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Woman Convicted for PFD Fraud 
 
Juneau – On August 29, 2012, Soldotna resident Sherrie Ace, 62 years old, was convicted in Juneau 
Superior Court of one count of attempted theft in the second degree, a class A misdemeanor.  Ms. Ace 
was convicted for submitting false statements on her 2010 PFD application concerning her Alaska 
residency and her Oregon residential fishing licenses in order to obtain a PFD check.  As a result of 
information received from Kenai Alaska Fish & Wildlife Troopers, the Permanent Fund Dividend 
Division conducted its own investigation and did not issue Ms. Ace a 2010 PFD check. 
 
In order to be eligible to receive a PFD, an individual must be an Alaska resident for at least the entire 
year immediately preceding January 1 of the current dividend year.  In addition, an individual is not 
eligible for a dividend if the individual obtained a resident hunting, fishing, or trapping license from 
another state or country. 
 
As part of the plea agreement, Sherrie Ace was sentenced to 10 months in jail with 10 months 
suspended; a fine of $1,000 with $1,000 suspended; and she will be on probation for two years.  The 
court also imposed a life time ban on Ms. Ace applying for or receiving a PFD check as required under 
AS 43.23.035 for all individuals convicted of a crime in connection with making a false statement in the 
certification section of a PFD application. 
 
The conviction is a result of an investigation conducted by the Alaska Department of Revenue’s 
Criminal Investigation Unit (CIU).  The CIU is tasked with the responsibility of conducting statewide 
investigations of criminal crimes and civil violations of Alaska statutes and regulations for the Tax 
Division, Permanent Fund Dividend Division and Child Support Services Division. 
 
For information about the Department of Revenue or to report suspected tax or PFD fraud, the public 
may contact the Department of Revenue in person, by phone (Anchorage: (907) 269-0385 and Juneau 
(907) 465-2654), via e-mail, on the Department of Revenue’s website at http:/www.tax.state.ak.us/ or 
on the hot tip fraud line for the Permanent Fund Division: dor.pfd.fraud@alaska.gov. 
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