conduct gaming until 15 Feb with timely-filed renewal application 15 AAC 160.110(f) 
    Limited to members in MBP at time of application 15 AAC 160.110(f) 
  Tests for members in charge AS 05.15.112(a) 
    Also   15 AAC 160.975 
  Use by another is violation and grounds for action 15 AAC 160.880(a)(6) 
  Violation notice sent to MBP PMIC by Department of MBP member violation 15 AAC 160.361(k) 
Municipal permittee limited to municipal boundaries AS 05.15.040 
Municipality:  exempt from membership requirement for permit 15 AAC 160.020(c) 
  May prohibit operator activity AS 05.15.124 
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Mushing sweepstakes defined--no longer authorized   
N 

NAFTM or State-approved seal required on all pull-tab series made in Alaska AS 05.15.181(c) 
  Distributed AS 05.15.185 
NAGRA standards apply to pull-tabs AS 05.15.060(b) 
Name change:  notify Department with amended application 15 AAC 160.070(a) 
Net Proceeds:  Defined AS 05.15.690(32) 

  
Computation:  Permittees/MBP members may not pay gaming expenses of 
operators/MBPs 15 AAC 160.830(e) 

  Donated to another organization 15 AAC 160.810(f) 

  
Expenses and income unreported in change from cash to accrual will not be part of net 
proceeds 15 AAC 160.830(h) 

  Held for more than a year 15 AAC 160.822 
    Annual accounting required with AFS 15 AAC 160.822(a) 
    Includes earnings of net proceeds held for more than a year 15 AAC 160.822 
    Must be kept in a gaming account 15 AAC 160.822(b) 
    Permission may be rescinded by the Department 15 AAC 160.822(d) 
    Subject to dissolution clause required by 15 AAC 160.020 15 AAC 160.822(b) 
  MBP/operator must distribute all net proceeds of gaming activity; exception 15 AAC 160.835(b) 
  Minimum percentages to permittee from operator AS 05.15.128(a)(2) 
  Must be used within one year unless the Department approves a longer period AS 05.15.150(b) 
  Operator/MBP must distribute all net proceeds of gaming activity; exception 15 AAC 160.835(b) 
  Paid by operator to permittee by check AS 05.15.165(a) 
  Payment by MBP to members required 15 AAC 160.361(g) 
  Permittee use defined AS 05.15.150(a) 
  Procedures 15 AAC 160.810 

  
Recipient to use net proceeds received from a permittee IAW AS 05.15.150--permittee 
to ensure 15 AAC 160.810(f) 

  Retained for more than a year:  General rules for accounting, reporting, protection 15 AAC 160.822 
    Must be in gaming account or other insured account 15 AAC 160.822(c) 

  
Transition from cash to accrual will not count expenses and income unreported because 
of change 15 AAC 160.830(h) 

  Use--see also Use of Dedicated Net Proceeds   
    Authorized AS 05.15.150(a) 
    Authorized/Unauthorized 15 AAC 160.810 
    By registered lobbyist prohibited [except for raffle proceeds] AS 05.15.150(a)(1) 
    Detailed records kept for three years 15 AAC 160.810(b) 
    Donated to another organization 15 AAC 160.810(f) 
    Scholarships--may not be given to Outsiders to use Outside 15 AAC 160.810(c) 
New location--no gaming activity until new permit or license received and posted 15 AAC 160.110(b) 
  Apply within 10 days 15 AAC 160.707(d) 
Nonprofit Organization defined [We say "nonprofit", but we mean "not-for-profit".] AS 05.15.690(39) 
Nonprofit Trade Association defined [We say "nonprofit", but we mean "not-for-
profit".] 15 AAC 160.995(16) 
No transferability of permit or license AS 05.15.040 
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Not-for-Profit Organization defined AS 05.15.690(39) 
Notice:  Of criminal conviction 15 AAC 160.900 
  Of intent to revoke 15 AAC 160.885 
  Of Violation AS 05.15.680(a) 
  Of Violation defined 15 AAC 160.995(17) 
    Procedures 15 AAC 160.985 
  Of permit/license action in writing 15 AAC 160.880(b) 
  Of site change; notify Department within 10 days of change AS 05.15.030(c) 
  Of termination or disqualification from employment in gaming by Department 15 AAC 160.992(c)/(d) 
  Notice posted on premises upon suspension or revocation 15 AAC 160.880(c) 
  To the Alcoholic Beverage Control Board of violation of AS 05.15 by liquor licensee AS 05.15.097 
Number call in bingo shall be completed 15 AAC 160.590(l) 
Number of activities:  Bingo:  See "Bingo, Session" AS 05.15.060(a)(7) 
Numbers Wheel defined AS 05.15.690(33) 

O 
One percent additional fee if gross receipts are $20,000 or more [1% of net 
proceeds] AS 05.15.020(b) 
Online:  Conduct not allowed--seen as equivalent to Internet gambling AS 05.15.640(a) 

  
Promotion allowed for all gaming activities on all media--email, website, Facebook, 
Twitter, etc. AS 05.15.640(a)(2) 

Only permittees, operators and distributors may receive pull-tabs from distributor AS 05.15.185 
Operation of pull-tab games AS 05.15.187 

  
Employees of permittee, MBP, operator or vendor may not play pull-tabs sold by 
employer AS 08.15.187(h) 

Operator and surety inform Department if bond changes/is lost AS 05.15.167(c) 
Operator:  Addition/deletion of gaming activity--use amended application form 15 AAC 160.070(a) 
  Age limit--must be at least 21 years old 15 AAC 160.030(g) 

  
Airwaves-Internet part of airwaves conduct ban, but 2012's CSHB 245 annulled this 
subsection 15 AAC 160.945(b) 

    
Broadcasting includes use of the internet, but 2012's CSHB 245 annulled this 
subsection 15 AAC 160.945(b) 

    
Email, fax and web sites may be used by permittees and licensees to buy/sell 
gaming supplies 15 AAC 160.945(c) 

  Amended application form for application data changes 15 AAC 160.070(a) 
  Annual report AS 05.15.083(b) 
  Annual CPA review--not an audit AS 05.15.165(e) 
    Date required AS 05.15.165(e) 
    Required elements 15 AAC 160.310 
  Application for license--requirements 15 AAC 160.030 
    Age requirement--must be 21 15 AAC 160.030(g) 
    Criminal history check required 15 AAC 160.934 
    Departmental consideration of local government unit protest 15 AAC 160.090 
    Fingerprints 15 AAC 160.100 
    Issuance, reissuance or denial of license 15 AAC 160.110 
    Local jurisdiction must be copied with application AS 05.15.030(a) 
    Residency required 15 AAC 160.030(g) 
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    Supplemental information 15 AAC 160.080 
  Bad check charge to permittee prohibited AS 05.15.165(f) 
  Ban by municipality AS 05.15.124 
  Bond requirement AS 05.15.122(b)(5) 
    Change in bond 15 AAC 160.200 
    Delinquent payments forfeit bond to Department AS 05.15.167(b) 
    Demand upon bond or security 15 AAC 160.320 
    Forfeiture for failure to pay permittees AS 05.15.167(a) 
    Must be payable to Department AS 05.15.167(a) 
    Real property may substitute for bond--conditional 15 AAC 160.030(b) 
      Appraisal required every five years after 2008 15 AAC 160.030(b)(4) 

      Equity must be twice the appraised value 
15 AAC 

160.030(b)(3)(A) 

        Valuation appraisal has the meaning given in AS 08.87.900 
15 AAC 

160.030(b)(3)(A) 
    Release of bond or security 15 AAC 160.330 
    "Satisfactory to the department" defined 15 AAC 160.030(c) 
  Compensation--See "Operator, Management Fee"   
  Conducts activity on behalf of permittee AS 05.15.122(a) 
  Contracts:  Additional requirements 15 AAC 160.220 
    Permittee may contract with only one operator at time for a given activity AS 05.15.115(c) 
    Termination of operator contract--restoration of prize limits if permit unused 15 AAC 160.220(c) 
    With MBPs prohibited 15 AAC 160.220(f) 
    With permittee approved by Department AS 05.15.115(d) 
    With permittee approved by Department only as to form 15 AAC 160.220(d) 
  CPA review required annually AS 05.15.165(e) 
    Date required AS 05.15.165(e) 
  Credit extension to players by operator prohibited AS 05.15.165(f) 
    Also   15 AAC 160.938 
  Criminal history check required 15 AAC 160.934 
  Daily summary of activity 15 AAC 160.240 
  Defined   AS 05.15.690(34) 
  Eligibility   AS 05.15.122 
  Employee defined 15 AAC 160.190 
  Employees may not play games of permittees under contract with operator AS 05.15.165(f) 
  Employees may not play pull-tab games of permittees under contract with operator AS 05.15.187(h) 
  Excessive expenses charged to permittee--remedy, including interest AS 05.15.165(b) 
  Expenses:  Do not include employee theft losses 15 AAC 160.270(c) 
    Limited to percentage of AGI AS 05.15.160 
      AGI limited to 85% of gross receipts AS 05.15.128(a)(1) 
    Rental and wage expenses to be separately accounted 15 AAC 160.230 
    Report actual expenses, regardless of limitations 15 AAC 160.835(e) 
    Unauthorized expenses defined 15 AAC 160.835(a) 
  False statement in application AS 05.15.680(b) 
  House players prohibited for operators AS 05.15.165(f) 
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    House players prohibited 15 AAC 160.938 
  Insurance:  inform Department of changes in liability insurance AS 05.15.165(d) 
    Minimum coverage 15 AAC 160.210(a) 
  Lease of pull-tab sales site where alcohol is sold; rules 15 AAC 160.936 
  Liability insurance for each location AS 05.15.165(d) 
    Minimum coverage 15 AAC 160.210(a) 
  License:  And bond AS 05.15.122 
    Change of:  Bond or security 15 AAC 160.200 
      Location:  notify Department and local jurisdiction within ten days AS 05.15.030(c) 
    For each location AS 05.15.165(c) 

