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Under AS 43.05.220, the state may levy three types of civil penalties for
failure to file a return or report or pay the full amount of tax. These include
a basic penalty for underpayment or failure to file, a penalty for negligence,
and a penalty for fraud. All three are general provisions applying to all state
taxes, including the oil and gas production tax. Penalties are calculated as a
percentage of the tax deficiency and are cumulative, so that a fraudulent
taxpayer, for example, could be assessed the fraud penalty, in addition to the
negligence penalty and the basic failure to file or pay penalty.

Additional penalties are levied under the Internal Revenue Service code, for
which the state has no equivalent. These include penalties for substantial
understatement, Gross Value Misstatement, and others that are less
significant for state purposes.

Failure to File (Basic) Penalty

State of Alaska / Federal, IRS

The basic failure to file penalty arises when the taxpayer fails to file a return
or report when required or pay the full amount due. The penalty levied by
the state in this case, is generally the same as would be issued by the Internal
Revenue Service (IRS). Five percent of the unpaid balance of the tax
liability is added to a tax for each 30 day period, or fraction of the period of
noncompliance. This penalty may not exceed a total of 25% of the unpaid
balance. The penalty may be forgiven if the taxpayer shows that the failure
to file or pay is due to reasonable cause and not willful neglect.*

Reasonable cause is not easy to show and the burden of proof lies with the
taxpayer. The taxpayer must demonstrate in writing, and under penalty of
perjury, that they acted in good faith to take all reasonable steps to ensure
timeliness of the filing or payment. In determining whether the taxpayer has
shown that the failure was due to reasonable cause and not willful neglect,
the department considers the standards imposed by the Internal Revenue
Code. Circumstances that may constitute reasonable cause include acts of

! AS 43.05.220(a). For more detail on failure to file and failure to pay penalties, see 15 AAC 05.210.
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God, war, other disaster that made filing or delay unavoidable, or acts by
another person beyond the control of the person required to file.”

Fraudulent Failure to File

Federal, IRS

Fifteen percent of the unpaid balance of the tax liability is added to a tax for
each 30 day period, or fraction of the period of noncompliance. This penalty
may not exceed a total of 75% of the unpaid balance.

Negligence Penalty

State of Alaska

In addition to the basic penalty, if a deficiency is due to negligence or
intentional disregard of a law or regulation, the department will, in its
discretion, assess a penalty of 5% of the total amount of the deficiency. The
penalty is calculated based on the total deficiency, even if only a part of the
deficiency is due to negligence or intentional disregard. Negligence or
intentional disregard may be shown by any relevant evidence including that
the taxpayer has substantially deviated from the statutes or regulations,
failed to keep adequate records, exaggerated deductions, or understated
income without justification. ®

Federal, IRS
Federal accuracy-related penalties are generally set at 20% of the portion of
the underpayment. This applies to:

o Negligence

0 Substantial Understatements: An understatement of the greater of
$5000 or 10% of the due tax

0  Substantial Valuation Misstatements: Valuation is off by 200% or
more

Gross Valuation Misstatement

This penalty is similar to other negligence penalties under the IRS code, for
Substantial VValuation Misstatement, but applies when valuation is off by

215 AAC 05.200.
® AS 43.05.220(b); 15 AAC 05.210(g). For more detail on the additional penalty for negligence or
intentional disregard, see 15 AAC 05.220.
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more than 400%. Under this circumstance, the penalty is increased from
20% to 40% of the portion of the underpayment.

Fraud Penalty

State of Alaska

If a deficiency is due to fraud, the department shall add a penalty equal to
50% of the tax due or $500, whichever is greater. The penalty is calculated
based on the total deficiency, even if only a part of the deficiency is due to
fraud. To establish fraud, the department must show by clear and
convincing evidence that the taxpayer understated a tax liability with the
intent to evade tax. The intent to evade the tax may be shown by any
relevant evidence including evidence of false explanations regarding
income, false source documents, unjustified omissions or significant
understatements of income, or substantial overstatement of a deduction.’

In addition to the three civil penalties discussed above, AS 43.05.290
provides for a number of criminal penalties for tax evasion and willful
failure to comply with payment, filing, truthful accounting and information
requirements, and for perjury. Along with several misdemeanors, penalties
include felonies for willfully attempting to evade a tax, willfully failing to
truthfully account for and pay a tax, and willfully and knowingly assisting in
preparing or presenting a false return.

ACES does not propose any change to these penalties or their current
application to the oil and gas production tax. ACES does, however, add
penalties for failure to comply with the various information reporting
requirements contained in the bill. The penalty provisions allow the
department to assess against a person that fails to make the required report a
penalty of not more than $1000 per day for each day the person fails to file
the document. The reason for these additional penalty provisions is to
ensure compliance with reporting requirements regardless of whether there
Is any tax deficiency. Unlike other penalties currently available to the
department, the new penalties in ACES are not calculated based on a tax
deficiency. This is important because the department needs timely and
complete reporting of costs, potential tax credits, etc., even from explorers
and producers that may not currently owe any tax.

* AS 43.05.220(c); 15 AAC 05.230.
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Federal, IRS
The IRS generally levies a penalty of 75% of the underpayment amount
attributable to fraud.

Interest

State of Alaska

The production tax currently requires monthly installment payments, in
addition to annual payments and tax returns. The monthly payment is an
estimate of 1/12" of the anticipated annual tax liability. The annual
payment, which is accompanied by a return, requires payment of any
difference between the estimated liability and actual liability during the 12
month period. The current production tax statute sets a generally lower
interest rate for underpayments or overpayments of monthly installments of
estimated tax due to the estimated nature of the monthly payment.

Interest on an unpaid amount of a monthly installment payment bears
interest at the rate prescribed under the Internal Revenue Code, compounded
daily from the date the installment is due until paid (if paid not later than
when the annual return is due). That rate is currently at 8%. For corporate
underpayments exceeding $100,000, the rate increases to 10%.

Overpayments of monthly installments also bear interest as stated in the
Internal Revenue Code, generally at lower rates than those for
underpayments. Overpayments bear interest at 8% (7% for corporations)
and 5.5% for the portion of a corporate overpayment greater than $10,000.°

Any portion of monthly installment payments that remains unpaid as of the
annual filing date, as well as the interest accrued for those payments, is
treated as a delinquent tax. Delinquent taxes are subject to a higher interest
rate, currently 11% compounded quarterly.’

If the taxpayer has overpaid as of the annual return, the department has 90
days after the later of the date the return was filed or the due date of the
return to refund the overpayment without incurring interest. After that, the
state owes interest, currently 11% compounded quarterly.?

® AS 43.55.020(g); 26 U.S.C. 6621.
® AS 43.55.020(h); 26 U.S.C. 6621.
" AS 43.55.020(g); 43.05.225.
8 AS 43.55.020(h); 43.05.225.
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Federal, IRS
Interest rates under the Internal Revenue Code are as follows:

8% for overpayments (7% in the case of a corporation)

8% for underpayments

10% for large corporate underpayments; and

5.5% for the portion of a corporate overpayment exceeding
$10,000
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