    
Manger of gaming must have operator license if manager for more than one permittee in 
calendar year 15 AAC 160.190(b)(2) 

    May be issued to individual or municipality AS 05.15.100(c) 
    Must be posted before activity starts 15 AAC 160.110(b) 
    Needed if work for two or more permittees and/or MBPs as manager 15 AAC 160.190(b)(2) 
    Needed to conduct gaming activity for a permittee AS 05.15.122(a) 
    Not transferable 15 AAC 160.120 
    Post with permittee's permits AS 05.15.165(c) 
    Real estate substitution for bond; value; limitations 15 AAC 160.030 
    Renewal 15 AAC 160.110  
    Required--List of criteria 15 AAC 160.190 
    Required--exception:  multiple-beneficiary permit AS 05.15.145 
    Review of financial records by CPA 15 AAC 160.310 
    Revocation appealable with licensee-paid audit AS 05.15.128(b) 
      After revocation, reinstatement requires retesting 15 AAC 160.030(f) 
    Surrender upon suspension or revocation 15 AAC 160.140 
  Local jurisdiction must be copied with permit application AS 05.15.030(a) 
    Applicant may choose which of two to notify, if more than one 15 AAC 160.030(e) 
  Location:  Change:  notify Department and local jurisdiction within ten days AS 05.15.030(c) 
    New:  no gaming activity until new license received and posted 15 AAC 160.110(b) 
    Suspended at sites with cancelled insurance AS 05.15.165(d) 
  Management fee must be fixed AS 05.15.115(b) 
    May not be based on percentage AS 05.15.160(a)(2)(B) 
    Must be for personal services of the operator only AS 05.15.160(a)(2)(B) 

  
Manager of gaming for permittee must have operator license if manager for more than one 
permittee in year 15 AAC 160.190(b)(2) 

  May not conduct a Calcutta pool AS 05.15.100(c) 
  May not contract with an MBP 15 AAC 160.220(f) 
    May not contract with a registered vendor AS 05.15.188(j) 

  
May not engage in gaming over the airwaves, but for limited exception for public 
broadcasting AS 05.15.640(a) 

    Also   15 AAC 160.945 

    
Internet equivalence with broadcasting in 15 AAC 160.945(b) annulled, effective 10 
September 2012 

CSHB 245; CH 62, SLA 
12 

  May not be a member in charge for a permittee 15 AAC 160.970(a) 
  Minimum net proceeds percentages to permittees AS 05.15.128(a) 
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  Monthly report to permittee 15 AAC 160.250 
  Must honor request for records from:  Department 15 AAC 160.980 
    Permittee AS 05.15.087(d) 
  Must post license before conducting activity 15 AAC 160.110(b) 
  Net proceeds: Permittees may not pay gaming expenses of operators 15 AAC 160.830(e) 
  Ownership of gaming items charged to authorizing permittees 15 AAC 160.300(a) 
  Pay net proceeds to permittee by check AS 05.15.165(a) 
    Pay with the monthly report AS 05.15.087(a) 
  Payment to permittee 15 AAC 160.270 
  Permittee eligibility for license AS 05.15.122(a) 
  Pooling prohibited for an operator--contracts with authorizing permittees are individual AS 05.15.115(a) 

    
Pull-tab games played under one permit may not be combined with a games played under 
another permit 15 AAC 160.470(e)(1) 

    Pull-tab games played under one permit may not be transferred to another permit 15 AAC 160.470(e)(2) 
    Reports are oriented to activity of individual permittees, and not a group AS 05.15.083 
  Prizes limited to 85% of gross receipts AS 05.15.128(a)(1) 
  Prohibited financial interest 15 AAC 160.954 
    Defined 15 AAC 160.954(b) 
  Pull-tab:  Games may be received by operator or permittee only 15 AAC 160.450 
    Purchase must be paid within thirty days 15 AAC 160.450 
    Tax must be paid to distributor by operator or permittee AS 05.15.184 
  Purchase inducement program participation barred 15 AAC 160.942 
  Raffle tickets sold by operator must have license number also 15 AAC 160.640(d)(2) 
  Registered vendor:  operator may not use or be AS 05.15.188(j) 
  Reinstatement after revocation--must wait up to five years AS 05.15.170(b) 
    Must retest 15 AAC 160.030(f) 
  Renew license 15 AAC 160.110 
  Reports to:  Department on Department forms 15 AAC 160.290 
    Actual expenses to be reported, regardless of limitations 15 AAC 160.835(e) 
    Permittee 15 AAC 160.270 
      Daily summary of activity 15 AAC 160.240 
      Monthly report 15 AAC 160.250 
    Permittee, net proceeds payment AS 05.15.087(a) 
  Retail sales in gaming site requires authorizing permittee permission 15 AAC 160.935(a) 
  Review of financial records by CPA 15 AAC 160.310 
  Revocation for failure to pay minimum net proceeds--required action AS 05.15.128(a)(2) 
  Revocation/suspension AS 05.15.170 
    Renewal after action denied up to five years AS 05.15.170(b) 
    Reinstatement after revocation requires retesting 15 AAC 160.030(f) 
  Testing required AS 05.15.122(b) 

    
Retesting may be required if change in statute or regulation is sufficiently 
extensive 15 AAC 160.975(e) 

    Testing 15 AAC 160.975 
  To honor original records request by permittee AS 05.15.087(d) 
  Unauthorized expenses charged to permittee--reimbursable with interest AS 05.15.165(b) 
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    Includes otherwise authorized expenses that exceed expense caps of AS 05.15.160 15 AAC 160.835(a)(2) 
  Use of third-party vendor denied:  see Vendors AS 05.15.188 
Order prohibiting action in violation of chapter AS 05.15.610(a) 
Outboard Motor Association defined 15 AAC 160.995(18) 
Ownership of gaming items 15 AAC 160.300(a) 

P 
Participation in gaming activity--those allowed and barred 15 AAC 160.954(c)(8) 
Parties affected by conflict of interest rules 15 AAC 160.954(f) 
  Includes direct relatives 15 AAC 160.954(e)(1) 
Penalties:     AS 05.15.680 
  Fees delinquent--1% of unpaid balance AS 05.15.095(d) 
    May be waived by regulation; see 15 AAC 160.965 AS 05.15.095(d) 
    May be paid electronically on Division web site by permittee 15 AAC 160.820(b) 

  
Overpayment of prizes in excess of limitations--policy letter rescinded; permittee option 
now   

  Taxes delinquent--none at this time, but must stop gaming activity until paid AS 05.15.095(b) 
  Waiver request 15 AAC 160.965 
Per diem/stipends to members/officers for meetings in their own communities are not 
authorized gaming expenses 

15 AAC 
160.995(3)(B)(xiv) 

Permit:  Addition/deletion of gaming activity--use amended application form 15 AAC 160.070(a) 
  Application:  Requirements 15 AAC 160.020 
    Amendments; form for application data changes 15 AAC 160.070 
    Contingent on dedication of net proceeds to allowable uses AS 05.15.150(a) 
    Immediate revocation grounds and procedures 15 AAC 160.885 
    Membership requirement waived for municipality, school or university 15 AAC 160.020(c) 
    Prohibited financial interests must be disclosed AS 05.15.140(b)(2) 
      Prohibited financial interests defined as prohibited conflict of interests 15 AAC 160.995(21) 

    
Renewal fees, 1% additional fee, penalty, interest may be paid electronically on 
State web site 15 AAC 160.820(b) 

    Subject to local jurisdiction review AS 05.15.030(a) 
    Supplemental information 15 AAC 160.080 
  Change:  In gaming activity--use amended application form 15 AAC 160.070(a) 
    In location--notify Department and local jurisdiction within ten days AS 05.15.030(c) 
    In member in charge:  Notify Department within 30 days 15 AAC 160.970(b) 
      Use amended application form 15 AAC 160.070(a) 
  Contract:  Required if:  Operator is used AS 05.15.115 
      Permittee may contract with only one operator at a time for a given activity AS 05.15.115(c) 

      
Termination of operator contract--restoration of prize limits if operator did 
not use permit 15 AAC 160.220(c) 

      Vendor is used AS 05.15.188 
    Specified requirements 15 AAC 160.220 
  Criminal history check required for MICs 15 AAC 160.934 
  Defined   15 AAC 160.995(19) 
  Denial of renewal, procedures 15 AAC 160.886 
  Departmental consideration of local government unit protest 15 AAC 160.090 
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  Display at all times 15 AAC 160.110(b) 
  Eligibility--only municipality or not-for-profit organization AS 05.15.120 
    Age--must be at least three years old 15 AAC 160.020(a)(8) 
    By-laws, with dissolution clause 15 AAC 160.020(a)(5) 
    Have not-for-profit status 15 AAC 160.020(a)(7) 
    Identify gaming personnel/disclose felony convictions AS 05.15.140(b)(b) 
    Requires 25 members 15 AAC 160.020(a)(6) 
    State precise intended use of proceeds AS 05.15.150(a) 
    Three years old at minimum 15 AAC 160.020(a)(8) 
  Expiration AS 05.15.040 
  False statement in application AS 05.15.680(b) 
  Fees     AS 05.15.120(c) 
    For license or permit not prorated 15 AAC 160.160 
    Rates   AS 05.15.020(c) 
    Refundable if permit not issued 15 AAC 160.170 
  Felony disclosed in permit application AS 05.15.140(b) 
  Gaming activity limited AS 05.15.180(a) 
  Gift of more than $100 or loan from licensee prohibited 15 AAC 160.954(b) 
  Issue requires local jurisdiction notification AS 05.15.030(b) 
    Local jurisdiction may object based only on non-qualification for permit AS 05.15.030(a) 
      May ban all gaming or just pull-tabs AS 05.15.620 
  Issue, renewal and revocation AS 05.15.060(a)(1) 
  Local jurisdiction must be copied with permit application AS 05.15.030(a) 
  Location:  Change--notify Department within ten days AS 05.15.030(c) 
    New permit:  may not game until new permit received and posted 15AAC 160.110(b) 

  
Manager of gaming must have operator license if manager for more than one permittee in 
calendar year 15 AAC 160.190(b)(2) 

  Manager of self-directed permittee must be identified to Department within ten days 15 AAC 160.365(a) 
  May be issued for bingo, raffles, pull-tabs, etc. AS 05.15.100(a) 
  Member in charge:  see "Member in charge"   
  Membership requirement 15 AAC 160.020(a)(6) 
    Waived for a municipality, school or university 15 AAC 160.020(c) 
  Monte Carlo permit--repealed effective 6 October 1995; no longer legal   
  Multiple-beneficiary permits:  See under separate listing AS 05.15.145 
  Must be posted before play may begin 15 AAC 160.110(b) 
  Renewal:  File form with Department 15 AAC 160.020(b) 
    Renewal 15 AAC 160.110 
  Required   AS 05.15.020 
    Required AS 05.15.040 
    Required AS 05.15.100(a) 
    Required AS 05.15.115(c) 
    Required AS 05.15.180(b) 
  Transfer prohibited AS 05.15.040 
Permit/license action:  Announced by mail 15 AAC 160.880(b) 
    If liquor licensee, must notify ABC Board AS 05.15.097 
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  Denial/suspension/revocation grounds 15 AAC 160.880 
Permitted use of net proceeds defined AS 05.15.150(a) 
  Further restrictions for funds held for more than a year 15 AAC 160.822 
Permittee:  Contract requirements with operator 15 AAC 160.220 
    May contract with only one operator at a time for a given activity AS 05.15.115(c) 
  Credit extension to players by permittee and operator prohibited 15 AAC 160.938 
  Defined   AS 05.15.690((35) 
    Defined 15 AAC 160.995(20) 
  Eligibility for operator license AS 05.15.122(a) 

  
Email, fax and web sites may be used by permittees and licensees among themselves; no public 
access 15 AAC 160.945(c) 

  Expense: s of operator may not be paid by authorizing permittee 15 AAC 160.830(e) 
    Report actual expenses, regardless of limitations 15 AAC 160.835(e) 
  House players prohibited 15 AAC 160.938 

  
House rules may bar or allow employee play of bingo, except for caller, who can never play 
while working 15 AAC 160.500(b) 

  
Manager of gaming must have operator license if manager for more than one permittee in 
calendar year 15 AAC 160.190(b)(2) 

  Manager of self-directed permittee must be identified to Department within ten days 15 AAC 160.365(a) 
  May not:  Contract with more than one operator for a given activity at one time AS 05.15.115(c) 
    Obtain real or personal property with net proceeds; exceptions AS 05.15.150(a)(2) 
    Redeem bingo merchandise prize for cash Silent--house rules 
  Members in charge--primary and alternate[s] required AS 05.15.020(a)(2) 
    Restriction 15 AAC 160.970 
  Must copy the Department with all contracts AS 05.15.115(d) 
  Prize limit not reduced if operator contract terminated by permittee for non-use 15 AAC 160.220(c) 

  
Prize limit for bingo not reduced if operator contract terminated by permittee for non-
use 15 AAC 160.600(b) 

  Prohibited financial interest defined 15 AAC 160.954(b) 
  Pull-tab purchase must be paid within thirty days 15 AAC 160.450 
  Purchase inducement program participation barred 15 AAC 160.942 
  Reports to the Department on Department forms/formats:  see "Reports" 15 AAC 160.840 
  Self-directed permittee must notify Department of manager designation within ten days 15 AAC 160.365(a) 
  Statute, regulations and house rules copies required to be present on premises 15 AAC 160.940 
  Tax on pull-tabs paid to Department by distributor 15 AAC 160.460 
    Must be paid within thirty days 15 AAC 160.450 
  Testing required of members in charge AS 05.15.112(a) 
    Test   15 AAC 160.975 
  To receive pull-tab labels from distributor 15 AAC 160.420(b) 
  Use of third-party vendors:  see "Vendors" AS 05.15.188 
Permittee/operator must pay pull-tab tax to distributor within thirty days 15 AAC 160.450 
Permittees and operators only may:  Receive pull-tabs from distributor AS 05.15.185 
  Sell pull-tabs AS 05.15.187(a) 
  Vendor sale of pull-tabs under permit, delivered by member in charge AS 05.15.188 
Permittees/MBP members may not pay gaming expenses of operators/MBPs 15 AAC 160.830(e) 
Personal use of net proceeds prohibited 15 AAC 160.810(a) 
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Playing cards, dice and wheels may not be used AS 05.15.180(a) 
Point-of-sale pull-tab accounting systems must accept data from all games sold by 
all distributors 15 AAC 160.942(f) 
  Defined   15 AAC 160.995(34) 
"Poison Pill":  Cancels permits and licenses if statute is found to be unlawful AS 05.15.600 
Police or Fire Department and Company defined AS 05.15.690(36) 
Political Organization defined AS 05.15.690(37) 
Pooling prohibited for an operator--contracts with authorizing permittees are 
individual AS 05.15.115(a) 

  
Pull-tab games played under one permit may not be combined with a games played under 
another permit 15 AAC 160.470(e)(1) 

  Pull-tab games played under one permit may not be transferred to another permit 15 AAC 160.470(e)(2) 
  Reports are oriented to activity of individual permittees, and not a group AS 05.15.083 
Possession of gambling:  Device AS 11.66.260 
  Records:  In the first degree AS 11.66.230 
    In the second degree AS 11.66.240 
Premises:  Inspection by Department 15 AAC 160.980 
  Leased by an MBP from a member permitee must be appraised 15 AAC 160.954(c)(3) 
  Must have copy of statute and regulations and house rules available to public 15 AAC 160.940 
Pre-signed checks prohibited for permittee 15 AAC 160.820(c)(3) 
Price of pull-tab ticket may not exceed $2 15 AAC 160.470(a) 
Primary member in charge:  See "Member in Charge"   
Primary Gaming Location defined 15 AAC 160.995(21) 
  Alternative leased location for permittee 15 AAC 150.935(c) 
  Limit on number of alternate leased premises--no more than five at any one time 15 AAC 160.935(d) 

  
Volunteers or employees may sell permittee pull-tabs at a vendor site without a vendor 
contract 15 AAC 160.350(c) 

Privilege, gaming is a, not a right AS 05.15.110 
Prize:  Award limitations:  Bingo:  May not exceed 85% of AGI 15 AAC 160.600(c) 
    Actual payment required--bingo 15 AAC 160.590(n) 
      Non-bingo:  silent   
      Raffle 15 AAC 160.650(h) 
    Bingo     
      Must be fully awarded by the end of the session 15 AAC 160.590(n) 
      Payout defined 15 AAC 160.600(e)(1) 
      Single game--$1,000, including cash and merchandise 15 AAC 160.620(a) 
      Single session--$5,000, including cash and merchandise 15 AAC 160.620(a) 
      Value of merchandise prize is FMV 15 AAC 160.620(a) 
      With operator--$660,000 per year, including cash and merchandise 15 AAC 160.600(b) 
      Without operator--$840,000 per year, including cash and merchandise 15 AAC 160.600(a) 
    Contest of skill prize limit raised under certain circumstances AS 05.15.180(g) 
    Last pull-tab sold in a series prize does not affect ideal net for 3% tax purposes 15 AAC 160.460(c) 
    Limits not reduced if operator contract terminated by permittee for non-use 15 AAC 160.220(c) 
      Bingo limit not reduced 15 AAC 160.600(b) 
    Multiple-beneficiary permit limit set by application of non-bingo limit method AS 05.15.180(g) 
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  Contest of skill prize limit raised under certain circumstances AS 05.15.180(g) 
  Disclosure of prizes and procedures for bingo 15 AAC 160.560 
  Door prizes may not exceed $20,000 per month offered or awarded at one operator site AS 05.15.180(e) 
  Last ticket sold prize:  Allowed to close out a slow pull-tab game 15 AAC 160.470(j)(3) 
    Cannot be added to a pull-tab game by a distributor 15 AAC 160.460(c) 
    Does not affect ideal net of a pull-tab game for 3% tax purposes 15 AAC 160.460((c) 

    
Pull-tab game with last ticket sold prize may not be mixed with another game under AS 
05.15.187(c) 15 AAC 160.470(b) 

  Limits not reduced if operator contract terminated by permittee for non-use 15 AAC 160.220(c) 
    Bingo annual--$840,000 without an operator; $660,000 with an operator 15 AAC 160.600 
    Bingo annual, as percentage of AGI--85% 15 AAC 160.600(c) 
    Bingo game and session limits--$1,000 and $5,000 15 AAC 160.620(a) 
    Non-bingo [pull-tabs, raffles, fish derbies, contests of skill, classics, etc.] AS 05.15.180(g) 
      Contests of skill have an additional $1,000,000 if self-conducted AS 05.15.180(g) 
    Door prizes $20,000 per  month or $240,000 per year offered or awarded AS 05.15.180(d), (e) 
  Multiple-beneficiary permit:  non-bingo limits AS 05.15.180(g) 
  Non-bingo, with operator--$500,000 annually AS 05.15.180(g) 
  Non-bingo, without operator--$2,000,000 annually AS 05.15.180(g) 
  Permittee/MBP member may not pay gaming expense of operator/MBP 15 AAC 160.830(e) 
  Pull-tab:  Limited to $500 per ticket 15 AAC 160.480(a)(3) 
    Must be randomly placed in the game 15 AAC 160.380(a) 
    Structure must be complete in one series [game] 15 AAC 160.480(a)(1) 
    Over $50 winner required to complete State receipt form AS 05.15.187(i) 
    Paid by check or cash only 15 AAC 160.470(c) 
      Cash prize defined 15 AAC 160.995(4) 
    Under $50 may be paid in cash, check or pull-tabs 15 AAC 160.470(d) 
  Winner receipts:  Animal Classics--$50 or more 15 AAC 160.676(d) 
    Bingo--all prizes 15 AAC 160.610 
    Calcutta pool--$50 or more 15 AAC 160.715(e) 
    Crane classic--$50 or more 15 AAC 160.717(b) 
    Dog Mushers' contests--$50 or more 15 AAC 160.680(c) 
    Ice classics--$50 or more 15 AAC 160.700(c) 
    Fish derbies--$50 or more 15 AAC 160.690(c) 
    Pull-tabs--$50 or more AS 05.15.187(i) 
    Raffles--$50 or more 15 AAC 160.650(g) 
    Salmon and King Salmon classics--$50 or more 15 AAC 160.710(c) 
Procedures, statutes and regulations copy available on each gaming premises 15 AAC 160.940 
Progressive raffle--defined; roll tickets may be used 15 AAC 160.656(c) 
  House rules must be prominently posted 15 AAC 160.656(e) 
Prohibited conflict of interest for permittees and licensees 15 AAC 160.954 
  Defined   15 AAC 160.954(b) 
  Disclosure required in permit application AS 05.15.140(b)(2) 
  Transactions that are not prohibited conflicts of interest 15 AAC 160.954(c) 
  Grounds for action 15 AAC 160.880(12) 
  Person may not be both an operator and a distributor 15 AAC 160.954(d)(1) 

Page 171 of 187  Go to Index 
 



  Persons affected 15 AAC 160.954(e) 
    Others affected 15 AAC 160.954(f) 
  Related parties include direct relatives and affiliates 15 AAC 160.954(e)(1) 
    Defined 15 AAC 160.954(f) 

    Defined 
15 AAC 160.995(5), 

(24) 
  Related party transactions that are allowed 15 AAC 160.954(c) 
Prohibited financial interest means a prohibited conflict of interest 15 AAC 160.995(22) 
Prohibited use of net proceeds 15 AAC 160.810 
Promoting gambling:  In the first degree AS 11.66.210 
  In the second degree AS 11.66.220 
  Affirmative defense--social game in personal residence with no house odds or profit AS 11.66.250 
    Social Game defined AS 11.66.280(9) 
Proration of gaming permit/license fees--no proration 15 AAC 160.160 
Promotional items 15 AAC 160.800 
Promotion, not conduct, of any gaming activity allowed on any Internet format AS 05.15.640(a) 

  Change in statute annulled 15 AAC 160.945(b); effective 10 September 2012 
CSHB 245; CH 62, SLA 

12 
Proof:  Necessary to qualify for permit AS 05.15.140(a) 
  Of activity 15 AAC 160.990 
  Of operator liability insurance due on demand AS 05.15.165(d) 
Property, real, leased by MBP from a member permittee must be appraised 15 AAC 160.954(c)(3) 
Proration of building expenses 15 AAC 160.995(3)(A)(iv) 
Public interest protection--Additional regulations authorized AS 05.15.130 
  Commissioner may issue order to prohibit act or practice AS 05.15.610(a) 
  Disqualification terminates if in AS 05.15.105(b) 
    Also   15 AAC 160.992(b)(2) 
  Emergency order by Commissioner to protect AS 05.15.610(b) 
  MBP issuance may not be detrimental to AS 05.15.145(a) 
  Permit issuance not detrimental to AS 05.15.140(a) 
  Qualified organization definition may be supplemented if in AS 05.15.130 
  Regulations authorized to protect AS 05.15.060(a)(11) 
Pull-tab Game:  Additional prize through drawing AS 05.15.187(g) 
   Age limit:  Buy--21 years old AS 05.15.187(e) 
    Sell, buy or play--21 years old 15 AAC 160.480(b) 
  Ban by municipality AS 05.15.620 
  Coin board; coin in board valued at face value 15 AAC 160.470(n) 
    Unclaimed prize goes to buyer of last pull-tab in the game 15 AAC 160.470(m) 
  Construction standards 15 AAC 160.370 
  Also     15 AAC 160.380 
  Deface winning pull-tabs of $50 or more immediately after redemption 15 AAC 160.470(i) 
  Defined   AS 05.15.690(38) 
  Design subject to Department approval 15 AAC 160.390 
  Destruction of pull-tabs--limited 15 AAC 160.490 
    Also   AS 05.15.187(d) 

Page 172 of 187  Go to Index 
 



  Distributor:  Application for license 15 AAC 160.050 
    Distribution 15 AAC 160.420 
    Invoice must show price of all sales, net of any discount 15 AAC 160.942(d)(1) 
      Also 15 AAC 160.942(e)(1) 
    License required AS 05.15.183(a) 
    Licensee fee--$1,000 annually AS 05.15.183(b) 
    License application requirements 15 AAC 160.050 
    Monthly report criteria 15 AAC 160.440(a) 
    Must give game invoice to permittee 15 AAC 160.420(a) 
    Purchase inducement programs defined, prohibited 15 AAC 160.942 
    Report on Department form 15 AAC 160.440(a) 
    Report need not include game price information 15 AAC 160.440(b) 
    Retain price information for three years for Department access 15 AAC 160.440(b) 
    Required for transfer of pull-tabs to permittee AS 05.15.187(a) 
    Track and account for all games bought, sold and in inventory 15 AAC 160.430(c) 
  Dispensing device may be used; limitations 15 AAC 160.470(l) 
    Defined 15 AAC 160.995(35) 
  Distributor to distributor transfer allowed AS 05.15.185(3) 
  Drunk may not purchase pull-tabs 15 AAC 160.480(c) 
  Employees of permittee/vendor may not buy pull-tabs of permittee/vendor AS 05.15.187(h) 
  Expenses limited to 70% of AGI AS 05.15.160(c) 
  Flare card must be displayed 15 AAC 160.400(b) 
    Must have tax stamp affixed 15 AAC 160.410(b) 

  
Freezing of a game not allowable--unallowable removal of a game from play, not IAW 
regulation 15 AAC 160.490 

  Game may pay additional prize with bond, consent of AG AS 05.15.187(g) 
  Game prize structure may be in only one series 15 AAC 160.480(a)(1) 
  Ideal Net defined AS 05.15.690(27) 
    Ideal net not affected by prize for last ticket sold 15 AAC 160.460(c) 
  Identification:  Labels sent to permittee by distributor 15 AAC 160.420(b) 
    Pull-tab winner:  must sign Department-designed form if prize is $50 or more AS 05.15.187(i) 
    Stamp:  Reported to Department by manufacturer 15 AAC 160.430 
      Use on flare card 15 AAC 160.400(b) 
      Used by manufacturers 15 AAC 160.400(a) 
  Inventory:  Permittee report may be based on unopened games on hand 15 AAC 160.830(j) 
  Last ticket sold prize:  Allowed to close out a slow game 15 AAC 160.470(j)(3) 

    
Cannot exceed $500 when combined with all other prizes due for a particular pull-
tab 15 AAC 160.460(c) 

    Cannot be added by a distributor 15 AAC 160.460(c) 
    Does not affect ideal net for 3% tax purposes 15 AAC 160.460(c) 

    
Game with last ticket sold prize may not be mixed with another game under AS 
05.15.187(c) 15 AAC 160.470(b) 

  Limit on:  Advertising:  5% of AGI  15 AAC 160.780 
    Raffle variations 15 AAC 160.656(a) 
    Use of insider information prohibited AS 05.15.170(a)(5) 
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  Local option ban AS 05.15.620 
  Location:  for play of a single pull-tab series, must be the same at any one time 15 AAC 160.480(a)(2) 
    New location:  amend application within 10 days 15 AAC 160.070 
  Manufacturer:  Application for license 15 AAC 160.040 
    Distribution 15 AAC 160.410 
    License needed if pull-tabs made or sold in Alaska AS 05.15.181(a) 
    Licensee fee--$2,500 annually AS 05.15.181(b) 
    May distribute pull-tabs only to a distributor AS 05.15.181(d) 
    Monthly report AS 05.15.181(e) 
      Report criteria 15 AAC 160.430 
    Must be able to identify counterfeit pull-tabs; reveal method to Department 15 AAC 160.370(d) 
    Must provide packing slip 15 AAC 160.410(d) 
    Manufacturing standards 15 AAC 160.370 
      Failure to comply with standards can bar pull-tab from use in the state 15 AAC 160.390 
      Must comply with NAGRA standards 15 AAC 160.370(a) 

  
May be sold at discount, offered as door prizes, or last ticket sold prize offered, to close 
slow game 15 AAC 160.470(j)(3) 

  May not be:  Combined with a game belonging to another permittee 15 AAC 160.470(e)(1) 
    Sold directly from the original packing box unless it was designed for retail sales 15 AAC 160.470(g) 
    Switched to another permittee 15 AAC 160.470(e)(2) 
  Mechanical/electronic:  Assistance in play prohibited 15 AAC 160.470(f) 
    May not be used in any capacity AS 05.15.180(a) 
  Mixed games--may add new game if old game 10% or less; same price/prize structure AS 05.15.187(c) 
    Mix option not available if either game has "last ticket sold" prize 15 AAC 160.470(b) 
  Monthly sale report by manufacturer AS 05.15.183(e) 
  Operator:  See "Operator"   
  Original packing box may not be used for direct sales unless designed for such activity 15 AAC 160.470(g) 
  Packing slip criteria 15 AAC 160.410(d) 
  Payment by permittee/operator to distributor required within 30 days 15 AAC 160.450 

  
Permittee records retention--three years from due date or filing date, unless otherwise 
specified 15 AAC 160.870 

  Player contact with pull-tab container prohibited 15 AAC 160.470(o) 
  Point-of-sale system must accept data from all games sold by all distributors 15 AAC 160.942(f) 
  Pooling prohibited for an operator--contracts with authorizing permittees are individual AS 05.15.115(a) 

    
Pull-tab games played under one permit may not be combined with a games played under 
another permit 15 AAC 160.470(e)(1) 

    Pull-tab games played under one permit may not be transferred to another permit 15 AAC 160.470(e)(2) 
    Reports are oriented to activity of individual permittees, and not a group AS 05.15.083 
  Price of ticket may not exceed $2 15 AAC 160.470(a) 
  Prize:  May not exceed $500 per ticket 15 AAC 160.480(a)(3) 
    Must be randomly placed in the game 15 AAC 160.380(a) 
    Of $50 or more:  Must be receipted AS 05.15.187(i) 
      Paid in cash or check only 15 AAC 160.470(c) 
        Cash prize defined 15 AAC 160.995(4) 
      Requires receipt on Department form AS 05.15.187(i) 
    Paid in pull-tabs accounted as cash prizes 15 AAC 160.470(d) 
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    Prize receipt required for all prizes of $50 or more AS 05.15.187(i) 
    Under $50 paid in cash, check or pull-tabs ["play-backs"] 15 AAC 160.470(d) 
  Purchase by permittee/operator/vendor employees prohibited AS 05.15.187(h) 
  Random placement of pull-tab prizes required in a game 15 AAC 160.380(a) 
  Receipt of, only by permittee or operator AS 05.15.185 

  
Records retention:  Winning pull-tabs of $50 or more--two or three years, depending on 
prior year  AS 05.15.187(f) 

    
Other records of pull-tab play--three years from the due date or filing date of the report 
they support 15 AAC 160.870 

  Registered vendor:  see "Vendors" AS 05.15.188 
  Regulations for pull-tabs to comply with NAGRA standards AS 05.15.060(b) 
  Remove from play:  limited to defective product AS 05.15.187(d) 
    Prohibited unless IAW 15 AAC 160.490 15 AAC 160.490 
    Valid reasons to remove from play 15 AAC 160.490 
  Reports:  see "Reports"   
  Sale to one who is drunk prohibited 15 AAC 160.480(c) 
  Series:  Assembly and packaging 15 AAC 160.380 
    Distributed must have NAFTM or State seal AS 05.15.185 
    Made must have NAFTM or State seal AS 05.15.181(c) 
    May not be sold at more than one location on the same day AS 05.15.187(b) 
    May not be combined with a game from, or switched to, another permittee 15 AAC 160.470(e) 
    May not be withdrawn from play AS 05.15.187(d) 
    Prize structure must be complete in one series 15 AAC 160.480(a)(1) 
    Game name and manufacturer must be on box 15 AAC 160.380(c) 
  Tax:  Due from distributor with monthly report AS 05.15.184 
    3% of ideal net, paid monthly by distributor 15 AAC 160.460(b) 
    3% due on ideal net from distributor when game is sold AS 05.15.184 
    Not affected by prize for last pull-tab sold in a series 15 AAC 160.460(c) 
    Paid by distributor to Department 15 AAC 160.460(b) 
    Paid by permittee/operator to distributor 15 AAC 160.450 
    Rate is 3% AS 05.15.184 
    Tax identification stamp and labels 15 AAC 160.410(b) 
      Identification labels must accompany game to permittee 15 AAC 160.420(b)(1) 
    Remitted by distributor with monthly report AS 05.15.184 
  Ticket:  Price may not exceed $2 15 AAC 160.470(a) 
    That has been altered may not be sold 15 AAC 160.470(b) 
  Unclaimed prizes:  in coin board go to buyer of last pull-tab in the game 15 AAC 160.470(m) 
    In seal card game are awarded under house rules 15 AAC 160.470(m) 
  Vendors:  see "Vendors" AS 05.15.188 
  Who cannot play 15 AAC 160.470(k) 
  Winners of $50 or more in one prize must complete State receipt form AS 05.15.187(i) 
    Identity must be verified 15 AAC 160.470(h) 
  Winning pull-tabs will:  Be randomly distributed in box 15 AAC 160.380(b) 
    Be defaced upon redemption 15 AAC 160.470(i) 
    Not be determinable until opened 15 AAC 160.380(a) 
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    Not be revealed by location in box 15 AAC 160.380(d) 
Pull-tabs:  Age limit:  Buy:  21 years old AS 05.15.187(e) 
    Sell, play:  21 years old 15 AAC 160.480(b) 
  Ban by municipality AS 05.15.620 
  Bond required for games with additional winner potential through drawing AS 05.15.187(g) 
  In a series must be:  Color coded if series number reused 15 AAC 160.370(c)(2) 
    Of uniform construction 15 AAC 160.370(c)(1) 
    Of the same series number 15 AAC 160.370(b)(3) 
    Played at the same location on the same day 15 AAC 160.480(a)(2) 
  Inside information use prohibited AS 05.15.187(h) 
  Destruction of pull-tabs--limited 15 AAC 160.490 
    Also   AS 05.15.187(d) 
  Dispensing device may be used; limitations 15 AAC 160.470(l) 
    Defined 15 AAC 160.995(35) 
  Distributor must track and account for all games bought, sold and in inventory 15 AAC 160.420(c) 
  Employees of permittee/vendor may not buy pull-tabs of permittee/vendor AS 05.15.187(h) 

  
Last ticket sold game--manufacturer may designate; provision must be on flare card; barred to 
distributors 15 AAC 160.460(c) 

    Permittee or operator may add a last ticket sold prize to close a slow game 15 AAC 160.470(j)(3) 
  May be distributed only from in-state AS 05.15.183(a) 
  May not be sold to a person under 21 years old AS 05.15.187(e) 
  Must be obtained from a licensed distributor AS 05.15.187(a) 
  Must be of opaque construction 15 AAC 160.370(b)(2) 
  Must have conspicuous series number and manufacturer 15 AAC 160.370(b)(3) 
  Must show player how to use and win 15 AAC 160.370(b)(4) 
  NAGRA standards apply to pull-tab regulations AS 05.15.060(b) 
  Of different series may not be mixed if over 10% AS 05.15.187(c) 
    May not be mixed if either game has a "last ticket sold" prize 15 AAC 160.470(b) 
  Operator may not contract with registered vendor AS 05.15.188(j) 
  Prize limit not reduced if operator contract terminated by permittee for non-use 15 AAC 160.220(c) 
  Purchase inducement program prohibited 15 AAC 160.942 
  Purchaser must be able to read flare card 15 AAC 160.400(b) 
  Sold under separate permits may not be mixed 15 AAC 160.470(e) 
  Video pull-tab terminals not authorized AS 05.15.180(a) 
  Withdrawal of open game limited  AS 05.15.187(d) 
    Additional reasons to withdraw pull-tab game from play 15 AAC 160.490 
Pull-tab purchase inducement programs defined, prohibited 15 AAC 160.942 
Purchase inducement program prohibited 15 AAC 160.942 
Purchaser of pull-tab must be able to read flare card 15 AAC 160.400(b) 

Q 
Qualified Organization defined--without profit to members AS 05.15.690(39) 
Quarterly reports by permittees AS 05.15.080(a) 

R 
Race Classic defined AS 05.15.690(40) 
Raffle and Lottery:  Age limit:  there are none, to buy or sell tickets, or to participate in the raffle in   
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any way 
  Defined   AS 05.15.690(41) 
  Advertising on radio, TV and Internet allowed; broadcast use limited to certain activities AS 05.15.640(a) 
  Bucket or basket raffle--limitations;  may use dual roll tickets 15 AAC 160.656(a)(1) 
    Defined 15 AAC 160.995(30) 
  Calendar raffle 15 AAC 160.656(b) 
  Change in prizes procedures 15 AAC 160.650(i) 
  Drawing procedures 15 AAC 160.650 
  Information required on tickets and stubs 15 AAC 160.640 
  Lost or stolen tickets:  statute and regulation are silent, and house rules apply.   

  
Merchandise raffle--like split-the-pot, but merchandise prize; may use roll tickets; there are 
limitations 15 AAC 160.656(a) 

  Must be fully accounted at raffle end 15 AAC 160.670 

  
Occurring over two years--may use accrual to report; use AFS Schedules F/F-1 in year 1, reverse 
for year 2   

  Other raffle types may be approved by Department upon application 15 AAC 160.656(d) 
    House rules must be prominently posted 15 AAC 160.656(e) 
  Prizes:  Disclosure required 15 AAC 160.640(c) 
    Change in prizes 15 AAC 160.650(i) 
    Ownership of prizes required before the drawing 15 AAC 160.660 
    Receipts signed by winners 15 AAC 160.650(g) 
  Progressive raffle 15 AAC 160.656(c) 
    Defined; dual roll tickets may be used 15 AAC 160.995(31) 
  Records   15 AAC 160.670(a) 
    Retention--three years from the drawing date 15 AAC 160.670(b) 
  Report, Annual, Operator:  must report raffle activity in the year of activity AS 05.15.083(b) 
      Permittee must report raffle activity in year of activity AS 05.15.080(b) 

    
Quarterly, Operator:  not required until raffle done if raffle is only activity [in same 
year] AS 05.15.083(a) 

      
Permittee: not required until raffle done if raffle is only activity [in same 
year] AS 05.15.080(a) 

  
Rules for required information modified if single event, time and place, with all players 
present 15 AAC 160.656(a) 

  Required information on tickets and stubs 15 AAC 160.640 

  
Roll tickets may be used in split-the-pot, merchandise, and bucket or basket raffles; 
limitations 15 AAC 160.656(a) 

    Also in progressive raffles 15 AAC 160.656(c) 
  Sold by operator must have license and permit number 15 AAC 160.640(b)(2) 
  Special draw raffle rules 15 AAC 160.652 

    
Department approval needed if raffle does not involve animals under AS 
05.15.690(2) 15 AAC 160.652(a) 

    May not use numbers wheel, cards or dice 15 AAC 160.652(b) 

    
May not use animals, numbers wheels, cards or dice--see AG opinion on 
interpretation AS 05.15.690(33) 

    Ticket price may not exceed $100 15 AAC 160.652(c) 

  
Split-the-pot raffles exempt from most ticket information requirements--limitations, may use 
dual  roll tickets 15 AAC 160.656(a) 
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  Stolen or lost tickets:  statute and regulation are silent, and house rules apply.   
  Termination procedures 15 AAC 160.650(f) 
  Tickets and stubs must have permit/consecutive ticket [serial] number 15 AAC 160.640(a) 

  
Time limit for conduct--must be completed by end of year following the year in which first ticket 
was sold 15 AAC 160.650(e) 

    
Reporting a two-year raffle:  may use accrual; report on F/F-1 in Year 1; reverse, use AP/C 
in Year 2   

  Variations 15 AAC 160.656 
  Winner receipts for prizes of $50 or more 15 AAC 160.650(g) 
Rain Classic defined AS 05.15.690(42) 
Random placement of prizes in a pull-tab game required 15 AAC 160.380(a) 
Rat Race authorized AS 05.15.100(a) 
  Application 15 AAC 160.675 
  Defined   AS 05.15.690(2)(A) 
  Defined   15 AAC 160.995(28) 
  Operation 15 AAC 160.676(b) 
Real property:  leased by an MBP from a member permittee must be appraised 15 AAC 160.953(c)(3) 

  
Operator bond:  acceptable if no other alternative and property is appraised at twice the bond 
amount 15 AAC 160.030(b)(3)(A) 

Reapplication after revocation:  Operator--up to five years AS 05.15.170(b) 
  Licensee   AS 05.15.170(b) 
    Operator must retest 15 AAC 160.030(f) 
  Permittee--one year AS 05.15.040 
  Permittee--up to one year AS 05.15.170(b) 
  Vendor--up to five years AS 05.15.170(b) 
Receipt of pull-tabs--only by permittee, operator or distributor AS 05.15.185 
Receipts for bingo sales 15 AAC 160.520 
Receipts for prizes:  Bingo--required for all prizes 15 AAC 160.610(a) 
  Dog Mushers' Contest prize receipt for $50 or more 15 AAC 160.680(c) 
  Fish Derby prize receipt for all prizes of $50 or more 15 AAC 160.690(c) 
  Ice Classic--prize receipt for $50 or more 15 AAC 160.700(c) 
  Pull-tab--prize receipt for $50 or more AS 05.15.187(i) 
  Salmon and King Salmon classics--$50 or more 15 AAC 160.710(c) 
  For prizes--see Prize Winner Receipts   
Records:  Inspection 15 AAC 160.980 
Records:  Bingo sessions 15 AAC 160.625 

  
Keep for three years, generally, from the due date or filing date of the report they 
support 15 AAC 160.870 

  Bingo prize receipts kept for three years from issue date 15 AAC 160.520(a) 
  Inspection by Department 15 AAC 160.980 
  Method of accounting 15 AAC 160.830 
  Pull-tabs paying prizes of $50 or more must be kept AS 05.15.187(f) 
    Retention requirements for winning pull-tabs by permittee AS 05.15.187(f) 
  Raffles   15 AAC 160.670 
Refund of:  Expense reduces reportable gaming expenses; rules 15 AAC 160.830(g) 
  Fees     15 AAC 160.170 
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Registered Vendors for pull-tab sale--see "Vendors" AS 05.15.188 
Regulations--Department authorized to write AS 05.15.060 
  Procedures, regulations and statute copy must be available on each gaming premises 15 AAC 160.940 
Reinstatement after revocation:  Operator--up to five years AS 05.15.170(b) 
  Permittee--one year AS 05.15.040 
  Permittee--up to one year AS 05.15.170(b) 
  Registered vendor--up to five years AS 05.15.170(b) 
Religious Organization defined AS 05.15.690(43) 
Related party for prohibited conflict of interests defined 15 AAC 160.954(e)(2) 
Relative, direct, defined 15 AAC 160.995(5) 
  Permits--file with the Department 15 AAC 160.020(b) 
Renewal--permittee 15 AAC 160.020(b) 
  MBP     15 AAC 160.020(b) 
  Distributor AS 05.15.183 
  Operator   15 AAC 160.030 
  Pull-tab manufacturer AS 05.15.181(e) 
  Registered vendor 15 AAC 160.340 
Rent:   and wage expenses of an operator must be separately accounted 15 AAC 160.230 
  Appraisal required for real estate leased by an MBP from a member permittee 15 AAC 160.954(c)(3) 
Rental/lease fees for equipment/premises reasonable 15 AAC 160.995(3)(v) 
Report:  Department to legislature AS 05.15.090 
  Calcutta pool by permittee AS 05.15.080(c) 
  Distributor:  Monthly, by last business day of following month AS 05.15.183(d) 
    Report criteria 15 AAC 160.440(a) 
    To Department, of pull-tabs sold AS 05.15.183(e) 
  Expenses:  report actual expenses, regardless of limitations 15 AAC 160.835(e) 
  Manufacturer:  All pull-tabs sold, monthly, by last business day of the following month AS 05.15.181(e) 
    All pull-tabs sold 15 AAC 160.430 
  Multiple-beneficiary permittee:  Annually 15 AAC 160.850(c) 
    Annually, by 28 February of following year AS 05.15.083(b) 
      CPA review, by 28 February of following year 15 AAC 160.310 
    Quarterly, not later than 45 days following end of quarter AS 05.15.083(a) 
  Operator to:  Department:  Annually, by 28 February of following year AS 05.15.083(b) 
      Actual expenses must be reported, regardless of limitations 15 AAC 160.835(e) 
      CPA review, by 28 February of following year 15 AAC 160.310 
      Quarterly  If only raffle activity, no report until raffle done AS 05.15.083(a) 
      Quarterly, if MBP member, separate from MBP quarterly report 15 AAC 160.840(b) 
    Permittee:  Annually, by 15 March of the following year AS 05.15.087(c) 
      Actual expenses must be reported, regardless of limitations 15 AAC 160.835(e) 
      Annual 15 AAC 160.850 
      Monthly, from operator, to include net proceeds check from prior month AS 05.15.087(a) 
      Quarterly, by last day of the month following the report month AS 05.15.087(b) 
  Permittee to Department:  Annual, by 15 march of the following year AS 05.15.080(b) 

    
Quarterly  If only raffle activity, no report until raffle done [in same year], NLT 45 days 
after the quarter AS 05.15.080(a) 
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Reports:  And fees required of permittees--filing date AS 05.15.080(a) 
  Delinquent--all gaming activity must stop until filed AS 05.15.095(b) 

  
Due dates for filing:  Operator/MBP reports and CPA review:  annual report to Department by 28 
February AS 05.15.083(b) 

  Grace period for filing--one thirty-day period allowable 15 AAC 160.860(a) 
  Must use form prescribed or provided by the Department   
    Distributor of pull-tabs monthly report 15 AAC 160.440(a) 
    Permittee annual financial statement 15 AAC 160.850 
    Permittee quarterly report 15 AAC 160.840 
    Manufacturer of pull-tabs monthly report 15 AAC 160.460 
    MBP reports must comply with operator report requirements AS 05.15.145(d) 
    Operator quarterly and annual report 15 AAC 160.290 
  Signed under penalty of unsworn falsification AS 05.15.095(a) 
  To Department by operators--filing date AS 05.15.083(a) 
Request by Department for information or documents must be honored within 14 
days of receipt 15 AAC 160.980(d) 
Request for permit/license/vendor registration administrative hearing:   15 AAC 160.910 
  Timely within 15 days 15 AAC 160.910(b) 
  Waiver of Penalty 15 AAC 160.965 
Response to Department request for information or documents must be provided 
within 14 days 15 AAC 160.980(d) 
Restriction:  Fish and Game employees--salmon classics AS 05.15.060(a)(10) 
  Member in charge 15 AAC 160.970 
  Operator eligibility AS 05.15.105 

  
Use of broadcasting to conduct some limited activities limited to noncommercial 
stations or networks AS 5.15.640(a) 

    Also   15 AAC 160.945(a) 

    
Broadcasting includes the Internet--annulled by CSHB 245, effective 10 
September 2012 15 AAC 160.945(b) 

    
Promotion of any gaming activity, in any Internet format, is now allowed--
unrestricted AS 05.15.640(a) 

Restoration of prize limits if permittee can show that operator did not use permit before contract 
termination 15 AAC 160.220(c) 
Retail sales by operator requires authorizing permittee permission 15 AAC 160.935(a) 
Retained net proceeds for more than a year--general rules for retention, reporting, 
protection 15 AAC 160.822 
Retention of records; general:  three years from the due date or filing date of the 
report they support 15 AAC 160.870 
  Bingo prize receipts kept for three years from issue date 15 AAC 160.520(a) 
  Pull-tab records, when gross receipts exceed $100,000 in the prior year:  two years AS 05.15.871(f) 
  Raffle records:  three years from the drawing date 15 AAC 160.670(b) 
Return to the Department or destroy noncurrent permit, license or vendor 
registration 15 AAC 160.070(c) 

    
Permittees and licensees may use email, fax and web sites among themselves; no 
public access 15 AAC 160.945(c) 

Review of operator and MBP financial records by CPA 15 AAC 160.310 
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  Date required; required elements AS 05.15.165(e) 
Revocation:  Grounds, procedures, for permits, licenses, registrations AS 05.15.170 
  Also     AS 05.15.040 
  Grounds and procedures 15 AAC 160.880 
  Denial of permit or license--grounds 15 AAC 160.880 
  Department to post a notice 15 AAC 160.880(c) 
  Immediate, of a permit or license; procedures 15 AAC 160.885 
  Notice:  posted on premises 15 AAC 160.880(c) 
    To Alcoholic Beverage Control Board of violation by liquor licensee AS 05.15.097 
  Operator's license AS 05.15.128(a) 
    Appealable with licensee-paid audit AS 05.15.128(b) 
  Or suspension:  Licensee--surrender license 15 AAC 160.140 
    Permittee--surrender permit AS 05.15.050 
  Permits/licenses/registrations--regulations authorized AS 05.15.060)a)(3) 
  Procedures, grounds AS 05.15.170 
  Reapplication period:  License--up to five years AS 05.15.170(b) 
    Permit--up to one year AS 05.15.040 
    Also   AS 05.15.170(b) 
  Surrender:  License 15 AAC 160.140 
    Permit AS 05.15.050 
    Registration [vendor]--up to five years AS 05.15.170(b) 
  Suspension grounds--permits/licenses/registrations AS 05.15.170 
Roll tickets may be used in split-the-pot, merchandise, and  bucket or basket raffles 15 AAC 160.656(a) 
  Also in progressive raffles 15 AAC 160.656(c) 

S 
Sale of equipment, supplies, miscellaneous, included in gross income AS 05.15.690(25) 
Sales receipts for bingo 15 AAC 160.520 
Sales, retail, by operator at primary gaming site requires permission from the 
authorizing permittees 15 AAC 160.935(a) 
Salmon Classic:  Defined AS 05.15.690(44) 
  Procedures 15 AAC 160.710 
Scholarship limitation--cannot go to Outsiders to be used Outside 15 AAC 160.810(c) 
Seal card defined 15 AAC 160.995(36) 
Self-directed permittee must identify gaming manager to Department within ten 
days 15 AAC 160.365(a) 
  Self-directed permit defined 15 AAC 160.995(23) 
Series, pull-tab, defined AS 05.15.690(45) 
Series, game name and manufacturer must be on pull-tab box 15 AAC 160.380(c) 
Session:  Bingo, may not exceed 35 games 15 AAC 160.580(c) 
  Consecutive:  must be separated by at least one hour 15 AAC 160.580(e) 
  Limits, bingo 15 AAC 160.580(d) 
  Records   15 AAC 160.625 
Short title--Alaska Gaming Reform Act AS 05.15.695 
Signature stamp may not be used on permittee checks 15 AAC 160.820(c)(3) 
Skill, Contests of:  see Contests of Skill   
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Snow Classic defined AS 05.15.690(49) 
Snow Machine Classic defined AS 05.15.690(46) 
Snowtown Ice Classic authorized AS 05.15.100(a) 
  Also     AS 05.15.115(c) 
  Also     AS 05.15.180(b) 
  Defined   AS 05.15.690(26) 
Social Game defined AS 11.66.280(9) 
Something of Value defined AS 11.66.280(10) 
Special draw raffle 15 AAC 160.652 
Split-the-pot raffle 15 AAC 160.656(a)(3) 
  Defined; prize is 50% of gross receipts 15 AAC 160.995(32) 
Spousal Equivalent defined 15 AAC 160.995(24) 
Stamps, identification, for pull-tabs 15 AAC 160.400 
Standards for construction of pull-tabs 15 AAC 160.370 
State identification stamps must be used by pull-tab manufacturers 15 AAC 160.410(b)(1) 
Statute:  if found unlawful--permits and licenses issued thereunder are cancelled AS 05.15.600 
  Procedures, statue and regulations copy must be available on each gaming premises 15 AAC 160.940 
Stipends/per diem to members/officers for meetings in their own communities are not authorized 
gaming expenses 

15 AAC 
160.995(3)(B)(xiv) 

Stop order for unlicensed activity AS 05.15.610 
Strict interpretation of statue and regulations by Department 15 AAC 160.932 
Sublease or lease of a facility used to conduct gaming activity by a distributor 
prohibited 15 AAC 160.954(b)(3) 
Subpoena power for books, records, witnesses AS 05.15.070 
Supervisor defined 15 AAC 160.995(37) 
Supplemental information to permit/license/registration application 15 AAC 160.080 
Surety bond:  Changed--operator must inform Department AS 05.15.167(c) 
  Lost--operator must inform Department AS 05.15.167(c) 
Surrender of:  License upon suspension or revocation 15 AAC 160.140 
  Permit upon suspension or revocation AS 05.15.050 
Suspension:  Grounds 15 AAC 160.880 

  
Automatic when there is no member in charge; lifted upon appointment notice and 
testing 15 AAC 160.970(e) 

  Department to post a notice 15 AAC 160.880(c) 
  License up to five years AS 05.15.170(b) 
  Notice:  of permit limits disposition of funds 15 AAC 160.890 
    Or revocation--permit surrender AS 05.15.050 
    Posted on premises 15 AAC 160.880(c) 
    To Alcoholic Beverage Control Board of violation by liquor licensee AS 05.15.097 
  Permit for up to one year AS 05.15.170(b) 
  Procedures AS 05.15.170 
  Surrender:  License 15 AAC 160.140 
    Permit AS 05.15.050 
  Vendor registration for up to five years AS 05.15.170(b) 
Suspension/revocation/denial--permits/licenses/registrations 15 AAC 160.880 
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T 
Tampered pull-tab tickets may not be sold 15 AAC 160.470(b) 
Tax:  Additional 1% is a "fee" and not a tax AS 05.15.020(b) 
    Delinquent:  no penalty or interest stated in statute or regulation   
  On pull-tabs--3% of ideal net AS 05.15.184 
    Due from distributor to the Department with monthly report AS 05.15.184 
    3% of ideal net, paid monthly by distributor to Department 15 AAC 160.460 
    3% due on ideal net from distributor when game is sold AS 05.15.184 
    Not affected by prize for last pull-tab sold in a series 15 AAC 160.460(c) 
    Paid by distributor to Department 15 AAC 160.460(b) 
    Paid by permittee/operator to distributor 15 AAC 160.450 
    Remitted by distributor with monthly report 15 AAC 160.460(b) 
    Tax identification stamp and labels 15 AAC 160.400(b) 
      Must be provided to permittee with game 15 AAC 160.420(b)(1) 
  Unpaid stops gaming activity AS 05.15.095(b) 
Temporary permit/operator license to conduct gaming until 15 February with timely-filed renewal 
application 15 AAC 160.110(f) 

  
Temporary MBP permit applies only to permittees that were members before the application was 
filed 15 AAC 160.110(f) 

Termination of:  Contract; restoration of prize limits upon demonstration that operator did not use 
permit 15 AAC 160.220(c) 
  Disqualification from participation in gaming for some felons 15 AAC 160.992 
  Raffle if prizes changed 15 AAC 160.650(i) 
Testing:  Operators AS 05.15.122(b) 
  Managers of MBPs must test 15 AAC 160.975(c) 
  Permittees--required of all members in charge AS 05.15.112(e) 
  Retesting may be required if changes in statute or regulation are sufficiently extensive 15 AAC 160.975(e) 
  Test for PMIC, AMIC and manager in charge of gaming 15 AAC 160.975 
    The test for permittees is now also available online.   
Theft/embezzlement:  Loss by employee may not be charged to permittee by 
operator 15 AAC 160.270(c) 
  Permittee/MBP rules for accounting if recovery involved 15 AAC 160.835(c) 
Three elements of gambling--consideration [what is paid to enter the activity], 
chance and prize 

AG Opinion 663-01-
0183 

  If any element is missing, the activity is not gambling 
AG Opinion 663-01-

0183 
Third-party check may not be accepted by a permittee for participation in gaming 15 AAC 160.800(f) 
Third-party vendor:  see "Vendors" AS 05.15.188 
Tickets and stubs for a raffle must have permit, serial [and license] numbers 15 AAC 160.640 
  Split-the-pot raffle exempt from most ticket requirements 15 AAC 160.656(a)(3) 
Time:  Extension to use net proceeds AS 05.15.150(b) 
    Restrictions on holding net proceeds for more than one year 15 AAC 160.822 
  Limit to appoint replacement members in charge--six months AS 05.15.112(e) 
  Limit to request hearing--fifteen days 15 AAC 160.910(b) 
  Notify Department of changes within ten days 15 AAC 160.070(a) 
Transfer of license prohibited 15 AAC 160.120 
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  Permit transfer prohibited AS 05.15.040 
Travel, out-of-state:  As expense, not expressly prohibited 15 AAC 160.995(3) 
  Net proceeds use:  allowed if in compliance otherwise AS 05.15.150(a) 

U 
Unauthorized:  Expenses from gaming activity by permittee 15 AAC 160.995(3)(B) 
  Include expenses not authorized and authorized expenses above caps in AS 05.15.160 15 AAC 160.835(a) 
  Operator expenses reimbursed to permittee with interest AS 05.15.165(b) 
Unclaimed prizes:  in coin board or seal card game 15 AAC 160.470(m) 
  In raffle; disposition must be recorded 15 AAC 160.670(a)(9) 
Unlawful:  Defined AS 11.66.280(11) 
  Statute--permits and licenses issued thereunder are cancelled AS 05.15.600 
Unlicensed activity--stop order for, by Commissioner AS 05.15.610 
  Unlicensed activity 15 AAC 160.930 
Unpermitted activity 15 AAC 160.930 
Use of dedicated net proceeds:  Permitted use defined AS 05.15.150(a) 
  Donated to another organization 15 AAC 160.810(f) 
  Limits   15 AAC 160.810 
  Permitted use defined further 15 AAC 160.810 
  Political use of any kind restricted to raffle proceeds AS 05.15.150(a)(3) 
  Recipient to use IAW with AS 05.15.150--permittee to ensure compliance 15AAC 160.810(f) 
  Record kept for three years 15 AAC 160.870 
  Registered lobbyist, payments to, banned AS 05.15.150(a)(1) 
  Scholarship use limited to in-state or by state resident Outside 15 AAC 160.810(e) 
  Stated purpose in accordance with statute AS 05.15.150(a) 
  Statement of purpose required by application on Department form 15 AAC 05.15.020(a) 

  
Stipends/per diem to attend meetings in own community may be allowed as use of net 
proceeds AS 05.15.150(a) 

  Within one year AS 05.15.150(b) 

    
Interpretation--must be used by the end of year following the year in which they are earned 
or received   

    Permission from Department required to hold proceeds more than one year AS 05.15.150(b) 
    Rules for accounting, reporting, when permitted to hold for more than one year 15 AAC 160.822 
Use of another's permit/license/registration prohibited 15 AAC 160.880(a)(6) 
  Also, for permits AS 05.15.040 
  Also, for licenses 15 AAC 160.120 

V 
Validated bingo sheet defined 15 AAC 160.995(25) 
Vendors, registered AS 05.15.188 
  Ban by municipality option AS 05.15.124 
  Contracts 15 AAC 160.340 
  Compensation:  May be waived; activity controlled 15 AAC 160.350 
    No more than 30% of ideal net AS 05.15.188(h) 
  Criminal history check may be requested by Department 15 AAC 160.934 
  Defined   AS 05.15.690(47) 
  Examination of books and records AS 05.15.070 
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  False statement in application--unsworn falsification AS 05.15.680(b) 
    Grounds for action 15 AAC 160.880(a)(1) 
  Liquor license required--must be liquor store or full-service bar [not a fraternal] AS 05.15.690(47) 
  May not receive pull-tabs directly from distributor, but only from PMIC AS 05.15.183(e) 

  
May not have any other contract with, or employ, a permittee when there is a vendor 
contract 15 AAC 160.954(d)(2) 

  May not be a member in charge for a permittee 15 AAC 160.970(a) 
  May not contract with an operator AS 05.15.188(j) 
  Must post permit before starting play 15 AAC 160.110(b) 
  Net proceeds at least 70% of ideal net AS 05.15.188(h) 
  Permit must be posted before start of play 15 AAC 160.110(b) 

  
Permittee may sell pull-tabs at a vendor site, without vendor contract, if vendor sues not sell or 
play them 15 AAC 160.350(c) 

  Purchase inducement program participation barred 15 AAC 160.350(b) 
    Also   15 AAC 160.942 
  Registration required AS 05.15.188 
  Revocation/suspension grounds, procedures AS 05.15.170 
    Department to post a notice 15 AAC 160.880(c) 
    Renewal after action may be denied for up to five years AS 05.15.170(b) 
  Sales areas--must prohibit unaccompanied minors 15 AAC 160.360 
Veterans Organization defined AS 05.15.690(48) 
Video pull-tabs terminals not authorized AS 05.15.180(a) 
Violation of AS 05.15/15 AAC 160 grounds for action 15 AAC 160.880 
Violation:  Ineligibility--no reinstatement for one year AS 05.15.170(a) 
  First--NOV; second--Class B misdemeanor AS 05.15.680(a) 
  Notice to Alcoholic Beverage Control Board of violation by liquor licensee AS 05.15.097 

Volunteer: 
Allowed to violate statute or regulation is a violation for suspension or 
revocation 15 AAC 160.880(a)(17) 

  At a Calcutta pool must be at least 18 years old 15 AAC 160.715(f) 

  
Need not be an operator if volunteer is not a manager of gaming for two permittees in 
the year 15 AAC 160.190(b)(2) 

  Or employee of a permittee at a secondary gaming location may sell pull-tabs 15 AAC 160.935(c) 
  Or employee of a permittee may sell pull-tabs at a vendor site without a vendor contract 15 AAC 160.350(c)(5) 

W 
Wages must be:  Reasonable AS 05.15.160(b) 
  Separately accounted by an operator 15 AAC 160.230 
Waiver of:  Hearing rights if request not timely--over fifteen days 15 AAC 160.910 
  Membership requirement for permit 15 AAC 160.020(c) 
  Penalty   15 AAC 160.965 
Web sites, email and fax may be used by permittees and licensees among themselves; no 
public access 15 AAC 160.945(c) 
Wheels, cards and dice may not be used AS 05.15.180(a) 
Who cannot play pull-tabs 15 AAC 160.470(k) 
  Employees cannot play pull-tabs sold by their employer; applies to ALL employees AS 05.15.187(h) 
Winner:  Bingo, with subsequent call, defined--share the prize 15 AAC 160.590(l) 
    Multiple winners on same call--share the prize 15 AAC 160.590(j) 
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  Identification of pull-tab winner of $50 or more must be verified 15 AAC 160.470(h) 
  Receipt to be completed by winner:  Bingo--all prizes 15 AAC 160.610(a) 
    Calcutta pool--$50 or more 15 AAC 160.715(e) 
    Crane classic--$50 or more 15 AAC 160.717(b) 
    Fish Derbies, for prize of $50 or more 15 AAC 160.690(c) 
    Ice Classics, for prize of $50 or more 15 AAC 160.700(c) 
    Pull-tab, for prize of $50 or more AS 05.15.187(i) 
    Raffle, for prize of $50 or more 15 AAC 160.650(g) 
    Salmon/King Salmon Classics, for prize of $50 or more 15 AAC 160.710(c) 
Winning pull-tabs may not be disclosed by position in box 15 AAC 160.380(a) 
  Randomly distributed in box[is] 15 AAC 160.380(a), (d) 
Withdrawal of pull-tab games in play is limited AS 05.15.187(d) 
  Criteria for pull-tab game withdrawal from play 15 AAC 160.490 

 
Abbreviation Key: 
 

• ABC  =  Alcoholic Beverage Control Board 
• AAC  =  Alaska Administrative Code 
• AFS  =  Annual Financial Statement 
• AG  =  Attorney General 
• AGI  =  Adjusted Gross Income 
• AMIC  =  Alternate Member In Charge 
• AS  =  Alaska Statute 
• AST  =  Alaska State Troopers 
• CPA  =  Certified Public Accountant 
• CSHB  =  Committee Substitute for House Bill 
• FMV  =  Fair Market Value 
• GAAP  =  Generally Accepted Accounting Principles 
• IAW  =  In Accordance With 
• MBP  =  Multiple-Beneficiary  Permit[tee] 
• MIC  =  Member In Charge, either Primary or Alternate 
• NAFTM  =  National Association of Fundraising Ticket Manufacturers 
• NAGRA  =  North American Gaming Regulators Association  
• NOV  =  Notice of Violation 
• NLT  =  Not Later Than 
• PMIC  =  Primary Member In Charge 
• SLA  =  Session Law of Alaska 
• §§  = Section 

 
 
This index is unofficial.  If any discrepancies are found between this document and the official 
Alaska Statutes and Alaska Administrative Code, the official Statutes and Code will apply. 
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